8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221 +6 50 +7 97 PMPS 316 +3 356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76969&p=832176#p832176

numbers:
AMPS 421.2
+2.5 154.8
+4.5 43.2
+6 64.8
+9 311.4
PMPS 495
+4 442.8

Well, humungous swan dive yesterday with the resulting bounce still in progress. so frustrating. Still, he earned a reduction...but now I"m wondering if I shouldn't have shot thru the bounce? so hard to know what to do with him. Or is this bounce not a bounce but him showing me again that 2.0 isn't enough. grrrrr.

Rupert super BEBT and very bossy this morning. He's looking great and seems completely unphased by his spectacular diving/bouncing routine.

Hope all is well for everyone. I'm off to work today, sigh, so much I could do if work didn't interfere with my day! we have just over a month till we leave for Sport Horse Nationals and I"m totally in 'we are not ready, or good enough' mode. My coach has cancelled on me for my last two lessons so I'm trying to work on things alone, it's going okay but feeling a little lost! Hopefully he'll feel well enough to come and yell at me sometime this week! Ro is working really well of course, Harvey has good days and bad, probably more induced by me trying too hard at this point. ohmygod_smile
We have one more show before Nationals, and that is at the end of this month, it's the Western Canadian Breeders Championships... it will be the first time I get to ride the second level test that I have to ride at Nationals, in competition....eek. talk about cutting it a little fine. Still, my fault, I decided, very last minute, to do the harder/higher level test instead of the easier one that I was shooting for the whole year (again ohmygod_smile ).. but with Ro suddenly qualifying in the easier test it seemed to make sense to move Harvey up and therefore be able to compete in three separate levels. I'm insane, getting too old for this!

Happy Monday (if there is such a thing!) everyone!
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPST 428

Oh, Rupert, what are you doing up there? Does Zener need to use Mannie's ropes to pull you down? Let's see a nice slow slide today.
Liz
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221

Hi guys, wow what a dive! I can imagine it is frustrating not knowing what to do exactly, with a kitty who loves his trampoline! I think you need to take a deep breath on all you have coming up .. things will work out, you guys are obviously great at what you do with your horses, you just have to relax and believe in yourselves! have a great day!
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221

Bouncing can occur with a new dose (be it increase or decrease), and/or a food amount change, too. It's perfectly normal. It'll take a day or 2 for Rupert to adjust to the new dose.

Good luck on the Nationals! I, too, have a horse, but she's much older, and isn't used for anything but light trail riding. She has a ring bone issue that I can't correct, but can keep her comfortable with pain killers (Previcox, which is much easier on their systems than bute would be). I haven't ridden her for quite some time, however my vet told me that it's ok to ride her, but not hard, and to make sure that she has painkillers before I do. I'll try when the temperature goes down from the triple digits to a more comfortable range. :lol:
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221 +6 50

Holy Cow Pip, does that really say 50? Rupie sure does like to swan dive. Well actually there are hours in there, so its not really a DIVE, just a some little short jumps into the lagoon. There.....how's that? :lol:
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221 +6 50 +7 97

sigh! so I fed a teaspoon of MC Fancy Feast at the +6 50 and within and hour he was up to 97...... guess it's the resulting bounce starting already. GRRRRRRRRRR. I so thought we were off this roller coaster, wonder why he's decided to be silly again. My thought is perhaps it means his pancreas really is trying again and even this 2.0 dose might be too much... sometimes... sometimes not. I'm going to stick with the 2.0 for a little longer since he hasn't been on it for long, and the 50 was right on the edge of a reduction... although no clue if he went lower before I got home! anyway....... still trying to figure this dance out. Hopefully we can find a 'good' dose for him before we go away again at the end of the month (another two day trip)... so that I can reduce it by .25 and know that he's safe.

one thing I am learning is not to panic! I used to freak at those lower numbers but now seem to have a pretty good handle on how HE reacts and what his thresholds seem to be. His liver seems to be VERY good at taking care of him so I'm not quite so stressed about him going too too low. Just wish he'd come down in a more sedate fashion. oh well. Guess every hour he spends in a green and blue is a good thing, I just hope that the corresponding time spend in pink and red don't undo the good!
 
Re: 8/18 Rupert AMPS 428 +2.5 221 +6 50 +7 97

Rupert sure knows how to drop down fast. I hope he doesn't go the other way just as fast! Nice to see those greens so soon after a dose reduction though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top