8/19 Nelli AMPS 287 +5 174 couple questions re increase .25 @ PM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krystina & Nelli

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-i-increase-25-am-or-pm-shot-tomorrow.201298/
I decided today I would test during AM to see, potentially when she has nadir. I am doing one at +5, +6 and, +7.
I will do her PMPS (6p-6a) and then do +1 one and a +2.
In the morning I will do an hour before a.m. PS.
The method of my plan is to see one half cycle where her nadir rest and then the next 12 hours see when the insulin is kicking in... am I making any sense to anybody?! :-\
In lew of pricking her every other hour for 24 hours I decided to split up.
Tomorrow I will test opposite- I understand that kitty’s often (always?)go lower at night which is why I need to test (in the middle of the night :mad:!
Now, my questions regarding dose increase tonight-
First, should I increase tonight? I question this, although with ignorance, because I have not been following T our protocol as best as I should be.
Secondly, if YES increase tonight... should I wait until she has a complete cycle on 4.25 before I play out my plan with (my) test schedule?
I will be away now for an hour or two but will keep checking back.
Thanks we (Nelli & Krystina), so appreciate you :bighug:
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-i-increase-25-am-or-pm-shot-tomorrow.201298/
I decided today I would test during AM to see, potentially when she has nadir. I am doing one at +5, +6 and, +7.
I will do her PMPS (6p-6a) and then do +1 one and a +2.
In the morning I will do an hour before a.m. PS.
The method of my plan is to see one half cycle where her nadir rest and then the next 12 hours see when the insulin is kicking in... am I making any sense to anybody?! :-\
In lew of pricking her every other hour for 24 hours I decided to split up.
Tomorrow I will test opposite- I understand that kitty’s often (always?)go lower at night which is why I need to test (in the middle of the night :mad:!
Now, my questions regarding dose increase tonight-
First, should I increase tonight? I question this, although with ignorance, because I have not been following T our protocol as best as I should be.
Secondly, if YES increase tonight... should I wait until she has a complete cycle on 4.25 before I play out my plan with (my) test schedule?
I will be away now for an hour or two but will keep checking back.
Thanks we (Nelli & Krystina), so appreciate you :bighug:

Hi Krystina, I'm confused (but I'm tired and easily confused...forgive me)...Perhaps you could use the '?' Mark when you have a dosage question - in the pulldown menu on the left hand side of the your posting title - to get some of the experts opinion.

I'd recommend testing as often as you can - more data = more ability to read when she's lowest and when not. I'm not sure about increases, etc at higher dose levels. I'm tagging @Bobbie And Bubba and @Chris & China, @Marje and Gracie - there are many others - but this is a good start - perhaps they'll see the tags and come to your assistance...I'm not sure there is a situation where there is an 'in lieu of testing' one time vs another - they can hit the nadir on both - anytime they get insulin - then the BG goes down...and then back up...like a little roller coaster.. up/down, up/down - twice a day...following the shot.

Best to you and Nelli :)
 
Hey there, sorry I am just seeing this now.

Question: Did she get a shot last night PM cycles ? Nothing is in the cell. I am assuming she got one.

As far as the testing goes, you don't have to test her every hour on the hour when you do a curve. I would wait until the depot is full after the increase to get a better picture of what the new dose is doing for her. The depot is usually full in about 4 cycles. Until then, just get in test you normally would to keep her safe.

You can shake up the times of the test. I am embarrassed to say that I am not sure of the testing times for a curve as I have tested Bubba about every 3-4 hours until just recently, so I never did an official "curve day" I am thinking it might be every 2 hours for a 12 hour cycle. Or you can do one for every 3 hours for 18 hours. Hope someone weighs in for times.

It is a good thing to shake up the times from the AM to PM cycle as you mentioned a lot of kitties do go lower in the PM cycle.

I think she has room for an increase tonight. If too late, then give her one tomorrow AM assuming she doesn't hit a green tonight for you.
 
Bobbie is right on the traditional curve. Every two hours for 12, or every 3 for 18.

However, when doing a 12 hour curve, once I saw consecutive rising numbers, I knew pretty well that I had already passed nadir (lowest point in the cycle) so there wasn't personally much value in continuing to test again until the next preshot. Others may not feel the same way.
 
once I saw consecutive rising numbers, I knew pretty well that I had already passed nadir (lowest point in the cycle) so there wasn't personally much value in continuing to test again until the next preshot.

Agree 100%. That's when we usually take a pokey break for a few hours - until the next shot pre-test and then we start again (with frequent testing - at least every 2 hours).
 
Hey there, sorry I am just seeing this now.

Question: Did she get a shot last night PM cycles ? Nothing is in the cell. I am assuming she got one.

As far as the testing goes, you don't have to test her every hour on the hour when you do a curve. I would wait until the depot is full after the increase to get a better picture of what the new dose is doing for her. The depot is usually full in about 4 cycles. Until then, just get in test you normally would to keep her safe.

