? 8/2 AMPS 349, +5 118, +6.5 68, +7 68. Leaving for vacay; need advice for resistant Post DKA Millie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Millie seems to still be bouncing. She is currently on 1.5 u of Lantus. It was recommended that she get a caretaker dose of 1u starting tomorrow when I leave. Someone will ensure that she has fresh food and water at mid-day (a neighbor will be walking the dog while we DH is at work). So that seems all take care of. My concern is the following: since the DH will be testing and shooting, I've asked him to do it the last few evenings so he'll be used to it again (originally he was much better at giving the insulin than I was). Last night I saw him trying to hold Millie down as she squirmed and ran off, not a good situation. This happened twice. I then just picked her up and he gave the shot. Millie can almost be feral like- not wanting to be pet and definitely not wanting to be 'handled'. She had started to pull away from me recently but I began talking to her, giving her tuna lakes and touching/squeezing her skin so she would become desensitized, it worked. I explained all of this to him. This morning she started to run away again, I'm sure it's due to last night. My concern is this happening when I'm gone and then him not being able to shoot. I as going to recommend that he put her in the carrier and then on the kitchen table (the vet once told us that cats stay still if they are on something high).

Any suggestions for shooting insulin with a slippery, skittish cat? We already talk, pet and give treats.
Thanks!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nfused-traveling-soon-feedback-needed.181584/
 
Have you ever heard of a cat sack? I've seen that some people have used them successfully. I hope something works out so your DH can give Millie her shot.
I have heard of the sack. We wrap her in a towel to test her and it hard because you still have to hold her. I've figured it out, him, not sure.
 
I give shots when my cat is eating. Usually she is so focused on the food - "heads down" in the bowl that I can focus on giving the shot. Given the T/F/S guidance, I usually divide her meal into 2 servings. That way I get her to eat the first serving uninterrupted. I will shoot when she is eating the 2nd serving. I hope this helps. I know you already give treats. Sounds like DH may also need a treat for helping out. ;)

Hope you have a great vacation!
 
I give shots when my cat is eating. Usually she is so focused on the food - "heads down" in the bowl that I can focus on giving the shot. Given the T/F/S guidance, I usually divide her meal into 2 servings. That way I get her to eat the first serving uninterrupted. I will shoot when she is eating the 2nd serving. I hope this helps. I know you already give treats. Sounds like DH may also need a treat for helping out. ;)

Hope you have a great vacation!
Thank you!
Yes, that's what I do. She actually stops eating and pays attention to what you're doing. I just keep petting, maybe pause as well as if it's part of the whole thing. Talk, etc, then shoot. It just isn't working for him.
 
Decided to take some extra Bfs before I leave tomorrow. Millie's Bfs: AMPS 349, +5 118, +6 68. She has her regular LC & MC food out. Should I just leave her since this seems to be her nadir or test again shortly?
 
Millie's +7 68. She's eating now so I'm sure she is fine. At least I got a better idea about the dose since I'm leaving tomorrow. Feel better about lowering it to a caretaker level (which I figured it needed to be lowered after all the lows in the earlier part of the current dose).
 
Hi Sylvia,
68 is the "take action" number for the AlphaTrack, as you know. Good thing that Millie eats but I'd suggest you take another test - if she 's eaten LC only - test in 30 min. If MC - test in 45 m - 1 h. Reason: she was lowering still on 7/22 AM +8. Better be safe.:)

ETA: probably no need to another check - I just looked at the SS again and see now that at +8 on 7/22 she was going up, not down. The lime green color of the cell confused me, sorry.
 
Last edited:
Feel better about lowering it to a caretaker level (which I figured it needed to be lowered after all the lows in the earlier part of the current dose).
I would lower it, too. But you need to let the DH and the caretaker know about the depot nature of Lantus - the larger depot from the 1.5U will be at play for another cycle at least and can make the same active cycle even though the dose is reduced. Better check BG at Millie's usual going lower times.
Have a great vaca!
 
I would lower it, too. But you need to let the DH and the caretaker know about the depot nature of Lantus - the larger depot from the 1.5U will be at play for another cycle at least and can make the same active cycle even though the dose is reduced. Better check BG at Millie's usual going lower times.
Have a great vaca!
I tested 45 minutes later, she was still 68. Am going to test again in a minute.

Thanks for the heads up regarding going low even after a reduction. No one available to test her at mid cycle but someone will be leaving her some MC food to play it safe.

Thanks for the feedback!
 
Millie's +8 was 64. Gave her some MC food. We are heading out to the vet's to give her a B12 shot (she was anemic during her last hospitalization). They can test her there and see what it is (I was told stress can raise?). We're going to lower the dose this evening.

I'll be in transit and off the board. Will check back later.
 
Good luck at vet!

ETA: that 64 earned her reduction by 0.25U. Maybe you can ask around if the 1U dose is decreased enough for the time of your absence/ limited testing? I know the post DKA cats must have good doses on but just to be sure/safe..?
 
Millie got a B12 shot (she's still anemic) and a test to check if she is producing blood cells (don't recall the name). Also got some potassium supplements since she was low during her DKA episode. The vet took her BG and it was 138. Of course she said if she was still that way at her PMPS bg, not to give insulin. We're giving her the 1u, I will test before bed.

Off tomorrow. Thanks everyone!
 
Good luck at vet!

