8/19 Harley getting some very low numbers on lowest dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

KKL

Member Since 2013
Harley has been getting some lower numbers lately, often where I would have to leave for the day and/or go to sleep he'd drop below 70 and I'd give him some MC or HC to slow the drop. I did go back a couple days ago to a slightly smaller dose by just a plunger depress.

Is he getting close to a OTJ trial? I don't want to mess with his reserve since we have him so balanced...BUT I also wonder if it's counter productive to him to end up giving him a HC food after shooting to slow his drops on literally the smallest dose of insulin I can give him?
 
He is getting close but the pre-shot numbers that are over 200 make me think he's not quite there yet. I also can't tell if the HC at +9 is inflating your pre-shot numbers. If you are going to be home, would it be possible to not reach for the HC unless you see Harley in the low 50s and even then, I'd try LC first, especially if it's later in the cycle.
 
It seems to happen only when he dips under 70 and I give him some MC or HC food to boost him. I have been giving him some LC food a few hours after the shot every night for the last month. I have been on the road a lot lately, so it makes me nervous that he dropped last night to 75 at +3, I gave him some LC food as well as some HC to slow the drop and at +9 he was at 54....there were even a few points I had to skip...
 
Obviously, safety is important. If you're able to monitor, using LC only may keep Harley surfing. It helps to remember that if you're starting at a low pre-shot, it's quite likely that the numbers won't (or won't usually) plummet. It's find if Harley is surfing in the 50s, although I agree, I would want to be able to monitor if this were my kitty. I'm wanting to give Harley the benefit of the doubt that the high pre-shot numbers were HC influenced but there's really no way to tell if you're feeding HC at +9. In most cases, I wouldn't feed HC that late in the cycle unless numbers dropped below 50 and even then, I'd probably see what the response to LC was and re-test in 30 min.
 
We are at AMPS and he's at 89, I did give him some MC last night since he dropped so fast from 200 to 75 at +2 and I was going to bed. I woke up and he was 54 at +9. Not sure how to handle this...I am going to be gone all day today and tomorrow. Should I try doing only one low dose shot once a day and see how he reacts? I am afraid to shoot low since I won't be home and I know he drops below 60 even with a MC or HC feeding...
 
Is your .05 dose a couple drops? If so, maybe you could just shoot one drop so you can continue shooting bid.

If not, I'd shoot as often as you can for a few more cycles; skip if you need to in order to keep him safe.
 
It's just a plunger depress and release...barely a drop. BUT again, today he was at 58 at +5. I am having to hold shootings and we are getting under 60 at least once a day (usually just before I leave or need to sleep) so I end up having to give food. I am getting nervous he will be getting too much insulin even though it's the lowest amount I can possibly give and go hypo on me :(
 
The other option you have, and I would urge you to consider it, is to feed a higher low carb food so he is safe with that dose until he is ready for a trial. If you up the carbs to 8-10% and raise the overall curve, you can continue to put this dose in him......that's the theory :-D

This suggestion is made just for Harley. I don't suggest propping up numbers to get more insulin to them as an absolute for every cat. It will just help you to get a dose safely in him bid.
 
I did try feeding a higher carb food and he threw it up :( I am afraid if he gets sick then he will really plummet. I did try mixing just alittle of HC with his LC to make MC and that didn't seem to make him sick, but his numbers didn't veer too much. bugger part this is happening while I am on the road a lot right now, so I am so nervous to mix it up too much.
 
Okay, he was 109 AMPS, I gave him a plunger depress shot and he's at 52 at +3....do I monitor or give LC or something else?
 
Hi there, can't advise on dose but you may want to start a new condo (thread) with the subject line showing like this: "8/20 Harley AMPS 109; +3 52 - Advice? " and click the question mark icon. That will help get eyes on your post! Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top