8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+9.5-86;+10.5-116;PMPS-193;+5-239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Today's numbers:

AMPS: 288
+4: 83
+5: 57
+6: 43 :o
+6.5: 82
+7.5: 44 :o
+8: 46
+8.5: 84
+9.5: 86
+10.5: 116
PMPS: 196
+5: 239

Decided to skip the PM dose, as we'll be out for the first few hours and unable to watch over Clare.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288

Nice sunny start for Clare today. Hopefully you'll see some blues soon. Have a great day, guys!!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288

Hi guys .. yay, way to ditch those stinky pinkies! This sunny yellow could turn blue soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86 Cleared her bounce!

Amy and Peter, thanks for the encouragement for Clare. She was REALLY listening! I looked at Trixie's and Mocha Jo's SSs and wow, you both have been through so much with your kitties! I'm grateful that you're keeping connected and passing along your experience to us relatively new folks.

I have a question for LL. Since Clare cleared her bounce in a big way, we're watching closely this AM. Tonight we have a dinner out that will bring us back at about +3.5. Clare usually has her nadir at about +5 or +5.5, it seems, so I think we'll be okay for the evening. But would you take any precautions, like a bit of HC with supper? Thanks for your advice.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82

Clare went into the greens at +4 and over the last two hours has had: 2 Temptations treats; a Tbsp of baked slivers of chicken breast (thrown up);two tsp of beef plus parmesan; 2 grasshoppers (1 thrown up); two tsp of finely diced chicken with maple syrup; 1 tsp of finely diced chicken with 1/2 tsp parmesan.

Has she earned a reduction? I'm not sure if she's considered "newly diagnosed" or "long-term diabetic" at this point, under the protocol.

She didn't show any symptoms of hypo. She wanted to walk and catch grasshoppers, her favorite thing to do these days.

I hope I didn't overdo on the HC stuff. Maybe I'll try some of the MC next time.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82

Whew! Good catch on that 43! :mrgreen: Before answering the question about a reduction, why do you have a "?" in the dose column a couple of nights ago? Another quick note, it's best to put all of your tests in the spreadsheet (so the 43 shows) by stacking the tests. I enter both in the same cell separated by a semicolon so it looks like "43; 82@6.5". You might have to go manually color the spreadsheet cell with the paint can tool.

A long term diabetic is one that's been diabetic longer than a year, so Clare is considered newly diagnosed.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82

Hi Wendy,
The ? is a shot that my DH wasn't sure if he gave to Clare or not. A few hours into the evening, he said "It's become so routine, I just can't remember if I gave it to her or not." So we didn't try to repeat it; we just waited until the next regular shot time.

I'll work on the entering the half-hour tests in the spreadsheet as you mentioned.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82

In that case, it's time to practice drawing up 0.1U or a skinny .25U. :-D :-D Congrats on the reduction.

Could you put a note in the SS beside the ? dose, saying what you said above so we know that Clare may or may not have got a dose that night. I have a habit of writing down the time I gave the shot in my log book right after I give the shot, so I know whether or not it was given. Of course, you may not have to remember it much longer.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44

That's good news, Wendy! Just now, Clare went back down to the 40's so I'm keeping her on the small snacks of meat with maple syrup. In between walks with grasshoppers. So we'll practice the 0.1 for tonight. Thanks so much!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44

Wendy,

If we practice doing the 0.1 with water, will it be the same as practicing with insulin, or should we use insulin when we practice?

Hugs to all in LL.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44

You can use a used syringe and even colored water (tea, clear juice) - might make it easier to see the drops.

Hey Clare - time to come up and stay above 50 please!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44;+8

Did Clare eat any of her regular LC cat food today? I just noticed your note on the SS that she's not got great appy today. Sometimes kitties will go too low if they haven't had enough food.

Regarding your question for tonight - since she earned a reduction today, it's too soon to earn another one tonight. That means it's OK to give her higher carb food for dinner to keep her safe. I'd make sure she's eaten before giving the shot so you don't have a repeat of today. And it all depends where she is at shot time tonight. I'd withhold now food and test again around +10 to +11 and see where she is when the high carbs have worn off. If she's too low tonight a skip may be in order.

