8/19 Zener PMPS 165;+2 145;+4 180;+5.5 177 Alpha Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/18/11

Yesterday's summary
8/18/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 321 5th cycle at s1.5u, 1t. 11%
+2 297, 1/2t. 11%
+4 232, 2t. 11%
+6 184, 2t. 11%
+10 257, 1oz 11%
PMPS 338, 6th cycle at s1.5u, 3t. 11% carbs
+2 335, 1oz 11% carbs
+4 334, 1 oz 11% carbs
+9.5 335, 2oz 11% carbs

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357

Zener's numbers were flat and pink through last night's cycle and starting pink this morning. The last big drop into blues for him on this dose was 8/16 PM cycle. If he is bouncing off this cycle, and waiting 72 hours for the bounce to clear, when would we consider a dose increase? Would it be with tonight's cycle or tomorrow morning - provided the numbers are not clearing.

My patience pants are starting to itch. ;-)

Happy Friday everyone!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357 Dose ? A Trak

Hi guys .. oh I wish I could answer your question .. but I never knew myself when dealing with mocha! You know others will be along soon to help figure this out .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357 Dose ? A Trak

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. oh I wish I could answer your question .. but I never knew myself when dealing with mocha! You know others will be along soon to help figure this out .. have a great weekend!

Thanks Peter, I really have trouble knowing what's a bounce and what might be a failed dose. This is only the 2nd time we earned a reduction so not much practice at that! He's sliding into blue this morning.

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs

Appetite was pretty poor this morning, but got him to eat a little better at +2 and +4. Numbers on the way down, just a little lower than yesterday about the same times. Still wondering if bounce clearing or failed dose, would love more expert eyes than mine taking a look. Thanks!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak

Morning Liz and Anne....and Zener!

It is hard to tell a bounce from high numbers until you get used to the kitty and how long it takes them to clear a bounce. Because a kitty can actually be in a bounce and still give you blue numbers, it can be confusing. When he was on the sk1.75u, he was getting some healing numbers quite often. IMHO, if he doesn't come down by +11, I think he has room for an increase tonight. Normally we would take him back up to the last good dose although I have seen Libby say the last good dose isn't the one that got them under 40 human glucometer. I think she might have been referring taking them immediately back up to that dose. For Zener, he did get to an AT68 (low) on that dose, but it's been a while. You could also choose to just increase by a drop if you wish to 1.50u if you think the sk1.75u was too much for him.

If you feel he has a problem holding reductions, you can always shave his dose instead of take him down by a full .25u. Up to you.

It might not be a bad idea to keep your dose ? up there in your subject line and get some other input. You know we have alot of really experienced folks who might see it a little differently and I'd go with what they tell you.

Of course, if he slides into PMPS....don't increase him ;-)

Saw you are going to Germany. I'm so jealous. We lived there six years...four hours east of Paris. I did not want to come back....my family is from Germany on one side and France on the other and I really felt "at home" there. Yes, I love the US but ....I can't explain how living there felt different but it did. I miss it very very much. Have you ever been and where are you going? Let me know...I may have some pointers.
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak

Still sliding in the blue bayou...

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs

This is the lowest BG since the bounce started a few days ago. We have to leave shortly for Liz's treadmill stress test, then errands and shopping. Will get BG when we get home around +9 ish.
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Morning Liz and Anne....and Zener!

It is hard to tell a bounce from high numbers until you get used to the kitty and how long it takes them to clear a bounce. Because a kitty can actually be in a bounce and still give you blue numbers, it can be confusing. When he was on the sk1.75u, he was getting some healing numbers quite often. IMHO, if he doesn't come down by +11, I think he has room for an increase tonight. Normally we would take him back up to the last good dose although I have seen Libby say the last good dose isn't the one that got them under 40 human glucometer. I think she might have been referring taking them immediately back up to that dose. For Zener, he did get to an AT68 (low) on that dose, but it's been a while. You could also choose to just increase by a drop if you wish to 1.50u if you think the sk1.75u was too much for him.

Hi Marjorie,

Boy howdy, we sure have trouble telling about bounces and high numbers! He was in healing numbers at the sk 1.75u and we are a little reluctant to go back to that since he had that really low 68. It's also difficult for us to make sure we are consistent with doses that don't have lines! We were thinking along the lines of your suggestion of going to 1.50u, and we know we can accurately measure that!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you feel he has a problem holding reductions, you can always shave his dose instead of take him down by a full .25u. Up to you.
We've only had two reductions and he didn't hold the first one, so this is the 2nd earned reduction. We're also a little reluctant to go back up the full .25u since we go back to work next week and will not be able to check quite as often. And the following week, I will be away and Liz will be doing it all. She isn't worried about that, but only if he decides to drop at night and she will not be able to stay up for night duty like I can.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
It might not be a bad idea to keep your dose ? up there in your subject line and get some other input. You know we have alot of really experienced folks who might see it a little differently and I'd go with what they tell you.
Will do, it is always so helpful to get several opinions!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Of course, if he slides into PMPS....don't increase him ;-)
Got it! The big guy loves to bounce and to slide, so we'll have to see what's his pleasure today!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Saw you are going to Germany. I'm so jealous. We lived there six years...four hours east of Paris. I did not want to come back....my family is from Germany on one side and France on the other and I really felt "at home" there. Yes, I love the US but ....I can't explain how living there felt different but it did. I miss it very very much. Have you ever been and where are you going? Let me know...I may have some pointers.
How wonderful to live in Germany, how is your German? I will be in Bonn, near Cologne, on the Rhine. I go there about 2 times a year for work I do with the International Paralympic committee and I will be there a week for a meeting and conference. I'll be back again in February. Our ancestry is very similar and I do feel quite comfortable there! I started studying German after spending 6 weeks living in Bonn in 2004, not because it bothered me to not understand what people were saying, but because I was illiterate! I always travel lightly and come back with books in German, chocolate, Gummy bears and other wonderful treats. Would love any pointers you would like to send, you can PM me!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak

Hi there!

