8/2 Chinookie AMPS 365, +9 208 PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
Don't really like going back into those high numbers! Won't be home this morning - but ill get some tests in this afternoon...
 
Ok So whats my next goal? Should I try to do more testing? More at Specific hours? Do we just do this for another couple days and then bump up the dose?
Where did I put those patience pants...

His appetite is great but not crazy. He's starting to groom himself more than he was. Ive been giving him Zobaline for a couple days now. Since he has no teeth, and he kinda just gobbles and slurps his food, i just stick the pill in the little ball of wet food and he eats it!

The only problem we have now is that i think i might be a little allergic to kitties. Particularly kitties that sleep on my face and i wake up with my eyes all goopy... :roll:
 
I'm glad I'm not the only one who is allergic to cats but lets the cat sleep on the bed anyway! I'm allergic to dust mites and grass pollen a worse than to cats so I figure I won't worry too much about the cat even if my allergist did say "at least keep the cat off the bed". How can you tell a sick cat to go away? Well, that's what antihistamines are for :roll:

As to increasing, the Tight Regulation Protocolsays:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You're doing well with testing - I like how you're getting a lot of different daytime hours so it fills in the whole picture. You've now shot the 1.0 unit dose for seven cycles (six on your spreadsheet plus the PM shot you just gave). Based on the data you have, you could already increase by 0.25 units for the next shot. The only thing I would suggest is occasionally getting a quite late nighttime test as cats often tend to go somewhat lower during the night than day and it would fill in that part of the picture. If you were getting PM nadirs lower than 200 you might want to hold the dose for the full 10 cycles just to see how things go, but your AM preshot isn't shooting up much higher or bouncing around in a way that would make me think Chinookie dropped much lower in the PM cycles than the day. Maybe try to catch a later test tonight if possible, and if it's still over 200 then you will be able to increase in the AM.

As well, when you increase you might want to try getting a somewhat earlier test, maybe around +3, in case the increase makes for a more active cycle. Keep up the good work!!
 
You're on Lantus now, but only for 6 cycles. Time to pull out those patience pants and wait a few more days.

We like to have people hold the initial dose for 5-7 days. You were on Humulin insulin before this though, which does not have a depot that needs to fill up. Lantus has that depot which is why we are having you wait a bit longer.

I would recommend waiting another day or two before increasing to 1.25U.

Didn't know what your favorite color was, so here is a rainbow pair!
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 91
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top