Re: 8/1 Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.25=61
If Rocky has exactly the same two BGs in the 50s, in back to back testing, it usually means that he will go lower. Predicting how low he will go is tricky. I typically suspect that he will be dropping to under 50 if I don't feed that second same BG number. Unlike Jen, I feed the lesser amount of carbs on the first attempt to raise his BG, and I now do not use any Karo at all.
I would first try the 8% carbs on that second same number, and I would feed him 1/4 can of it, which is A LOT more than just 2 tbs. I would test 15 minutes later, and if he was still in a low 50s number, I would not feed feed that number. I would wait another 15 minutes, and then see where he is at. Now, he may have dropped to 48 in those next 15 minutes, but to me, that does not all of a sudden mean to get heavy handed with Karo to bring him right up. Remember, he has the 8% carbs in him that has yet to take it's full affect. Instead, with Rocky, I would feed him (1) TBS of the 18% FF- Grilled Turkey and Giblets, which is 18%. I would then wait another 15 minutes, and his BG would usually be up at least into the 50s by then, typically into the 60s or 70s. I would not feed that number in the 50s, and I would not feed that number in the 60s or 70s. Instead, I would wait another 1/2 hour and test again. Typically, that number would be going higher and then I knew that we were safe for at least 2 hours.
That's how I did if for Rocky. If you look at his SS, you'll see that I had a very light touch when he was in the upper 40s. I did not want to push his BG up any more than to a BG of 50. I did not want him to be up to at least 60 because I knew that Rocky's BG would be going even higher from that point on.
I didn't feed little bits of HC with Karo at a drop into the 40s, I fed larger amounts of a lower carb. I didn't wallop Rocky with an MC or an HC in trying to anticipate a drop into the 40s, UNLESS he had a huge drop in the previous BG.. For example, if he previous just dropped 50 or more points. If he dropped by 20 ponts, it was something to watch, but I would be less likely to feed him a lot of an HC to try to prevent a drop into the 40s.
Does this make any sense?
As far as why Rocky stopped bouncing.. I have no idea. However, I suspect that we finally reached a point where his body had enough insulin to help him heal. I could tell that when he had a string of numbers in the 40s, and at the same time, his overall BGs for the entire day were not above the 100s, that we were at a 'healing dose,' even if that mean a few dips into the high 40s. After all, 40s are a normal number for a healthy cat. I believe that if Rocky saw a number in the 200s or 300s, he was not getting enough insulin yet, and I was not so quick to reduce his insulin dose if he was still having numbers in the 200s and 300s at the same time of having numbers for the day that went to the 40s. To me, that was simply my fault that I did not feed him enough carbs to keep his BG elevated enough. And, If I had fed him more carbs, those 200s and 300s would have been even higher, meaning, he would have required even more insulin.
Now, requiring more insulin to get to lower BG numbers overall is not a bad thing. It is what it is, to help your cat to heal. However, I DID feed Rocky mostly MC and some HC for that type of dosing, and I had to be extremely diligent about monitoring his BG well.