On the SS, you usually need a space after the semi-colon for the numbers to appear on a second line in the SS cell.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44;+8

Wendy,

Clare ate about half a small can of food 0f her LC this morning just before her AM shot, and since then hasn't had much except for the small snacks I've been feeding her. The snacks have mostly been LC plain cooked meat (beef or chicken) mixed with some maple syrup, and she's also had 3 Temptations treats. She doesn't seem too interested in any of her regular food just now.

I'm confused about the dose we should use for tonight's shot. When you say she's earned one for today, but not two, does that mean that we should go to the 0.1 dose for tonight's PM shot, and then just keep it there for the time being?

I tried using a space after the semicolons in a couple of different places in order to be able to extend the Subject field but haven't had any luck so far.

Thanks, as always, for your help.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44;+8

Sorry to be not clear. Clare earned a reduction today to 0.1U and that's what I'd dose tonight unless you think she's too low at shot time. Due to the influence of the Lantus depot, it's possible tonight could be an active night. But if Clare did go low tonight, we wouldn't suggest an additional reduction because it would likely be due to the higher depot. We don't generally do back to back reductions.

One housekeeping note - when you run out of room on your first subject line for new data, it's OK to delete some of the older tests, such as your +4 or +5. It's best to make sure there's room for the latest test data so we know at a glance that Clare is in safe numbers now.

Busy day for you today - you did great!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+4-86;+5-57;+6-43;+6.5-82;+7.5-44;+8

Hi Wendy,

I re-read your post and saw that you were talking about formatting the spreadsheet and not the Subject heading on my posts. ohmygod_smile So now I've fixed the spreadsheet.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+6.5-82;+7.5-44;+8-46;+8.5-84;+9.5-8

Wendy,

I just wanted to say that your words of encouragement and understanding are much appreciated! And it means so much to have an experienced person at our side while we go through this.

About the PM shot (again), I understand now to give a 0.1 shot unless Clare's too low. And also give her some high-carb food with her dinner. I'm sure she'll eat that -- she seems to be really liking the HC :roll: Thanks.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+8-46;+8.5-84;+9.5-86;+10.5-116;PMPS

Decided to skip the PM dose, as it was going to be 0.1 but I think we have enough in the depot to carry her through for the night, and we won't be able to watch her for the first few hours.

Have a good night, everyone!
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+8-46;+8.5-84;+9.5-86;+10.5-116;PMPS

Looks like she's maybe starting a bounce, you were probably OK to shoot. I was thinking skip,if she was still green. Have fun tonight.
 
Re: 8/19 Clare AMPS-288;+8-46;+8.5-84;+9.5-86;+10.5-116;PMPS

Hi Georgette. Wow, what a day you and Clare had. Congratulaions on the reducie. Very exciting that Clare is now down to 0,1u. AWESOME!
 
Hi Wendy and Laura,

Yes, It looks like another bounce for Clare. Hopefully this one won't last long. I'm getting more and more comfortable with managing her lows but I wish she just didn't go SO low. If either of you have some ideas about how to keep her from bouncing so much and evening out more, I'd appreciate the advice.

One note I read said that it might help to try to keep her at about 70 or a bit over. Is that true? In that case, I'll probably want to start feeding her some HC earlier in the cycle. Learning on the job! ;-)

I hope you both have a good night.
 
Tonight is a combination of bounce plus no insulin. The bounce part is probably happening for two reasons. First the low numbers, and next the fast drop at the beginning of the cycle. She dropped 200 points in the first four hours and that can cause a bounce. You might try testing at +2 if you can, and if you see a significantly lower number thenC, try giving her some food. You'll have to experiment to see what works best for Clare, whether it's low carb, medium carb or high carb. It depends how carb sensitive Clare is. I don't know when you feed her, but spreading meals out over the first few hours can help. If you are doing that already, then maybe something higher carb around +2 if she's dropping then.

I don't know about keeping them over 70, but if you can maximize the amount of time they surf the greens, then her liver will get more used to spending time there and bounce less. Slowing the drop as above, and feeding a little low carb food when they first hit green can help them surf.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top