ETA: that 64 earned her reduction by 0.25U. Maybe you can ask around if the 1U dose is decreased enough for the time of your absence/ limited testing? I know the post DKA cats must have good doses on but just to be sure/safe..?
She is on1.5 and we're reducing by .5. Do you mean the .5 may not be enough of a reduction?
 
Yes, that's what I was wondering about.
She earned 1.25 today by going to 64 at +8 and if you reduce it by 0.5 it'll make the care taker dose 0.75, right?
I am not saying you should do it. I was wondering if it was is the right dose now since she earned a reduction.
Trying to learn something here..:)
 
Last edited:
Yes, that's what I was wondering about.
She earned 1.25 today by going to 64 at +8 and if you reduce it by 0.5 it'll make the care dose 0.75, right?
I am not saying you should do it. I was wondering if it was is the right dose now since she earned a reduction.
Trying to learn something here..:)
Yes, I understand the question and it makes sense to ask. I do think the .5 is probably enough though. She had a reduction just last week. I know with DKA they want to keep the kitties receiving enough insulin. The truth is, I don't really know. I also wonder if there is a bg where he should shoot half?
I'll try tagging a few people.

@Wendy&Neko
@rhiannon and shadow (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bobbie And Bubba
 
Congrats on another reducie! I would have DH give her the injection while she is eating as most kitties are preoccupied while they are eating.


As far a the dose while you are away, is DH going to be testing as well?
 
Congrats on another reducie! I would have DH give her the injection while she is eating as most kitties are preoccupied while they are eating.


As far a the dose while you are away, is DH going to be testing as well?
Yes, the basic pre-test. I asked that he checked mid-day on his day off.
The questions are: She earned a reduction today due to a bg of 64. The other day I was told to lower her dose by .5 as a caretaker dose. Does that mean a reduction of .75? Also, is there a BG number where DH should give half her a current (if she goes too low)?
 
It looks like you reduced to 1 unit tonight instead of waiting till tomorrow. That will start to drain the depot some. My concern is if you take her to .75 unit and her being recently DKA, will it be enough insulin for her? But then if DH is only testing pre-shots and only mid-day , will she be safe? Do you have an automatic feeder that food will be available to her through the cycle?


I really not sure what is the best scenario for Millie so I would like to have some of the others weight in.
 
It looks like you reduced to 1 unit tonight instead of waiting till tomorrow. That will start to drain the depot some. My concern is if you take her to .75 unit and her being recently DKA, will it be enough insulin for her? But then if DH is only testing pre-shots and only mid-day , will she be safe? Do you have an automatic feeder that food will be available to her through the cycle?


I really not sure what is the best scenario for Millie so I would like to have some of the others weight in.
Yes, since she was low today (+8 64), we decided ton reduce this evening to start the drain and maybe it will help for tomorrow. We do have someone coming to walk the door (just a neighbor) and to give Millie some MC food at mid-day. DH gets in around her +8.5 and can test her at that point and feed if necessary.
 
For shooting insulin, do you have one of those cat carriers that opens at the top? That might work. For a kitty I had to syringe feed that wasn't fond of it, I put him in a laundry basket (actually, he jumped in it), then I put that on a counter and draped part of it with a towel. He could "hide" but I could still get to him.
I also wonder if there is a bg where he should shoot half?
Since the depot will still factor into a cycle, even if you shoot a lower dose that cycle, another alternative might be to leave out HC or MC that cycle. As today's cycle starting at 349 and ending in reduction showed you, using the preshot to decide if you need to lower a dose is not a good indicator.
 
uh oh...
i'm late apparently.

I think with the new low numbers.... that 1 unit is going to be a better dose.... for him
assuming he can get her to cooperate.

One of the things I did with my girl was she got her very favorite food at shot time..... which was raw shrimp.
I would chop a few up ( no teeth) on top of her canned food and that was so attractive that she usually kept her head in the bowl but I had
to shoot quickly. However, she would never have let someone else shoot her, not even my dh.


My crystal ball says he's going to have a very hard time getting her cooperation and may wind up with a skip or two.
 
For shooting insulin, do you have one of those cat carriers that opens at the top? That might work. For a kitty I had to syringe feed that wasn't fond of it, I put him in a laundry basket (actually, he jumped in it), then I put that on a counter and draped part of it with a towel. He could "hide" but I could still get to him.
Since the depot will still factor into a cycle, even if you shoot a lower dose that cycle, another alternative might be to leave out HC or MC that cycle. As today's cycle starting at 349 and ending in reduction showed you, using the preshot to decide if you need to lower a dose is not a good indicator.
Will leave out MC food for her.
 
uh oh...
i'm late apparently.

I think with the new low numbers.... that 1 unit is going to be a better dose.... for him
assuming he can get her to cooperate.

One of the things I did with my girl was she got her very favorite food at shot time..... which was raw shrimp.
I would chop a few up ( no teeth) on top of her canned food and that was so attractive that she usually kept her head in the bowl but I had
to shoot quickly. However, she would never have let someone else shoot her, not even my dh.


My crystal ball says he's going to have a very hard time getting her cooperation and may wind up with a skip or two.
I think just giving her tuna flakes might do it. He's tried while she's 'eating' but as soon as he touches her, she flees (only recently). He's going to take his time with her and hopefully it'll work itself out.

Thanks for all the feedback.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top