8/18 Taco AMPS 240, +3 228 Dosing question/TR question

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-taco-amps-196-3-79-6-99-good-day.233668/

We are on the 12th cycle of our current dose. I've been holding it because we saw some green surfing a few days ago and then some blue the following day. I was thinking about going up .25 this AM but just did his regular dose.

The written protocol confuses me when it says,
"when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."
So does that mean 10 cycles AFTER seeing greens or total from when you last increased? What if the greens show up on the 6th cycle, do you still increase after 10 cycles? Take Taco's SS for example. We saw greens on the 6th cycle but none after that. Does that mean I should increase on our 10th total cycle or wait 10 cycles AFTER seeing green. Omg, does that make any sense??? LOL!
As always, thank you!!
 
There is a difference between a cat which is new to seeing green (which Taco is not) and one who is just seeing green nadirs. For the latter, it suggests holding doses with green for 10 cycles total. However, I found it useful to make sure I wasn't increasing on the same cycle as the bounce was breaking. A bounce breaking cycle can have extra momentum so adding an increase on top can make it an extra exciting cycle. OK if you are prepared and can monitor closely.

If you don't see greens today, I think you'd be fine to increase. One other thing, once a cat gets to 5 units total dose, we suggested going to 0.5 unit increase, instead of 0.25 units - unless you are just tweaking a dose. Think of the increase as a percent of the total dose. A 0.25 units dose is a lot smaller increase % at 6 units.
 
There is a difference between a cat which is new to seeing green (which Taco is not) and one who is just seeing green nadirs. For the latter, it suggests holding doses with green for 10 cycles total. However, I found it useful to make sure I wasn't increasing on the same cycle as the bounce was breaking. A bounce breaking cycle can have extra momentum so adding an increase on top can make it an extra exciting cycle. OK if you are prepared and can monitor closely.

If you don't see greens today, I think you'd be fine to increase. One other thing, once a cat gets to 5 units total dose, we suggested going to 0.5 unit increase, instead of 0.25 units - unless you are just tweaking a dose. Think of the increase as a percent of the total dose. A 0.25 units dose is a lot smaller increase % at 6 units.
Thank you! That's very helpful information. :)
 
Back
Top