8/19 Calley AMPS 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Did not give insulin. Gave her morning meal and tested again 45 minutes later and she was up to 139. I hope she does not go too high today.

I woke up to a puddle of what looked like pee....but wasn't pee....but was very liquidity, thin clear stuff on the kitchen floor. She must not be feeling well as she was not batting at me this morning for her food.

Poor Calley. Not sure what is up with her. I hope she doesn't go too low while I'm gone at work.
 
Sounds like she is rising and if you didn't give her insulin, she should continue to rise through the day. Am I right that you did not give her insulin this morning?
 
The clear puddle could be vomited water. Sometimes, when cats feel nauseated, they will drink and drink and drink...then barf up the water. She may be having some tummy acid issues.
 
Yeah... like Amy, I was wondering if Calley has an irritable bowel. My old girl throws up her water but it usually has hair in it. She has an irritable bowel. Calley does seem to have tummy issues.
 
Kris

You've had several members suggest trying her on a little regular Pepcid or its generic form Famotidine to help control her upset tummy. Have you tried that yet? The generic is very cheap at Walmart and dose is 5mg so 1 pill yields 4 doses. I keep a bottle of 50 ($4) on hand all the time for sick kitties and too spicy food in humans.

If you are going to stall a shot to see if rising then you DO NOT FEED before retesting because food is going to inflate numbers. Food will wear off insulin will not.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I did not give any insulin this morning. I was afraid to.

Calley will not take a pill. How do I give her a Pepcid if she won't take a pill? Do I smoosh it and put it on her wet food...will that work?

She was not feeling well this morning. :( Poor girl.
 
Pepcid is super-bitter, so I would very much NOT recommend putting it in her food. If she won't take a Pill Pocket, I'd suggest getting a cheap pill cutter/crusher (dollar stores often have them), cut the pill into quarters, crush the 1/4 pill, then dissolve it in some water or (onion- and garlic-free) chicken broth, about 1 ml/cc. Use an oral syringe to suck up the pill-liquid combo, and shoot it in the back of her throat. Be ready with a water chaser in case it doesn't all go down. If she starts drooling or foaming at the mouth, use more water to rinse her mouth out - she has Pepcid in there somewhere.

I gave my Chronic Kidney Disease kitty Pepcid that way on a regular basis, and it really seemed to help her tummy acid issues.

Another thing to try is Slippery Elm Bark. It usually comes as a powder in gel caps - you can open the cap and sprinkle the powder on her food, add some water, and mix well. Just be careful to get caps with no additives.
 
Autumn is a nightmare to pill so I wrap her pills in a tiny piece of low fat cream cheese. Just enough to to completely cover the pill. With Pepcid you want to give it half an hour before her meals.

If the Pepcid doesn't work then she could have a food allergy. I've got one here that barfs on anything with dried eggs or eggs period. As well as Autumn who is beef intolerant, she doesn't barf on beef but her numbers sky rocket. So what will she rip your arm off for? BEEF!! Of course...silly cat

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I put the Pepcid in a dropper with some warm water, shake it up to dissolve it and squirt it in the side of the mouth. I usually follow with a treat to clear the taste.
 
awww, i was thinking...what a nice number, but sry she doesnt feel well :( thats rough. lots of good info here. hope shes bttr soon :)
 
I am worried about adding anything to her diet....since I don't know what is causing the vomiting already. But I can try the Pepcid and see if it helps.

Thanks everyone for the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top