8/19 Tootoo AMPS 132;PMPS 79 Feedback?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102460

Didn't post yesterday, and Carl I missed your question about the food. Normally I put out 3 cans of Fancy Feast in the morning, right before shot. He eats about half of it before the shot, then nibbles for a few hours afterward. Same at night usually. Sometimes, if I'm around, I'll wait a couple of hours on the 3rd can.

What would be the link with food? I'm assuming that it would bring numbers up, right? Or does it vary with the cat? Tootoo has a funny pattern of his curve coming up later in the day, then dropping again at preshot. Is this normal? It doesn't necessarily happen before the morning preshot, or maybe I'm not noticing because I don't test as much at night.

So I'm only shooting .5 because of being gone all day. I have no idea what his numbers did today since AMPS. He was at 132 AMPS, then 79 PMPS. I only worried a little while I was gone today. I figure the chances of him going too low with the .5 are slim. I wish I had a month or so to be home all day and run a tighter line. I would risk lower numbers if I could be there.

So let's say I continue the .5 tomorrow and so on if preshot numbers are about what they've been. I'll only be doing the AMPS and PMPS and then +3 on the PMPS. Three tests a day. Unless he drops low at +3, then I'll set the alarm and get up. But that's about all I can do for the next 4 days. How do I know when to reduce the dose if I'm not even testing at nadar? Can I make a judgement from the preshots numbers?

Advice appreciated. Carl, what about the food link? Thanks. :smile:
 
What would be the link with food? I'm assuming that it would bring numbers up, right?

Yes, the reason I asked about when he ate was because I would expect the numbers to come up shortly after eating. I was thinking he might have eaten between +4 and +6 when the numbers came up a bit.

But another thing that can happen, and what I hope to see happen, is that as the numbers get to where you're seeing mostly blues and greens, the pancreas returns to "life". It starts supplying insulin on an "as needed" basis. Often you'll get a test, and kitty will eat. Then an hour or so later, instead of seeing an increase in BG, you'll see flat or dropping numbers. That's possibly the pancreas doing what it is supposed to do - react to an increase in BG from food, produce insulin, and push the numbers back down. That's what I hope might be going on with Tootoo. That might be what's causing his numbers to drop back down at the end of the cycle, if he has access to food during the last 3 or 4 hours of the cycles.

I've also seen what you are talking about called "double-dipping". Where it's almost like you see two nadirs in a cycle, with the 2nd one happening just before or at PMPS. Maybe someone who has seen that with their cats can explain what's going on there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top