8/18 Oscar amps~178 pmps~83 + 13.5~68 Advice!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22136&p=220677

Oscar is trying to stay in the blues for me lately... looks like this 4.25u dose is getting us somewhere finally. Tonight at shot time he went down to 83. I waited 15 min to see if he was rising or falling, and he had dropped to 71 ... ok we need to wait to shoot. 15 min later 62 - ok time for food to see where this gets us. 15 min after food - 69. 20 min later 70. Another 20 min later 68. What the heck?!? Last time he was in a green for a preshot (high green) I fed and shot and he jumped 100 points. Right now we are an hour and a half after normal shot time and a little over an hour after food. I am not comfortable with shooting the full dose on this obviously - we don't have the data for it or even anything close. Based on the fact that he is surfing mid greens even after getting 2-3oz of food into him, should I give a BCS or skip? I can alter shot time tomorrow if need be, but I can really only wait another hour to be able to do that (give shot no later than 8:30pm).
 
First, what is your schedule tomorrow morning, if you shoot late tonight? What is the latest you can shoot in the morning? And are you able to monitor tonight?
 
I can alter shot time tomorrow if need be, but I can really only wait another hour to be able to do that (give shot no later than 8:30pm).

Monitoring tonight is no problem.
 
+ 14.25 is 70. Usually right around now I put down a can of food for everyone. Yoda got his shot at regular time (6pm)
 
We like when doses are getting somewhere... somewhere green is good too!!!

Normally, we say to hold the food 2 hours before shot time and until you shoot (unless cat is like 40s). The 68 and 70 you are seeing now has food in it, as I understand, correct?
 
I thought I posted this before, I wonder if I posted it in someone else's condo? :lol: I hope not.

My general rule is that something needs to be shot by +14. He has been surfing for an hour and a half, so really you can shoot full dose (he's not going down, and he still has probably 2 hours to rise before the insulin kicks in. If you're not comfortable shooting full dose, then I would at least put something into the shed. It's up to you. :smile:
 
And remember that if you have HC (and LC), you can always manipulate the BG if you need to. You are in control of the numbers....
 
OK nailbite_smile

The +12 number was without food for 4 hours. I had to feed Yoda to give him his shot, so Oscar got some too. I'll feed again and shoot. Testing every hour for a while should be ok, right?
 
Definitely get a +1. If numbers are surfing or rising then get a +2. If numbers have dropped more than 10%, I'd get a +1.5. I would decide on how frequently to test based on what the numbers are telling you.
 
+2.5 is 53. I'll feed a lil bit of MC food to see if that will bump him up a little bit. He tends to be a little carb sensitive. Do I keep testing every 30 min?
 
I would probably get a +3, and see what that number is. Maybe then you can go back to hourly testing. When Oscar's onset comes, sometimes it comes hard.
 
+ 3 is 69, 20 min after a teaspoon of MC food. I think it is safe to wait an hour for the next test. At what point do I deem Oscar safe for the evening? At +5 or +6?
 
I usually wait for a couple of rising numbers. Probably +5 if he's still up, or even +4 if he's starting to bounce.

Great job, yay Oscar!
 
+4 is 99. MC food has started to really hit. Hopefully we won't see too high of a bounce tomorrow. I'll wait around for a +5 just to make sure he is staying at this level and not going back down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top