8/18 Fiona AMPS 105, +2 90, +4 88, +5 103, +8 135, PMPS 153, +2 97

JuliaandFiona

Member Since 2023
I would go up to 0.75U from tomorrow. It's been 5 days on this dose and nadirs are still at the higher end and too much blue.
 
Is there an image of this dose on a syringe somewhere I can look at? It’s between .5 and 1 unit correct? I never did that dose so I want to make sure I’m getting it right.

Also, is it normal to see higher blues with more insulin? I’m so confused at why I’m seeing higher blues with a higher dose.

I have another question.. feeding schedule. So I notice she goes up after eating. Is there a specific feeding schedule I should be following? Should I still be doing +2, +8/9 snacks? I’ve been doing breakfast before insulin, lunch midday, dinner befire insulin, plus the snacks.

Thank you
 
Is there an image of this dose on a syringe somewhere I can look at? It’s between .5 and 1 unit correct? I never did that dose so I want to make sure I’m getting it right.
Yes, you would measure half way between 0.5 and 1U to get 0.75U. This is the image for measuring 0.25 dose (a dose between a full and a half unit).
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



Also, is it normal to see higher blues with more insulin? I’m so confused at why I’m seeing higher blues with a higher dose.
She is just stuck in a range and needs more insulin to break out of it. It's not uncommon at all.


I have another question.. feeding schedule. So I notice she goes up after eating. Is there a specific feeding schedule I should be following? Should I still be doing +2, +8/9 snacks? I’ve been doing breakfast before insulin, lunch midday, dinner befire insulin, plus the snacks.
We suggest snacks at +8/+9 only for cats on low doses of insulin - say 0.25U and below. At higher doses, you want to feed only in the first half of the cycle - before the nadir - when the insulin action is strongest. Feeding after the nadir can reduce insulin duration and cause higher preshots. For cats that cannot go without food so long, we suggest a small snack of the lowest carb% in the second half of the cycle. I think you want to continue with the +2 snack - that will help flatten her curve and prevent any sharp drops. You could also give her another snack at +4. Will she be okay with food after that? 8 hours?
 
What about lunch? So I should only do 2 meals? She will never eat all her food in 2 meals. Should I bump up lunch then before +6?
 
What about lunch? So I should only do 2 meals? She will never eat all her food in 2 meals. Should I bump up lunch then before +6?
When in the cycle does she get food/snacks now? With the shot, then +2, lunch is when in the cycle? What about food in the PM cycle?

ETA: Are those the food timings noted in your SS? Try not feeding after +6 in both cycles for starters.
 
And lunch is at +5 / +6 usually. That will explain the bump in numbers then. It’s the food.
Ok, so no food after +6. At night time I was only doing the snacks at +2 and +8/9. Sometimes a snack at +3.
 
Yes it’s in my SS. I was told originally to do many small meals throughout the day. I’m guessing I shouldn’t.
Yes, that was when she was on a very low dose of insulin. For such cats, the pancreas is functioning to a good extent and food triggers insulin production by the pancreas which in turn brings the blood sugar down.

And lunch is at +5 / +6 usually. That will explain the bump in numbers then. It’s the food.
Ok, so no food after +6. At night time I was only doing the snacks at +2 and +8/9. Sometimes a snack at +3.
You could do food at PS and +2 in both cycles and snacks at +4 and/or +5/+6 - whatever works for you and her.
 
Back
Top