Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Morning Liz and Anne....and Zener!
It is hard to tell a bounce from high numbers until you get used to the kitty and how long it takes them to clear a bounce. Because a kitty can actually be in a bounce and still give you blue numbers, it can be confusing. When he was on the sk1.75u, he was getting some healing numbers quite often. IMHO, if he doesn't come down by +11, I think he has room for an increase tonight. Normally we would take him back up to the last good dose although I have seen Libby say the last good dose isn't the one that got them under 40 human glucometer. I think she might have been referring taking them immediately back up to that dose. For Zener, he did get to an AT68 (low) on that dose, but it's been a while. You could also choose to just increase by a drop if you wish to 1.50u if you think the sk1.75u was too much for him.
Hi Marjorie,
Boy howdy, we sure have trouble telling about bounces and high numbers! He was in healing numbers at the sk 1.75u and we are a little reluctant to go back to that since he had that really low 68. It's also difficult for us to make sure we are consistent with doses that don't have lines! We were thinking along the lines of your suggestion of going to 1.50u, and we know we can accurately measure that!
Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you feel he has a problem holding reductions, you can always shave his dose instead of take him down by a full .25u. Up to you.
We've only had two reductions and he didn't hold the first one, so this is the 2nd earned reduction. We're also a little reluctant to go back up the full .25u since we go back to work next week and will not be able to check quite as often. And the following week, I will be away and Liz will be doing it all. She isn't worried about that, but only if he decides to drop at night and she will not be able to stay up for night duty like I can.
Marjorie and Gracie said:
It might not be a bad idea to keep your dose ? up there in your subject line and get some other input. You know we have alot of really experienced folks who might see it a little differently and I'd go with what they tell you.
Will do, it is always so helpful to get several opinions!
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Of course, if he slides into PMPS....don't increase him ;-)
Got it! The big guy loves to bounce and to slide, so we'll have to see what's his pleasure today!
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Saw you are going to Germany. I'm so jealous. We lived there six years...four hours east of Paris. I did not want to come back....my family is from Germany on one side and France on the other and I really felt "at home" there. Yes, I love the US but ....I can't explain how living there felt different but it did. I miss it very very much. Have you ever been and where are you going? Let me know...I may have some pointers.
How wonderful to live in Germany, how is your German? I will be in Bonn, near Cologne, on the Rhine. I go there about 2 times a year for work I do with the International Paralympic committee and I will be there a week for a meeting and conference. I'll be back again in February. Our ancestry is very similar and I do feel quite comfortable there! I started studying German after spending 6 weeks living in Bonn in 2004, not because it bothered me to not understand what people were saying, but because I was illiterate! I always travel lightly and come back with books in German, chocolate, Gummy bears and other wonderful treats. Would love any pointers you would like to send, you can PM me!