8/18-Scratchie - AMPS-130

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Morning all, been a while since I have posted. We are doing well. We have a lot going on as decided to sell our home so getting things organized, some things packed, and just general clean up and touch up to get it listed. Hoping to find a one level home (we currently have 3) especially since my last fall down the stairs which caused some injury to my tired old body. Scratchie is doing better and I'm thankful for that.

I've had some notes from folks wondering why we aren't on the board so the rest of this is a little off topic. Like so many of us here, I don't know what I would do without this board and most of the people on it. Scratchie has been diabetic for 1-1/2 years now and sometimes it's hard to keep a positive outlook even though I have seen dramatic improvements for him. What I don't need, and hence the long time from posting are the rude, in your face, PM's from some people. I'm not trying to 'kill my cat', I don't feel that I am 'irresponsible with his care', and don't feel that I don't 'follow advice' from those that give it. If there's one thing I have learned in this journey it's that E.C.I.D. and mine definitely is. He's slow to react to dose changes. He is insulin resistant. I have made mistakes, all of us do, but they haven't been deliberate nor have they been actions that warrant folks accusing me of trying to kill him and not get him better.

I wish we were one of those that could reach OTJ easily, but we aren't. I thank God and Methyl b-12 everyday that his neuropathy is gone. I thank God every day that he is still alive and doing better. Someday maybe we will hit OTJ but that could be a while yet. One thing I do know for sure is that this requires patience and a positive attitude. When I post in other condos I try to not give advice and I always make sure I am supportive of decisions made by 'beans'. ECID and no one on this board knows a cat better than their 'bean'. SORRY but I needed to get that out.

Wishing everyone good numbers, safe surfs and healing vines to all beans and kitties that need them.

Jo
 
Sending love to you Jo! Not a day goes by that I don't pray for you and Scratchie, and so happy to see that 130 today!!!!!!! I think you've done a remarkable job under very difficult circumstances. When I was shooting 4 and 5 units into my cat, I had the luxury of working from home and being able to monitor her if anything went wrong. If I had the work schedule you do, I do not know that I would have made the same decision. Shooting 5 units and then having to leave for 12 hours is a lot different than shooting 1 or 2. I remember in January when you caught a low BG of 26 on a 5 unit dose, only because it was Sunday and you happened to be home. Had it been Monday, who is to say. It is a scary proposition and not for the faint of heart. I can only imagine how these types of decisions have weighed on you this past year and a half.

I know that your love for Scratchie is deep and that you are making the best decisions you can, in a situation that is far less than ideal. No one walks in your shoes and no one knows the burdens you carry and the factors you must weigh when making decisions for your boy.

Love you Jo!!!!!!

Melanie (and Ninja)
 
Thanks Melanie, that means a lot! I know that you are always in my corner and have been for a long time! You keep me sane and are a good friend!
I know there are a lot of folks who work long hours and make hard choices as well, what I don't like are the downright mean comments. Those I definitely don't need.

Love you too Melanie!!! Give Ninja scritches for us!!
 
What a nice start for Scratchie this morning. I'm glad to see a post from you. I have been thinking about you and keeping you and Scratchie in my prayers. I'm sorry some people have been rude and made mean comments. I know it's not easy working long hours and taking care of Scratchie. You do the best you can for him and he's doing well. I hope you will keep in touch, but know you can't always post. I will be keeping you in my prayers.

Thanks for stopping by Furball's condo today.
 
So sorry that you were treated so poorly by some. I know it happens, I have learned to ignore some comments - it just isn't worth it to get mad or hurt by these mindless comments. One member even told me that there are some that expect us to run around 24/7 with a lancet in one hand and a meter in the other... that makes me laugh. Unfortunately the outcome of these messages is the feeling that we are bad, bad, bad mommies and this is so not true. I almost left the board entirely but just decided to lurk for a while. I think it really helps to have a close few who really get to know you and figure out how to give you advice in a supportive manner. I know that that has really helped me.

There are a lot of people who would give up their cat to a shelter instead of providing the special care that all of our sugarbabies need. That's how I got my sugarfoster. We have to do the best we can and I am sorry that there are people that don't realize that - and are brazen enough to pm you with ill-percieved deficiencies. That's too bad.

The big picture is all the care Scratchie does get from you - whether it falls into any protocol or not. It's a huge burden and we all accept that and do the best and I glad to get to know you and especially learn from you and Scratchie.
 
Jo, so sorry to hear that you had to deal with jerks. You can only do what you can do. You are giving your baby the best care you can and doing a damned fine job if he's still progressing after all this time. :thumbup Don't let them get you down.

There was a short time that I quit the board, too, for similar reasons. But I just blew them off. :-D Of course, I have no idea what goes on in pm, but haven't had those problems here, personally.

Don't ever feel bad for speaking your mind and don't let anyone intimidate you. We're glad you're here and hope to see you posting whenever you feel up to it and letting us know how scratchie is doing. :YMHUG:
 
Report them. To the moderators. Nastiness like that is uncalled for.

Of course you know Scratchie better than any of us do. :!: :!: :!: :!: Yes, we can make suggestions of what we think you should do, but then you think about those suggestions and decide if they make sense, based on your intimate knowledge of Scratchie.

Please, don't let those negative know nothings get you down.

Scratchie has a beautiful AMPS this morning. Go green Scratchie! It's the environmentally responsible thing to do. :mrgreen: ;-) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top