8/18 Racci 73,2.5-79,5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51,PMPS-129,+4.5-145

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77319
8/17 Racci AMPS-89,+3-79,+6.5-65,PMPS-163

Happy Saturday!

Racci is doing fine today. All p's in place, and taking a nap now. She started the day off with a nice low green so I will have to check her at +3 to make sure she doesn't go too low. Nothing exciting to report. It's just the same old same old. :lol: It's a beautiful sunny day though and I'm going to go out and try to enjoy some sun before it leaves and the rain starts again.

I can't believe it's mid-august already! I feel like summer is almost over and I missed it between Racci's lows, the rain, the extreme heat, etc all conspiring to keep me inside. :sad:

TTYL,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73

Nice green start for Racci! :mrgreen: This summer seems to be flying by. I retired at the end of June and time really flies without job to make it the days seem longer :lol: where did the summer go? One forecaster expects further extreme heat that will serve as extended summer. Enjoy the sunshine while it lasts!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73

Beautful greeeeeeen Racci!!! Hope you were able to soak up that summer sun Melanie! Summer does tend to fly by so enjoy it while you can!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73

I syringe the Miralax. I give 1/4 tsp mixed with 3 syringes of water bid

Hi Melanie, very nice AMPS for Racci! Keep surfing greens, Racci! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thanks for your post last evening on the Miralax. I wanted to ask about the three syringes. Do you just divide the dose periodically throughout the day? Maggie's Vet wants us to try just the Miralax now that the lactulose has done its job as a stool softener. Sounds like you're having a nice day. I used to live in Arlington, VA many moons ago, not sure if it close to you.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79

Hi all!

I just got bacck in from cutting down baby trees. I have tons of them since I live in the forest and every year I have to get rid of the ones I don't want before they grow too big. Please let me know if you want any and I can dig up the roots and mail them. They're all different decidous ones. I probably have another 1000 or so to go! :lol: The mosquitoes chased me in. It's too late in the day.

Rhiannon, Racci's been surfing the greens today. She's off schedule with her eating though so I'm off schedule with testing. :smile:

Leslie, I thought I would go nuts when I first retired. It was such a hard adjustment! But then again, mine was forced because I was hurt and couldn't work anymore. I love it now though. I sure hope we do get an extended summer!

Hey Tamara! I haven't spoken to you for a while! Good to 'see' you. :razz: Isn't that the truth? I think this is the fastest passing summer ever though! By the time I got outside the sun was in more than out so I got some work done outside anyway. Wouldn't you know it though? Now it's bright and sunny again!

Ann, With the Miralax, what I do is measure out 1/4 tsp and put it in a little med cup and use the syringe to pull 3 syringes of spring water & mix it with the powder in that cup then just take it out again with the same syringe to give it to her. I give all 3 at once if she'll let me. Usually I can give 2, give a treat, give the 3rd, and another treat. Then I give her test. I also do her methyl b12 & cosequin that way but with only 2 syringes of water each because she doesn't eat all her food and is very fussy so if she notices anything in it she won't eat and she won't take pills. She panics because of the asthma with pills. With the other meds I take turns. :smile: I give the miralax at night also the same way and the b12 in the morning and the cosequin at night.
Arlington is about an hour north of here I think. We're about 75 miles SW from the airport.

Well, I'm off to test Racci. BRB.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79

Hi Melanie,

Sorry I missed you the other night, but thanks for visiting. I was pretty panicked over the higher BGs after the Adequan.

Nice numbers for Racci! Hope she surfs for you all day.

I can't believe it's mid-august already! I feel like summer is almost over and I missed it between Racci's lows, the rain, the extreme heat, etc all conspiring to keep me inside.
I so agree!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79

Love seeing Racci with green! Looking Mah-va-lous.......

No more trees here . thank you very much. They just catch on fire. (2000, and 2011)
I have to go out and cut on the gambel oaks every year like that, all those little shooters that sprout.

I just got back from the store to get a bug zapper. We get a few flies in August here but for the most part , we have no bugs.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32

That was the thing I liked the most about living on the west coast - very few bugs. :-D It's nice and dry there except for the fog. Don't know if you have that in NM.

I can't believe Racci just got a 32! It's not even +6 yet! That's why I said even though I know Racci well, you never can tell & I would rather do increases in the day. This is after a decrease tho!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32

Hi Barb,

I missed your post. You must have posted while I was typing. I'm so slow. It's good to hear from you. I miss you. :smile: I had hoped Racci would surf today too but was afraid with such a low start that she would go too low and she did. I'm glad I didn't wait till +6 to test like I thought of doing! Has Daphne's numbers come down yet? I hope so.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43

I know! This is crazy, Sienne. She just had a decrease too!

She's been eating off schedule and weirdly today though and was real low at amps.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43

Hi Melanie, wow with the 32! Racci and Gabby today!! :shock: :mrgreen:

Thanks for explaining how you dose syringe the Miralax. Tell Racci to share some of those greens with Mags!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Shai's kitty too! Racci would love to share them with Maggie. :-D Come visit Maggie!

