8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.75 54, +4.25 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Rufus is 236 this morning, but I had to put up a bit of a fight to get that number. I'm going to break out the bacitracin and see if we can get those earsies feeling better...

WCR: Rufus is really learning the testing routine. When I sit down in Tess, the Testing Chair he hops right up onto the ottoman beside it and waits for his nernie (treat). Of course, now, he is literally yanking fur out of his tail. Granted, there's a lot of dead fur in there - it's the one place he won't let me brush. Crazy cat.

I hope all of you and your fuzzy ones have a wonderful day. :-D
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus AMPS 236

Rufus would like you to know that he is considering going green today, but he still hasn't made up his mind. (I don't think he realizes that it only has so much to do with what he wants). For now... his excellency shall nap. :roll:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMBG 125: shoot? Feed and shoot?

Ok... Rufus' +6 was 169, and now at +11.5 he's 125. I know he should be climbing, but I'll tell you honestly... I'm not sure I can get another test from him. He's running around the house like a crazy man. I figure he must have had a really great day if he's 125 at nearly food/shot time... unless he's dropping. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMBG 125: shoot?

Gah! Sorry - something went wrong with my spreadsheet. I should have enough strips + food for the night, and I can stay up as long as I need to, so yes.

I think he'll probably be fine, but I'm not the type of person who likes taking chances (can you tell?) :smile:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMBG 125: shoot?

the way I see it is if you shoot now and then feed, he'll probably go up from the food. You test at +1 to be sure, and at +2 to see if onset is starting. If you ever feel like the numbers aren't going the way you want, then Rufus gets more food (HC or LC, depending on the situation). It can help keep his numbers from getting too high, by getting the insulin in before they have a chance to keep going up. It's always up to you, though, but that's what worked for me. :smile:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMBG 125: shoot?

That sounds perfect to me. Rufus is a toughie, too, so I'd bet on his doing great. (He's interested in the prospect of more gravy, though. He might pull a fast one on me just for that.) As for which food - just go with the gut? If he drops fast, go HC. If he's just inching his way down check every now and again and try the LC? That sounds sensible enough...
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMBG 125: shoot?

Nice PMPS and nice shooting, Bee!

Definitely go with +1 first as Libby suggested.
Food on board too :-D

Looking great!
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

Looking at +1 62. Fed a couple tsp of HC. Will check again at 9pm. Is that soon enough? Rufus, Rufus, Rufus. He just loves those pretty greens. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

what's 9pm?

+1.5? +2?

i would do a +1.5 if that's what 9pm is, see how confusing that is? :lol:

ok ok, +1.5 if you can.

easy on the HC, dont panic, breath and chill out :lol:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

Yeah. I don't plan on giving him this whole can, lol. He took more than I could stop him from, though - even with an actual teaspoon to measure it! What did I say about him being a booger?

9pm is +1.5 or thereabouts, so that will be a good test. He's being silly again - just like he was on the 14th. Gravy all over his chin... Booger cat!
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

I wish I had a working camera still, he's definitely acting up enough to merit some snaps.

+1.5: 57. Might have to switch to back-up meter in the middle of this if he stays low. We'll see how many strips he can make me waste with head shakes! :roll:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

I am sure you will do fine and Rufus will keep it cool! We are in the same situation tonight except no +1 yet so maybe we will have to be all-nighter pals.
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

remember the Vulvan grip you did the other day, effective yet gentle and quick, he'll never know what hit him.

poke, sip, beep! :lol:

+2 would be good
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

kldanzi said:
I am sure you will do fine and Rufus will keep it cool! We are in the same situation tonight except no +1 yet so maybe we will have to be all-nighter pals.

I am wishing you luck too, then. Although, I'll admit - it's always good to have someone to stay up with. :lol:

And +2 it is. I'll probably be testing the tip of his nose by dawn! (Now that I could imagine being uncomfortable.)
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

Ronnie & Luna said:
poke, sip, beep! :lol:

Heehee, Bear has learned that the beep means the test is over and as soon as he hears it he tries to ruuuuun. Pavlov?
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62 - Yikes!

+2.1: 58. Gracious, Rufus. Any suggestions, or ride it out and test again? Of the little data I have, he does seem to have onset at +3. (He's still a jolly big boy, though.)
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62, +1.5 57, +2 58, +3 38

+3 38. HC? Oh, Rufus. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62, +1.5 57, +2 58, +3 38

yes, a bit at a time...

u have karo on hand?

re-test 15 minutes
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1 62, +1.5 57, +2 58, +3 38

We have karo, honey, probably a whole cupboard full of acceptable simples. I'll give Rufus his HC tsp at a time. Will test at +3.25.
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +2 58, +3 38, +3.25 42

+3.25: 42. Back on our way up. Will test again at 11:20? (+3.75-ish... I think. lol. I hate MATH!), unless someone thinks we need a closer look? More food available if that's necessary, too.
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +2 58, +3 38, +3.25 42

RuBee said:
+3.25: 42. Back on our way up. Will test again at 11:20? +3.75-ish... I think. lol. I hate MATH!), unless someone thinks we need a closer look? More food available if that's necessary, too.

15 to 20 minutes from last number would be good.
just to make sure he is going up a bit a little sooner
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.25 42, +3.75 54

+3.75: 54. Yay! Now what? Get one more in and see if he can hold it (then go to bed, lol)?
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.25 42, +3.75 54

now you join the rest of the party going on...several kitties going low tonight :-D

surfee we go again - until you see for sure he is gonna stay around there or start to rise you'll wanna keep testing.
others are here with you - so just holler if you need help!

hang on to your shorts Rufus :mrgreen:

good work!
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.25 42, +3.75 54

if you're looking for bed soon, then you might want to give him some more HC now. Last time he was surfing low, he didn't turn upward until +5. Sorry.

Your new dose is 0.75u. If he bounces high in the morning, you can shoot the old dose one last time. He's not much of a bouncer, though, so that probably won't be necessary.
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.25 42, +3.75 54

Congrats on the new dose Bee.
No bouncing hard Rufus k?
Nice new dose awaits you in the morning :razz:
 
Re: 8/19 Rufus PMPS 125, +1.5 57, +3 38, +3.25 42, +3.75 54

Yay, new dose! I never thought he'd go under 1u. It just shows how well the protocol (which I'm finally learning my way around, lol) works. You guys are truly the best. I'm really wondering what his doc. is going to think - she had prescribed 3/2u based on a fructosamine test that was done at their clinic.

A little more HC for sure... before I get my arm chewed off. :roll:

Edit:
+4.25 (I think, lol): 71! Off to bed... I think. He's certainly acting fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top