8/19 Snoopy PMPS: 85 +2=67

Status
Not open for further replies.

s2cycle

Member Since 2010
Hello to our old friends. We had a daily condo here a couple of years ago and managed to "cure" our guy Morrie (Sept 08-Jan 09). Earlier this summer a neighbor's cat was diagnosed and we taught her all we'd learned and gave her our leftover supplies. Her cat, Snoopy has been doing pretty well. The "bean" is on a 3 week vacation and we were the logical caregivers. The first week he's stay mostly in the green with an occasional low blue. This morning he was up to 178! I decided just to touch base with you all and see if you think we gave him enough and/or have any other comments. Here's his SS:
http://tinyurl.com/snoopy-ss

Whole Cat Report: I don't have a photo to post but he's a GORGEOUS & HUGE tabby and seems to be handling strangers coming in and caring for him twice a day pretty well. He hides under the bed and he's gradually being better about not hissing when we get him out. But he purrs during the testing & shooting and stays for treats and pets.

Sheila
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178

Hi Sheila!

How kind of you to take care of Snoopy in his beans' absence.

I'm going to be the bad guy and say that more tests are needed. Lantus dosing is based on nadir and there are no spot checks. It's possible that Snoopy could be OTJ but there's no way to know given the absence of anything but AM/PMPS. In addition, it looks like dosing is being based on the pre-shot number. This isn't the way Lantus works. Dosing is based on the nadir. You're going to see wonky numbers with the frequent dose changes.

One thing that may have changed since you were a regular here is that we do shoot low numbers. If you scan the subject lines on the Board, you'll see what I mean. If you're only with Snoopy at shot time, I wouldn't recommending shooting low. I don't know if your neighbors would consider joining us here. Maybe we can help to get Snoopy OTJ.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178

Hi guys .. and I have to agree with Sienne, how sweet of you to be caregiver to this sweet sounding boy .. It would be really nice if the owners decided to come here daily and get snoopy on his way to the falls! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178

Thank you both for your responses. I did recommend from the beginning that a curve would be very helpful as would participating in this forum. Neither has happened. I think we'll run a curve either today or tomorrow as we still have Snoopy two more weeks. Just a correction, I misstated Morrie's dates, which were a year earlier ('08-'09). Can't believe he's been OTJ that long already. It was SO worth it! I'll keep you posted. Thanks for the reminders and encouragement.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55

OK, we're doing a curve today. Hopefully this will help us get a better handle what's going on with this boy.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55

Hello there, another member of the class of 2008-2009!

How fortunate for Snoopy to have you for a neighboor! That's quite a drop there. . .Should be an interesting couple of weeks. . .
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60

Nice number. The boy had eaten every scrap of his morning meal when I got there. Didn't even hiss when I pulled him out from under the bed.
--spencer, Sheila's #1 cat retreival expert
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60

How wonderful of you to care for and get this kitty on track. I too have a friend who just hasn't followed along with curves or the forum. We do what we can... Kudos to you - and good luck!
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60 +6=77 +8=67

After more than two years I'm a little rusty on forum protocols. Should I be posting all these +2 numbers while I do a curve or wait until PMPS? Thanks.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60 +6=77 +8=77

Posting as you go along is just fine. You can edit the subject line when it's PMPS time or when you run out of space.

Since there's no SS, you may want to keep one post in the thread that also has a recap of all of the day's numbers.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60 +6=77 +8=77

Thanks for the response. There actually IS a SS: http://tinyurl.com/snoopy-ss
I included it in the first post. I'm wondering if I need to edit my 3 year old signature block and add Snoopy for this week and next or create an entire new identity? I'd rather keep it simple.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60 +6=77 +8=77 +10=81

Well, the curve is done and it seems nice and flat to my old eyes. Turns out the owner bean had done a curve in June that looked very much the same, except the numbers were a bit higher, blue dropping to green and going back.

So now we're wondering about shot protocol. When we got Morrie OTJ keeping the dosage steady was pre-eminent. Since Snoopy has been all over the map on his doses, we're not sure where to go. I'm kinda thinking 0.5 is high and we should just steady him at 0.25. Love to have some input in the next 2 hours.

A reminder, his s/s link is in the message directly above this one.

Thanks all!

spencer
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy AMPS: 178 +2=55 +4=60 +6=77 +8=77 +10=81

I think it's easier, and less nerve wracking, to increase the dose rather than having to back pedal and drop the dose. Why not stick with the 0.25u.

One thing to consider is that if Snoopy is in mostly green numbers for a week, he earns a dose reduction. If his owners could test, he might not really need to be on insulin for much longer -- at least if today is any indication.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy PMPS: 85

Thanks for your response. We went ahead and gave him .25 and will stay with that for awhile. What number is TOO LOW to shoot these days?

I told you he's BIG! That's Spencer's hand.

Snoopy.jpg
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy PMPS: 85

Hi Sheila! Hi Spencer! I got a little skeerd when I saw you back, I was afraid Morrie fell off the wagon. Glad to hear he's still surfing along. He's a good teacher because Lucy is still surfing too.

I'm glad you shot tonight. I think a few days of 0.25 with some spot checks will give you a lot of information. If he can hold the green on 0.25 for a week (or if he drops under 50) then he gets a reduction to 0.1.
 
Re: 8/19 Snoopy PMPS: 85 +2-67

YEAH! So very WONDERFUL to see a familiar face! And we're both thrilled that Lucy is still surfing too. :RAHCAT

Thanks for the sage advice. We're feeling quite rusty and it seems the rules have changed a little too. We're both confident that Snoopy will be well on his way to the Falls by the time his bean returns in two more weeks. Wish we'd checked in here right away. We were sort of respecting her approach and following her lead. No harm done. We're on it now.

Thanks for checking in. GIve Lucy some scratches and pats from all 3 of us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top