8/18 Grady AMPS 142, +7 76 - Dose Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

sirswithin

Member Since 2013
After doing a complete 12 hour curve yesterday, I'm noticing Grady's numbers staying down. They were pretty constant throughout the day and now they're in the blue and green zone. Should I be looking at reducing his insulin dosage from 1 unit to .75? Or should I continue on for more cycles? Work days mean no one will be home to monitor him should his BG levels bottom out.
 
Re: 8/18 Grady AMPS 142, +7 76

That's a tough call on the dose and, unfortunately, I'm not the one to make it. We'll bump you up on the list again. You may want to edit your header to include something like "dose advice??" and then use the lil question mark icon at the top so you'll get more eyes. Hopefully an advisor will see you soon. Great numbers today, Grady! :mrgreen:
 
The TR protocol calls for a .25U reduction when the cat goes below 50. Technically that 50 isn't enough for a reduction, but if it was my cat and I was going to be away 12 hours in between shots during the day, I'd lower the dose to .75U. Are you gone the entire 12 hours? Just wondering if it's possible to get any tests even going out the door or getting back home. Even a +1 test might tell you something about how the cycle is going, although a +2 is better.

If you suspect Grady might be going low during the day, you should leave food out for him to snack on. If you think it'll be an active cycle (for example, if a +1/+2 was lower than PS), then I'd leave medium carb food out. If Grady isn't a grazer (mine is a hoover) people here either use an autofeeder for a meal at nadir or freeze portions of food so it'll thaw out and provide food later.

BTW: doing a curve after a fur shot isn't as useful as one when the insulin got in. And a test every 2 hours is sufficient. We don't often do curves here, but instead do random tests throughout the cycle to fill in the holes of the spreadsheet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top