8/19 Corv, AMPS 245 +3 236 +6 167 PMPS +0.5 149 +2 192

welp he only ate about 3/4 of his food which is not normal for him. I think bc I left it out too long before refrigerating last night (2 hours). I'll do a +3 and +6 today to make sure he's doing ok considering less food and lower fasting BG.
 
sorry if this doesn’t belong here. Corv’s PMPS is 184, so stall for 30 minutes and re check? or just don’t shoot? this is only day 4 of insulin
 
Usually when you stall for a short time the bg will rise. You want it 200 or higher being new to insulin. Do you have high carb food and or karo or honey or syrup if you are able to shoot?
 
When you skip you dint want to give hc or kibble as the bg will rise without insulin. Sometimes when you stall the bg drops. You want to save high carb or dry for when the bg is under 68. Always try lc first. When feeding lc we usually start at a dose of .50. Do yiu recently switch to ff pate?
 
ahh i’m sorry i didn’t know what to do and i panicked 😞 he was getting 1 can of ff in the morning and then free feeding royal canin HC kibble the rest of the day.

do you think i should stay up and monitor or is he probably okay?
 
Great. We all freak when first we see lower than usual bg. Wait until you see a green nadir.

Does giving insulin at 9 work for you or would earlier be better?
 
Okay. I only asked because if you wanted to change you could pick any time in the morning since you skipped tonight.

Since you skipped you don’t need to stay up. I would get a before bed test. It might turn out you will need to lower the dose if he continues to be too low to shoot every 12 hours. A diet change can make a big difference.
 
When you are new, we do suggest not shooting this low (unless recent DKA or ketones), so good call. How is his appetite? Do you think he'd eat if you left something out for him to snack on?
 
You might want to check into getting an auto feeder with a sensor so only he can get tge food.
currently we have the other cats eating at the same time as Corv and they're on auto feeders. Then I take corv into the kitchen and shut the door and let him eat for about 20 minutes, then dump whatever of the other cats foods is left back in the container.
 
Back
Top