You can shake up the times of the test. I am embarrassed to say that I am not sure of the testing times for a curve as I have tested Bubba about every 3-4 hours until just recently, so I never did an official "curve day" I am thinking it might be every 2 hours for a 12 hour cycle. Or you can do one for every 3 hours for 18 hours. Hope someone weighs in for times.

It is a good thing to shake up the times from the AM to PM cycle as you mentioned a lot of kitties do go lower in the PM cycle.

I think she has room for an increase tonight. If too late, then give her one tomorrow AM assuming she doesn't hit a green tonight for you.
Bobbie... regarding your question of “PM shot last night”-
She did. I went in SS and did not see it missing? What are you seeing and... on which date? Thanks :)
 
Bobbie... regarding your question of “PM shot last night”-
She did. I went in SS and did not see it missing? What are you seeing and... on which date? Thanks :)
Oops! Thanks for the observation! I left blank PM shot not only night b4 last, last night too,
*I am thinking wonder to increase by .25 tonight? It will be the eighth cycle... or do you think I should wait til AM?
 
Hi Krystina, if she didn't hit a green by the end of today's cycle, I would increase by .25 and make the new dose to 4.25. Good luck with the dose increase.
 
Thanks Bobbie-
I SOooo look forward to GREEN!
Nadir, at least from today and yesterday looks like @+5. May be to early to tell? If so tho... is a +5 nadir unusual?
 
Thanks Bobbie-
I SOooo look forward to GREEN!
Nadir, at least from today and yesterday looks like @+5. May be to early to tell? If so tho... is a +5 nadir unusual?
The nadir is typically around +4 - +7. Although there are kitties that will nadir at +3. And then some like Bubba used to be at the end of each cycle. And all that said, they can change their nadir when ever they want to because they are cats, LOL.

Bubba used to be a late nadir cat; he would be at his lowest at the beginning and end of each cycle. That changed the 3rd time he was back on the juice and this time he nadirs early. :rolleyes:
 
Thanks... I guess it takes a long time :(
It’s been such a slow, slow process. Two plus months now :-| and we can’t seem to get a AMPS or PMPS out of high 200’s. :(
 
Leo looks good! I see it took him a little over 3 months to turn the page and start showing blue and green :bighug:
Now, does it get scarier when you are down in blue and green as far as... going too low? This is what is on my worried mind...
 
Leo looks good! I see it took him a little over 3 months to turn the page and start showing blue and green :bighug:
Now, does it get scarier when you are down in blue and green as far as... going too low? This is what is on my worried mind...
It can be very scary at times. Leo’s curve is pretty flat, meaning his BG numbers are similar throughout the day and night. It’s a lot scarier for those who’s kitties bounce up and down because you never know how far down they might go from a highish number. That being said, you never know when your kitty’s pancreas might just decide to start working on it’s own. That’s why it’s so important to test. I noticed on your spreadsheet that Nelli is also suffering from neuropathy. Leo has been on Zobaline for months now and I truly believe that it along with becoming more regulated, has helped tremendously.

After Leo was diagnosed, I was extremely depressed, because I had no clue what to do. I was testing but it was obvious by his numbers that I was getting no where. We lost so much precious time at the beginning when we could have been dosing and testing properly. Meanwhile his neuropathy was sooooo bad, I had to carry him everywhere, he couldn’t stand in his litter box so he had pee and poo all over him all the time. Despite cleaning him with baby wipes, he smelled horrible and he was feeling really bad, I could tell by the way he looked at me. And to top it off, when I asked the vet about Zobaline, he said don't bother, nothing much could be done about the neuropathy. It got to the point where my DH who loves Leo to bits but is also way more practical than me said it might be time to put him out of his misery. At around the same time I started coming here to the FDMB and still depressed, in panic mode all the time and not trusting anyone, we decided on a date 2 weeks into the future where we would re-evaluate the situation. We started the TR protocol and put him on Zobaline, and there was a slight improvement by the 2nd week mark, and I mean SLIGHT. We continued and marked off another day, 2 weeks into the future, and there was a slight improvement again. At this point we knew something was working and we stopped with the “death sentence in two weeks” thing. The whole process took about 3 months till we were sure he was getting better.

When I realized that I could trust the advice given to me here, I started to calm down a bit and felt more in control, and I started to understand all the info in the yellow stikies . I’m not usually dense but I kept reading and re-reading and nothing was registering.

Leo is not jumping up onto the counter yet but he can jump up onto a bed or a chair and has started not running but walking very fast on his tippy toes as opposed to his hocks.

I am so thankful that I found these amazing people and their kitties, it literally saved Leo’s life.

The best advice I can give is trust the protocol and trust the people here, they REALLY DO know what they’re talking about.

BTW, your kitty is really cute!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top