8/18 Paisley AMPS~285, +3~240 PMPS~406

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bit worried about PMPS. Could have feeding her plain turkey cause this? Wasn't home to monitor BS. I was getting poked.
DH gave her canned Wellness just before 4pm. He didn't add water and, since she was so hungry, neither did I. She's been drinking, which is new.

Just found out turkey could possibly have had some salt, but not a lot.
 
the plain turkey wouldn't have done it. plain meat doesn't have hardly any carbs. it's a good treat, especially after those pokeys.

the short answer is i don't know, but i'm not an expert. someone else may have an idea.

one possibility is that if paisley got lower than usual last night, she could be bouncing. when they go lower than whatever their body perceives is their "normal," the liver releases counter-regulatory hormones and a stored form of glucose. the lower number is perceived as a potential hypo, even if it's just 200 after they've gotten accustomed to 300's. so the mechanism is designed to save the kitty from that potential hypo. we see that a lot, and for some cats it settles down gradually and they bounce less as they become regulated.

the cure for a bounce is time. it takes up to 72 hours for them to clear, and you hold the dose in the meantime. then you'll gradually see the numbers come to a lower range, even on the same dose.

the patterns will become easier to "read" as you get more tests on paisley and the spreadsheet fills in. i pointed to last night only because you don't have any tests then to tell us otherwise. often cats seem to go lower at night, for some unknown reason. if you're not seeing any new symptoms, just wait this out. kinda make a mental note to look back over the spreadsheet in 2-3 days and see what patterns you see.
 
Hi Lylene:

Not sure if I've welcomed you to LL.....sleep deprivation makes me forgetful :lol: :lol: :lol: So welcome to you and Paisley and Barry!!

So yesterday Paisley had a blue number so she could be possibly bouncing today. When the liver perceives numbers lower than it is used to, it releases counterregulatory hormones which causes the blood glucose to rise. It can take up to 72 hours (six cycles) for it to clear. So hang on tight.

And if you feed her something higher carb than she normally gets, it can also cause numbers to go up some. WN has foods with a wide range of %calories from carbs.
 
Thanks for that info. Hadn't thought about a bounce. I was just so happy to get something lower. I'm getting concerned that her BS isn't decreasing. Guess I need to take a step back and a deep breath. She hasn't even been here a month. She's been on Lantus and FF a bit longer, with the shelter.

Here she's having to adjust to a new environment, 5 other cat (one she loves to chase), two big dogs. Then there are the chickens & chicks, ducks, geese and a turkey to sit in the window watch and listen to if she's bored. A whole new world. She's ok with the 125# GSD. He's sniffed her and that is the end of his interest in her. The other is a 60# Husky mix who likes to bark at her, especially when she hisses at him. His job had been to pre-wash the cat dishes after the cats eat. With Paisley in there now and all that changed, barking at her gives him something to do. This is the same dog who figured out what litter boxes were for and tried to use them. Good idea except that I use high side boxes. Now that he's old, he just stands by them and pees when he can't get outside in time. Glad we had already pulled the carpet and put some cheap remnant linoleum down.

The Wellness varieties we use are Chicken, Turkey, and Beef & Chicken. All are low carb, unless I read the chart wrong. I'll check the beef & chicken again. The occasional Fancy Feast are the low carb classics. Usually they all get raw except my CRF cat who doesn't want to give up canned. Still trying there.

Thank again everyone.
 
Everything you mentioned could be contributing to the high number. Any chance of some stolen contraband food?

I'd also like to encourage you to get at least a before bed test every night. It may have given you a better clue as to whether the PMPS is a bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top