8/18Cairo PMPS 244 +1/231 +3/132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeannie & Cairo

Member Since 2014
I was able to check Cairo at 9:30 last night before I passed out (She was 107). This morning her AMPS was 198 (and as usual eating piggy style). She seems happy and content.

Chris, last night when you said that her +2 was a lower number than her PMPS and I might be up (through the night) for a PJ party... other than her bringing s'mores, make up and her favorite music :lol: , what type of behaviors would Cairo be displaying? And why?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123667
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198

Max does not act any different when hi BG is 32 or 342. He is often super hungry at both levels but not always. I play a game with myself and try to guess his BG before I test and it's 50-50. But every cat is different so maybe some are predictable.
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198

Most cats go looking for food if their BG goes low, but as you'll hear a lot around here, ECID! (Every Cat is Different) It's just like when a human diabetic's BG is a little low, they go looking for a Coke and a candy bar!...lol

If China is making herself a royal pain in the butt wanting food, I know that's a really good clue that she's probably low. She tricks me now and then, but it's pretty much the best clue I get

I've also caught a few low numbers just because "something" told me to check. Listen to your gut...if it's telling you something isn't quite right, it's probably right

More severe signs of low blood sugar are staggering, drooling, shaking, dilated eyes and seizures
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +5/174

Ok, that makes sense! She usually starts bugging me around 4:30ish (am) for food. I try and hold her off because I give her a shot at 5:30, when I get up. If I tell her "not now" she usually goes and lays down until I get up.

...and, for the record, right now I'm looking for a Coke and a candy bar nailbite_smile (...and I'm not diabetic) Ha!
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +5/174

For those kitties that just won't take "later" for an answer, sometimes a little bit of freeze dried chicken (or whatever your cat likes) will convince their stomach that their throat hasn't been cut and won't affect their BG much (if at all)

You can also try breaking up her food and feeding her smaller meals more frequently or adding some water to her food so it'll last longer (if she doesn't eat it all up immediately after it's put down)

There are also several auto-feeders you can buy that you can program to open when you want them to...could offer her a snack around 2am and see if it holds her off until morning Pre-shot time
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +1/234 +5/174 +9/228

Is this considered a "bounce"? She seems to be bouncing up and down. Are these numbers ok? How/when do I know if I should/should not increase her units?
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +1/234 +5/174 +9/228

It's possible she continued down last night after +5. With that drop at +2, I would have set an alarm to get another test in just to make sure one way or the other

For now, it really doesn't matter if it's a bounce or not. She's still in the first 10-14 cycles and when they first start, you hold the starting dose for 10-14 cycles while you "fill the depot". Lantus is a depot insulin and it takes that long to fill and then it will start releasing so you're seeing the true result of how the .5 is going to do.

She looks like she was a good kitty for your first day back at work though! That's great!
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +1/234 +5/174 +9/228

Let's say I had set an alarm to retest her a few hours later and it was lower than her +5 of 107 should I have done anything about it or would it have been for data purposes only? Or, say it was higher than 107, what then? How would I know if I should set an alarm to get up and test one more time? I guess I thought 107 was good.
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +1/234 +5/174 +9/228

107 is a very good number and within normal range. If you had woken up a couple hours later and she was low (below 50), then you would have fed her some high carb food to bring her numbers back up. If she had just been 90 a couple hours later (+7), that wouldn't have been quite so worrying as she was likely at or near nadir and not dropping very fast. At that point a couple tsp of low carb food could be given.
 
Re: 8/18Cairo AMPS198 +1/234 +5/174 +9/228

Since she's so new to the dance, it's too soon to know when her nadir is

With that +2 being lower than the Pre-shot, I would have probably tried to get one at +7 to see where she went, and if even lower, get a +8, +9....remember, most cats go lower at night, and since she is so new, we don't know what her cycles are going to look like (and as soon as we figure it out, she'll change it!)

That +2 is what I call my "crystal ball test"...as a general rule, if it's more than a couple points lower than the pre-shot (depending some on how high/low the PS is) it's just a pretty good early warning system that she might be on a mission
 
Re: 8/18Cairo PMPS 244 +1/231

...when you say "on a mission", do you mean on a mission to heal herself or on a mission to make my life even more challenging than it already is :shock:

On a side note, I see you live near Lake of the Ozarks area. A super good friend of mine just moved there (from Phoenix) and says its beautiful!
 
Re: 8/18Cairo PMPS 244 +1/231

Yes, it's very nice. I live on the "quiet side" of the Lake though, so it took some getting used to when I moved from Kansas City down here. When I first moved, the nearest movie theater was 60 miles away and the only things to do in the area were bowl and drink....and since I've had 14 back surgeries, bowling is definitely out of the question, and my ulcer doesn't appreciate alcohol

On the other side of the coin, when my kids started school, they went to a small school with only kindergarten through 3rd and only about 25 kids and all the teachers knew every kid by name. It was also safe for them to play in the yard and walk to school when they got kicked off the bus....LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top