8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +2=85, +4=54, +5=61, +7=69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102541

Hi LL!

Well, even though we skipped last night's dose due to Onyx's PMPS being 77, it doesn't look like we've lost any ground. It looks like she'll spend most of her day in the blues, so that's a good thing. She's not nearly as energetic as she was yesterday, but I'm sure that will come back in no time once she starts seeing greens again.

I did give her the earned reducie this morning (f1.5), so we'll see how she does with that one.

Hope everyone is having a great day.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - AMPS 343, +3=206, +6=141, +7=133

Go Onyx!
We've got all fingers and paws crossed for this reducie! It sure looks like she's headed toward the Lagoon. Keep down the good work, Onyx!!!
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - AMPS 343, +3=206, +6=141, +7=133

Thanks, Mary!

Hopefully she listens to you better than she's listened to me the past few weeks. I don't think the word "consistency" is in her vocabulary.

:-D

But perhaps the fact that she enjoyed the day in Greenland yesterday will motivate her. She had a blast ALL DAY!!!!
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - AMPS 343, +3=206, +6=141, +7=133, +10=105

Hi Gang.

Sorry to bother you guys 2 nights in a row with dosing questions.

So Onyx has consistently dropped by the hour today. I was expecting high numbers all day, after skipping lastnight's PM dose. But no, she would have none of that. Do you think I should give her another fat 1.5 tonight (like this morning), or should I just give a regular 1.5? I'll be doing her PMPS in about 45 minutes. She just really seems to be sensitive to insulin right now. But, if you guys think she's in a "good place", I'll go ahead and shoot the f1.5.

Melanie had mentioned before that it took Ninja about 10 days once he was on the Young Again Zero Carb, to start really responding to the insulin, and therefore, start aggressively reducing. Today is day 10 for Onyx, so perhaps we have the same thing on our hands. Will be interesting to find out!

:-D
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Brandi

Let me take just a second to catchup. Don't do anything yet ok? I'll BRB.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Why do you think she is sensitive to insulin? I don't see any insulin sensitivity; it just looks to me like she has possibly reached a breakthrough dose. When did she ear last?

Are you only feeding YA or are you also giving HC gravy if you need to manage numbers?

If you have supplies (strips, HC gravy, syrup) and you will be up or can be up and test, you could shoot. However, if onyx is only eating YA, how are you bringing up low numbers like yesterday? You will need to be able to have her eat gravy if numbers drop.

If you have the ability to stall, you might want to do that and see if she will start back up. Remember that you will need to shoot about 12 hours from when you shoot tonight if you stall. Also, if you stall. Test every 20 mins and shoot as numbers start to rise. You want to shoot the full dose.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

I guess saying "sensitive to insulin" wasn't the right phrasing. It just seems like it's REALLY working finally.

yes, she only eats YA. I can bring her numbers up with gravy and a syringe, but she wil NOT eat it willingly. Yesterday, I was using Catlax to hold gently bring her up, but I have all sorts of carb supplies to use if necessary.

So you don't think I just shoot a regular 1.5 now? Stalling would be better?
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Sorry, I was rushing and misread part of your email. I'm going to shoot. I can stay up. And I have the supplies.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Brandi

If you are comfortable shooting and controlling her numbers...and staying up late or maybe all night, then you can shoot the full dose now.

Please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

I can bring her numbers up with gravy and a syringe, but she wil NOT eat it willingly.

You can do that if and when you need to, but....

I should have explained more last night how I was thinking when you said you could syringe HC if needed. The possible problem with that is that it might reinforce her aversion to the gravy style food. Eventually, you want her to "want" food when you need to bump up the numbers. Just my opinion, but if you have to "force" her numbers up, then maybe it's best to try not to let her go so low? That might mean reducing the dose if it happens often and regularly, and it might be against conventional thinking to not try for low-mid green numbers.

Eventually, I think you'll want to wean her off the YAZC. Yes, it is low/zero carb food, so as far as diabetes goes, it's okay to feed, especially if she won't eat canned food. But it is, above all other things, still "dry food". And the "anti-dry" sentiment that prevails on the board is not just due to dry food being high in carbs. The health issues associated with dry and water-depleted food are still a concern. Dry food just isn't about the "carbs". It's just as crucial that dry food, even zero carb dry food, is water-depleted. Most of the long-term issues with feeding dry food are because of water content, not just carbs. If it was just about carbs, every cat I've ever had would have been a diabetic, because every one of them, including Bob, was fed predominantly dry food their whole lives. Bob would still be eating it, and Mullet would have continued eating it two years ago, if it weren't for Bob getting diabetes. I did, however, have several cats over the years that had urinary/kidney problems as they got older. I didn't realize at the time that those had been caused by a lifetime of eating dry food, but I understand that now.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Will do, Marje! It's time to strap on my big girl panties and shoot! lol. If this is going to be the new norm, I've gotta get used to doing what needs to be done.

I can stay up with her for as long as I need to. I've got lots of coffee, supplies and movies! lol

Thanks, Marje.

at 20 after she was up a bit to 113, so I shot! Here we go.....
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?



Great job!
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    8.3 KB · Views: 303
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

Hey Carl.

Thanks for taking time to explain that to me. I really appreciate it. I never thought about creating an aversion to the canned food by syringe feeding the gravy. UGH. That does present more of a problem. Since I already shot, I will hope for the best tonight. Since Onyx is used to having more than an inch of Catlax a day (vet prescribed), I will use that at first, if needed, along with lactose free milk. I will ONLY use the gravy if necessary. Perhaps after tonight I try to find another high carb resource. Looks like I have some experimenting/research to do.

Thanks, Carl.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101 HOLD DOSE?

heheheeheh...Marje, can you hear me laughing my butt off here in PA from that pic?

That was hilarious!!!!

Thank you.

:lol:
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +1=99, +2=85 MONITORING

yeah, sadly, the zero carb food doesn't really do anything to the numbers. She was just 85.

Her nadir has NO consistency what-so-ever, so it might be a long night. But I've got a good feeling about it.

:smile:
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +1=99, +2=85 MONITORING

Not too bad though for a +2... Relatively flat which is good.

You can always feed the curve early with some MC to keep her from going too low and you having to stay up all night.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +1=99, +2=85 MONITORING

That's not a bad idea. I'm gonna see if I can get her to eat something wililngly. I'll use gravy tonight if I have to, but I'll try to find something else for the future so she doesn't develop an aversion to it, like Carl mentioned from the syringe feeding.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +1=99, +2=85 MONITORING

Id worry more about an aversion to syringe feeding if it is a food I would want her to eat as her regular food all the time.

If she will eat gravy on her own, great. If she won't, I'd not worry too much about syringe feeding it because its not her regular food that you want her to eat on a daily basis, right?

If a cat is really ill and you have to syringe feed it, you would want to use something like Iams Max Cal because it wouldn't be used as a normal diet.

There are other members that syringe gravy. And there are some cats that never get an aversion to bring syringe fed their regular food. ECID.
 
Re: 8/19 Onyx - PMPS 101, +1=99, +2=85 MONITORING

That's actually a good point. Even if I do eventually get her to eat wet food, it won't be the ones with gravy, it will be pate. So then I will use the gravys if I need to. Okay. Good.

Thanks, Marje.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top