I got back to the house for lunch and took a peek at Mr. Z's ss. I'm feeling like Marjorie.

See what the rest of this cycle looks like, then maybe go to 1.5u even tonight. That gives you some time before you go back to work to see what 1.5u will do at this point. Hopefully it will give you numbers both good for Zenner and good for you and Liz, so you won't have to worry when you go back next week and won't be able to monitor as closely . That's my $0.02. :-D
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192 Dose ? A Trak

Hmm....will be interesting to see where he heads come +11 but glad Sandy and I are on the same page.

I speak fluent German and French, yes. Well, if you lived there for a short while, you probably got a good feel for things. Have some broetchen (sorry, no umlaudt in this format) for me!!! And Rahmschnitzel with frites. OMG!!! And German coffee!!! I'm sorry but they don't export the really good stuff :lol: :lol: :lol: And don't forget to have kaffee and kuchen every day at 4!! No wonder I gained all that weight and had to do WW when I got back after six years of a German diet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192;+5 177;+10 126 :A Trak

Thanks Sandy and Marje! Of course, by the time we got home, he had slid even further to 126 @ +10. So, now we think the bounce is breaking and are wondering about shooting if he is still dropping at his PMPS. I gave him a little medium carb food @ +10 so hopefully he will stay steady and we can shoot tonight. I'm thinking since he has gone back down, we stay with the s1.50. Does that make sense?

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 13% carbs

I'll post his +11 and see where things are.

And yes Marje to kuchen and kaffee! I'm not sure how much kuchen I'll be able to eat post-gall bladder surgery, since I am still not able to eat hardly any sort of fat. :sad: I certainly will have every sort and type of brotchen available!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192;+5 177;+10 126 :A Trak

Anne & Zener said:
I'm thinking since he has gone back down, we stay with the s1.50. Does that make sense?
Yes indeed. He has not seen a number that low for a while, he's green by human glucometer measure.
 
Re: 8/19 Zener AMPS 357;+2 277;+4 192;+5 177;+10 126 :A Trak

Thanks Sandy! Now, we want him to stop the drop for PMPS!

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 14% carbs
+11 167

I'm thinking he may have a little food spike at his +11. Will check his BG in an hour and see where he is for shooting.
 
Re: 8/19 Zener PMPS 165 Alpha Trak

Yahoo, looks like the bounce has broken and Zener is back in the blues. :-D

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 14% carbs
+11 167
PMPS 165, 8th cycle sk 1.50. 3t 14% carbs

I'm giving him a little higher carbs to start off this cycle and hopefully ward off any plans for the express elevator tonight! We got our order of the monojet syringes today and measuring the smaller doses is much easier than with the Walgreens syringes we were using. Having a magnifying light helps too!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/19 Zener PMPS 165;+2 145 Alpha Trak

And down we go, but it doesn't look like the express elevator right now!

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 14% carbs
+11 167
PMPS 165, 8th cycle sk 1.50. 3t 14% carbs
+2 145, 1oz 14% carbs

Trying to take advantage of the cypro to get in a few more calories. Hopefully the medium carb will keep him from dropping like a rock! Zener is having a good day, once we got out of the pinks. All 5 Ps in place today!
flip_cat
 
Re: 8/19 Zener PMPS 165;+2 145 Alpha Trak

Gosh thanks Marje!

We are so glad to see Zener settling into this dose. The new syringes we got today made measuring much easier. We find measuring up the insulin more stressful than giving an injection! Our goal for the weekend is for Liz to get comfortable posting to the message board, in case she needs help when I am in Germany.

Are you counting the hours yet?
 
Re: 8/19 Zener PMPS 165;+2 145 Alpha Trak

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Very very nice!

Thanks Sandy!
I am removing my itchy patience pants now that the bounce is over. He sure drew it out to the last cycle! Paws crossed this string of blues doesn't send Mr Z back on the bounce-mobile!
 
Re: 8/19 Zener PMPS 165;+2 145;+4 180 Alpha Trak

Got his +4 and a little bit up, fingers crossed the bouncy boy does not get back on the trampoline! :lol:

Today
8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 14% carbs
+11 167
PMPS 165, 8th cycle sk 1.50. 3t 14% carbs
+2 145, 1oz 14% carbs
+4 180, 1t. 12% carbs

Right now Mr Z is cuddled up in bed with Liz, his other bean, sharing some loving and healing energy! I'm leaving a bit of 12% carbs out at bedtime. I'll set my alarm - the large glass of water is fabulous as my alarm clock and get a +9 or +10 most likely. Was able to get a ketostix test at +4 and negative for ketones and glucose! :-D
 
Still up, so got a +5.5 - the book was too good to put down!

8/19/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 357, 7th cycle at s1.50, 1t. 11% carbs
+2 277, 3t. 8% carbs
+4 192, 2t. 10% carbs
+5 177, 1t. 13% carbs
+10 126, 2t 14% carbs
+11 167
PMPS 165, 8th cycle sk 1.50. 3t 14% carbs
+2 145, 1oz 14% carbs
+4 180, 1t. 12% carbs
+5.5 177, 2t 14% carbs

Looks like the medium carbs are doing the trick and it's a blue moon. Off to bed now.
I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top