? 8/2 Boris AMPS 274, +2 234 - sudden spike in BG?

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Good morning,

Boris has been pretty stable with normal numbers lately on what we would probably say is 0.1u (recording it as a fat drop dose in our SS, just below the 0 line on the syringe).

This morning, out of the blue, after walking around meowing a bunch, he vomited up some of his overnight food. Then he went and hid in a corner that he doesn't usually sleep in, which raised some alarm bells for me. When we went to test him this morning, my husband commented on how his pupils seemed dilated... then his BG reading came much higher than he's been recently!

We increased him to 0.25u per the protocol, and he ate well (then tried to eat his brothers' food). My husband found a large hairball by the litter boxes, but with 3 cats, it's hard to know whose hairball it might have been. No diarrhea in the litter boxes.

Our Lantus was purchased in the middle of April, so it's almost 4 months old. The vial is still clear, nothing floating in it... would the Lantus going bad cause a sudden spike in his BG, or would it be gradual? We also gave him the last of his gabapentin liquid last night (starting a new bottle today), so maybe it wasn't as potent as normal and his leg is bothering him? He doesn't seem to be limping, but he lived with the pain of that leg for a lot of years before we started pain meds, so he might be able to walk through the pain without a limp.

We also made a food change recently (7/29), and introduced Sheba in for their +6 meals. The boys seemed to be losing interest in the Merrick food, so we decided to add a different brand (what they were eating before Boris was diagnosed). The food chart entry for Sheba isn't broken down by flavor, so maybe the carbs are higher in the turkey/chicken pate than he'll tolerate? I'll go back to just Merrick for now in order to rule that out.

How concerned should I be? What other troubleshooting is recommended? We will definitely be testing him again in an hour or two, just to make sure he's not spiking further. Could he have gone low overnight and be bouncing?

Thanks!
 
Why did you increase? You are following SLGS and you change dose based on nadirs, which are actually below 90 so you should be decreasing, not increasing. Keep a close eye on him today. Try to ignore the high preshot. We have often noticed that cats BG spikes around the time of a hair ball, then comes down. You also didn’t get a test in after PMPS yesterday. It’s possible he went lower last night and is bouncing,
 
Why did you increase? You are following SLGS and you change dose based on nadirs, which are actually below 90 so you should be decreasing, not increasing. Keep a close eye on him today. Try to ignore the high preshot. We have often noticed that cats BG spikes around the time of a hair ball, then comes down. You also didn’t get a test in after PMPS yesterday. It’s possible he went lower last night and is bouncing,

I guess I jumped the gun on the increase. Took his +2 and it's 234.

We do our best to get a post evening shot reading, but honestly, this summer has been incredibly difficult, and the next month is going to be rough. We are working full time while purging our belongings, finishing a remodel in one of our bedrooms, and all of the other things related to renting our house out starting September 1, and sometimes a post evening reading just isn't going to happen because we are both dead on our feet. We are doing our best to balance out caring for Boris while still meeting all of our other obligations.

Boris had a few days where his nadirs were his high point, or sometimes his PMPS was the nadir, which to me seemed to indicate that a reduction, although earned, might not be the best choice yet as his cycle didn't seem to be stable. He had a failed reduction down to a drop dose previously, so I really wanted to give him a chance to let this dose take hold before trying a reduction again.

Once he stabilizes again, we will definitely consider another reduction.
 
Not blaming for the lack of night testing. Just saying that without that data, I can only guess if a bounce is a possibility. We do what we can. Before bed my routine was brush teeth, poke cat. Neko knew it and was always waiting for me.
 
Back
Top