? 8/19 Trey AMPS 100 Should I give insulin?

Trey's Mom

Member Since 2019
Trey dx 8/12. 10 lbs but usually 12.4, guessing age 15 y, on Lantus, 2 units Relion meter, home cooked pureed chicken with ez complete. No appetite. Been syringe feeding, IDB, Pancreatitis, CKD
Came home from hospital on Sat. treated for pancreatitis & diabetes. On buprenorphine till this morning, Entyce for appetite stimulant (not helping), on prednisolone, budesonide, renakare, renadyl, omega -3 oil, chlorambucil.
8/17 2 units at hospital don't know bg #, +3 = 646, PMPS 463,1 unit, +3 = 432
8/18 AMPS 408, 2 units, +6 = 381, PMPS 485, 2 units, +4 = 282 Gave cerenia pill in afternoon.
8/19 AMPS 100 did not give insulin shot
His BG is dropping very fast. Really nervous about the 100 reading. Syringe fed him .
Should I omit the AMPS? Should I reduce insulin to 1 unit?
 
Trey dx 8/12. 10 lbs but usually 12.4, guessing age 15 y, on Lantus, 2 units Relion meter, home cooked pureed chicken with ez complete. No appetite. Been syringe feeding, IDB, Pancreatitis, CKD
Came home from hospital on Sat. treated for pancreatitis & diabetes. On buprenorphine till this morning, Entyce for appetite stimulant (not helping), on prednisolone, budesonide, renakare, renadyl, omega -3 oil, chlorambucil.
8/17 2 units at hospital don't know bg #, +3 = 646, PMPS 463,1 unit, +3 = 432
8/18 AMPS 408, 2 units, +6 = 381, PMPS 485, 2 units, +4 = 282 Gave cerenia pill in afternoon.
8/19 AMPS 100 did not give insulin shot
His BG is dropping very fast. Really nervous about the 100 reading. Syringe fed him .
Should I omit the AMPS? Should I reduce insulin to 1 unit?
 
Welcome to the forum Marianthe! When you are able to, please set up your spreadsheet and your signature. If you need help with either one, please let us know - many people here who can assist with directions to get you started. Trey is a beautiful cat! We hope we can get him into some better numbers and that he starts to feel better soon! There's a lot of information in the stickies (with the yellow tabs) at the top of this forum - so much to learn - just read as much as you can - it'll help you get a better understanding of what's going on. :bighug::bighug:
 
A very good idea to skip the shot this morning, those blue numbers are looking very good on Trey! :cool::cool: I have a feeling that he will see a dose decrease soon :)

Welcome to the group! looking forward to following Trey's Journey :)
 
Back
Top