? 8/18 Fistuk AMPS 101, +6.25 47, +6.75 49, +7 61, +7.5 92 PMPS 67, +2 92::DOSE?

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-17-fistuk-amps-95-4-5-94-pmps-83.293218/#post-3200917

Happy weekend

I decided to test less today and focus on catching nadirs.

I wasn't ready for Fistuk's surprise party!! He hasn't organised one for a long time. I do appreciate him doing that during the day though I suspected that on the PM cycle of 8/16 he might have had a dive.

I know that long term FD reduction point is 40.- but I must say I'm not feeling happy about it. It feels too low to me. I do not want him to get to these numbers. What's the reason for the lower reduction point ?
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie

He just had a reduction to 2.25U. This morning was the 5th cycle.

Gave a tsp of food and I'll take another test @+6.5.

Regardless of the reduction point, assuming he wasn't yet long term D- would you advice on another reduction?


The weather has cooled down a lot since yesterday and it's been raining all day.

I hope you're all keeping well and safe on this Sunday:bighug:
 
Last edited:
+6.75 49. Fistuk is picking up slowly.
Normally his food is enough to lift him. If he doesn't cross the border to greens in the next test I'll give slightly higher carb
 
I think that lime may have been influenced by the higher depot.
Others may disagree with me and the following is my personal opinion dealing with a Long Term Diabetic. There have been rare occasions where I've decreased because I couldn't monitor but as a general rule, I follow the TR protocol. I personally look at decreases in conjunction with my ability to monitor.
 
I would not decrease. I think you are still seeing depot action.

The reason the reduction point is lower for long terms is because it’s harder to get to remission. It depends on what your goal is I think. You could use 3 times in the 40’s on 3 separate days as your reduction point as that’s a method used for cats that don’t hold reductions.
 
Last edited:
I think that lime may have been influenced by the higher depot.
Others may disagree with me and the following is my personal opinion dealing with a Long Term Diabetic. There have been rare occasions where I've decreased because I couldn't monitor but as a general rule, I follow the TR protocol. I personally look at decreases in conjunction with my ability to monitor.

It's very unusual for Fistuk to still work on depot on 5th cycle and go low on that. With a PMPS in the 60's I'm feeling uncomfortable to give him 2.25U.
I have a difficult week of work I'm not sure I'll be able to survive it if I need to chase lime numbers.


The reason the reduction point is lower for long terms is because it’s harder to get to remission.
Sorry but I still couldn't make the connection. Is a lower reduction point helps in getting to remission for long term D?
 
It's very unusual for Fistuk to still work on depot on 5th cycle and go low on that. With a PMPS in the 60's I'm feeling uncomfortable to give him 2.25U.
I have a difficult week of work I'm not sure I'll be able to survive it if I need to chase lime numbers.



Sorry but I still couldn't make the connection. Is a lower reduction point helps in getting to remission for long term D?

Yes.
 
I wouldn't reduce. He didn't even earn the reduction from 2.5 units. You might want to consider that suggestion of Elise's to follow the 3 times between 40 and 49 on three separate days that is used for cats that don't hold reductions well. That seems to be the case with Fistuk. For those cats, you would still reduce if they go under 40.
There have been rare occasions where I've decreased because I couldn't monitor but as a general rule, I follow the TR protocol.
Agreed. Reduce temporarily if you cannot monitor, but that is an exception not the rule.
 
Not holding a reduction well means that they go down in dose and stay in good numbers and don't need to be increased back up. He's been dancing around the 2.0, 2.25, and 2.5 units doses up and down since March 3rd, when your spreadsheet says you were starting the three drops guideline for reductions. But on 5/25 you took a reduction for a single drop below 50. Other than the reduction a few days ago, he's only been reduced for holidays, not because he earned it. And you've had to increase back up afterwards.
 
SO much to consider. Sending you hugs and hoping Fistuk appreciates all the stress you put into loving him. Jack does the same thing with increase/decrease and our schedules don't help sometimes. It's maddening....sending you much love and many hugs. :bighug:
 
Back
Top