8/19 Tipper AMPS 430 PMPS 429 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Despite the high BG's Tipper has improved. Still fragile but eating on her own with some spoon feeding.
Eating some high carbs w/ gravy but transitioning to the lower carbs as her appetite improves.
Testing for ketones several times a day and all results are negative. If she continues to eat tonight will give her usual dose
of insulin- 2.75u. in the AM.(gave reduced doses)

She is not vomiting and poo is more formed, less gurgling noises in her abdomen.
Starting on B12 injections tomorrow. Remaining on pepcid, probiotics and appetite stimulant as needed and waiting for the results of urine culture.
This has taken alot out of her and we are hoping she can make a full recovery.

Thanks for all the well wishes and helpful info, we could not do this alone.
Patty and Tipper
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50238
 
Patty:

So very glad to hear there is improvement for Miss Tipper. Bless her sweet little heart...she's had a rough time of it.

What kind of B12 injections and for what? If it's for neuropathy, they really need methylcobalamine and there is a specific one made for cats called xobalamin. Lots of folks use it in LL.

Sending big healing vines for her!!
 
Marjorie, thanks for the well wishes.
About the B12- Tipper's vet likes to use it as an appetite stimulant.
I told her about the methylB and she said she had heard about it for treating neuropathy but thought the results were inconclusive.
Regulating Tipper should help with her neuropathy
I am going to order it online, I don't think using both would harm her.
 
Patty:

Thanks for the clarification. I am amazed that a vet would say that xobalamin is inconclusive in treating neuropathy!!! I'm glad you are going to proceed anyway.

I gave Teddi B12 shots for a while and to tell you the truth, saw no difference. When I started her on a multi B-vitamin and methyl B-12, I saw a vast improvement.

Good luck!!!
 
B vitamins are water soluable. What your body doesn't need is excreted in urine. Zobaline is the methylcobalamine (methyl B-12) formulation for cats. Amazon carries it or you can order it directly from Life Link.
 
My vet also said the results with Zobaline were anecdotal without conclusive research, but if we wanted to try it then go for it. It has definitely helped improved Zener's peripheral neuropathy in combination with improving BG numbers. We started seeing improvement in his walking after about 2 weeks. We order it online from Life Link and they ship very quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top