8/19-Sissy-PMPS 216 -Not sure about shooting dose increase

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
Sissy went to a 1.25 dose this morning and she's been lower during the day than usual...she's at pmps at 216 tonight, was supposed to have shot at 10 but I'm having trouble with the little lines, I can't see them and I'm worried it won't be right...but also worried she might go lower in the night than she has...



Her vet wanted me to go to 2 units in the morning and 1 at night based on her last several mornings...I know that's not right so I didn't do it...but not really for sure what I'm doing and not being able to see the syringe well is really scary.


Is this right?
 

Attachments

  • 20200819_223206.jpg
    20200819_223206.jpg
    19.1 KB · Views: 82
Last edited:
Is this right?

That looks like a tiny bit more than 1.25....the top edge of the plunger should be right in between the 1U and 1.5U mark and that one looks a little closer to 1.5 to me. I used to stack 2 pair of reading glasses on top of each other. Each one magnified by 3x so by stacking them, it magnified by 6x

I'd definitely go ahead with the 1.25 dose tonight. If you're worried, get a +1 and +2 so if you need to intervene you can do it early.

Lantus doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours after the shot, so as long as Sissy is willing to eat, she's got those 2-3 hours to finish her "main meal".

Think of it like this....You're not actually shooting the number she's at now...you're shooting the number she'll be at 2-3 hours from now...and by then, she will have eaten which usually brings the BG up.

If you get a Preshot under 150, you should Stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. Use that time to post here with a clear subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" (hey, it usually works!..lol)
Once you have someone's attention, you can edit the subject line and replace it with the usual format.
 
That looks like a tiny bit more than 1.25....the top edge of the plunger should be right in between the 1U and 1.5U mark and that one looks a little closer to 1.5 to me. I used to stack 2 pair of reading glasses on top of each other. Each one magnified by 3x so by stacking them, it magnified by 6x

I'd definitely go ahead with the 1.25 dose tonight. If you're worried, get a +1 and +2 so if you need to intervene you can do it early.

Lantus doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours after the shot, so as long as Sissy is willing to eat, she's got those 2-3 hours to finish her "main meal".

Think of it like this....You're not actually shooting the number she's at now...you're shooting the number she'll be at 2-3 hours from now...and by then, she will have eaten which usually brings the BG up.

If you get a Preshot under 150, you should Stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. Use that time to post here with a clear subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" (hey, it usually works!..lol)
Once you have someone's attention, you can edit the subject line and replace it with the usual format.

I just shot her at 10:40...that's 40 minutes late. I pushed some of the insulin out so I think it was okay. I hate wasting it, and I had to try a few times.
So in the morning I back her up 15 min? I need to get back to 10am.

She just ate several ounces of food so that should help. Man I hope I gave her the right amount. I am afraid I'm going to kill my cat because of not being able to see that syringe very well. I think it might have been less than she was supposed to get tonight. I was so frustrated and stressed, now the tears are rolling, I don't cry easy, but dang this stuff is stressful. I'm going to have to start an hour early in the morning just to get that dose right.
 
This is what I ended up doing. I think it's a little less than it should have been.
 

Attachments

  • 20200819_225018.jpg
    20200819_225018.jpg
    17.1 KB · Views: 73
Last edited:
So in the morning I back her up 15 min? I need to get back to 10am.

Yes, you can either do 15 minute per cycle or 30 minutes per day

I think it might have been less than she was supposed to get tonight. I was so frustrated and stressed, now the tears are rolling, I don't cry easy, but dang this stuff is stressful.

I know it can be frustrating, but what's more important in dosing is consistency, not exactness. Decide where 1.25 is for YOU and just try to get it as close as you can each time. Take some deep breaths. It's going to be OK!!

I think it's a little less than it should have been.

Looks pretty darn good to me!! Great job!!
 
Yes, you can either do 15 minute per cycle or 30 minutes per day



I know it can be frustrating, but what's more important in dosing is consistency, not exactness. Decide where 1.25 is for YOU and just try to get it as close as you can each time. Take some deep breaths. It's going to be OK!!



Looks pretty darn good to me!! Great job!!

Oh good! That's a relief.:D I like your idea of stacking glasses...I just tried it and it does look a lot better. Thanks for that tip.
 
Back
Top