No problem on the Miralax. I hope it helps. Are you thinking of doing it that way?
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Busy day for you Melanie with Racci and her early 32 and all that tree work. I don't envy you pulling the trees, but it must be nice to have them as a forest behind you. OK Racci, time to come up a little and surf some nice safe numbers.
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Hi Melanie - Racci is quite an inspiration for Reuben :-D And, too bad we live out of the country, otherwise we`d take lots of your little trees!!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Hey Racci this is Fitzel.
We really caught our Beans by surprise with our 32's at +5. I see you're having a leisurely stroll through the greens. I sure wish I had your style. I'm kinda up then down making my Bean dizzy.

Keep those nice greens coming!
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Wendy, it has been quite a day. I'm feeling all the bending now! I've learned from experience with these trees though that unless I get them immediately, trying to get the roots out is too much work and kills my shoulders, unless of course I want to save them. I just take my long handle super sharp clippers and do it that way now. It's still a lot of bending and work. I have all these vines that climb the trees and strangle them that have to be cut too! cat(2)_steam I was doing that at the same time. The fall is crazy too with enough leaves to drown a house, but it is beautiful to have a forest around me and behind me with a creek right on my property. All my songbirds bring their babies to me to feed also and that's really cool, getting to see the baby songbirds.

Alexa, Reuben will get there too. It took Racci a long time to get to where she is now.. She started out on Pzi insulin and was up to 5u at one time and still not regulated! She's come down in dose and in bg's by switching insulin, switching food, switching technique little by little. It's been a long battle. You'll get there a lot faster than we did because you have several advantages. You're starting with the right insulin, food, protocol and dose! Thank you.

Fitzel, isn't that funny that we both did the same thing at the same time of day for us? You're way ahead of me doing that already and still a newbie! I'm a pretty good diver though. ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Busy day! And what a nice green cycle for Racci. But 32, really? Yay for the reducie. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51

Hey Racci- Fitzel again. Decrease city!!!! I think I'll celebrate mine by having my Bean get me a new toy. I'm stuck in the house all day and toys get old really fast. Especially when one of my sIblings starts playing with one of MY toys. Yuck!!!! Definitely need new ones then.

Hope you have your Bean trained to give you something special to celebrate!!!

Fitzel
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51,PMPS-1

Hi Fitzel,

I'm really fussy about toys now that I got older. They have to be special so I told mom to only buy them when she sees special ones. I have a big basket full of toys but I only play with my nanner and my turbo scratcher and my cat dancer. The others are fun to sleep on too or have mom play with me with but not special. She buys them whenever she finds one I'd like. :razz:

Ask for a nanner. They have the best catnip in them and they're great for sleeping on! I like to lick mine but Gracie bites hers and Mannie has bunches of them. All the cats have them!

Your friend, Racci
 
Re: 8/18 Racci AMPS-73, +2.5-79,+5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51,PMPS-1

Hi, Melanie,

You helped me when I first came here, and I thought I should check in. Wow, a 32!

I have mixed feelings about Max hanging out in the higher Greens. I'm getting some much needed rest, but hoping he'll get to the Falls evenutally.

Sounds like you live in a beautiful place. I lived in Arlington when I until I was 2 and went back every so often. My mother grew up there. The forests in Virginia are so beautiful. I went to school in Lexington and would hike House Mountain. I also spent a Summer in Portsmouth and a Summer in Falls Church. I miss the lightening bugs. We don't have them in Calif., at least not where I live now and not in they bay area either.

Good luck with Racci. Gotta go.

Bye
 
Re: 8/18 Racci 73,2.5-79,5-32,+5.75-43,6.2-51,PMPS-129,+4.5-

Hi Dale,

Sorry, I missed your other message! I remember talking to you way back. :smile: I'm so glad everything is going so well.
I think Max has a really good chance of going into remission. He's doing great. He's running perfect numbers - above 50, below 120 for the most part. I would be very happy with that. You really don't have to lose sleep if he is surfing like he has been in the 70's-80's and he's safe. When he's ready he'll start going lower and you'll be able to lower the dose more. The only thing you could really do to rush him would be to lower carbs if possible.

I just moved back here from the bay area of CA after 13 yrs there. I did'nt grow up here but lived here for about 15 yrs before CA and a long time in So FL before that. I grew up in NY. :lol: I've moved around quite a bit. It is a beautiful place here but the real reason I moved back here is to be near my kids and youngest grandchild. I hate winter. So. Florida is really where I consider home and where most of my family lives. As beautiful as it is here it's really too much work for me. Between the leaves and trees & large property & lushness, every season brings a ton of yardwork that I'm not able to do anymore. But I do love the forest & it's creatures and living in a place that's nice and quiet and pretty empty of people.

32 is really not where I want Racci to be!! Every time she doesn't eat well she goes too low. At her age and weight and being such a long term diabetic, I really don't expect her to go off the juice but am concerned with keeping her in normal numbers to not do damage to her organs. I would love to be able to keep lowering her dose also.

Well have to start today's condo. TTYL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top