8/18 Eddie AMPS 365, +9.5/94, PMPS 116, +5/86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/336, +2/321, +4/262, +6/275, +8/281, +10/285, PMPS (+11)/265, +1/271, +2/198, +3/184, +4/134, +5/126, +6/133, +7/151
Today: AMPS/365, +2/329, +5/183, +6.5/141, +7.5/126, +8/120, +9.5/94, +10/103, +11/107, PMPS/116, +1/220, +2/182, +3/147, +4/128, +5/86, +5.5/96

Hi LL,

Our thoughts and prayers with Lyresa and her family today. May KT land softly at the Bridge.

DH and I took the afternoon off today, so we kind of had an extended weekend, which was nice. Eddie decided to take the opportunity to have a long bounce clearing slide today, with his nadir around +9.5. I love these long bounce clearing slides with a late nadir, as they allow us to shoot low. Sometimes, it will allow us to keep the next cycle from heading into a bounce. With any luck it appears that Eddie might actually have a good cycle tonight. His +1 was over 100 points higher than his pre-shot, but then again, he vomited his first supper (scarf & barf), so maybe there was a little stress from an upset tummy influencing the +1, but at +2, he appears to be turning it around.

Eddie's on cycle 16 of 2.0u after earning a reduction from 2.25u by dropping below 50 three times. So far, he seems to trending a bit higher with his nadirs, so I think there might technically be room to move him up in dose to bring the nadirs down. However, he is bounce clearing in a cycle or less recently, and actually seems to maybe be flattening out a bit at this dose (super anti-jinx), even if it means nadirs in the 90s. So, is it better to see him flatten out in mostly blue with higher nadirs and less bouncing, or aim for the lower nadirs, which will probably exacerbate the bouncing? I'm leaning towards continuing to hold this dose for now to give him more time to settle in, but I'd love some input if I'm missing something. Also, is there a point at which you switch from evaluating for a "failed reduction" (i.e., an upward trend), back to evaluating for "increasing the dose?" Or I suppose under both parts of the protocol, a cat will probably qualify for a increase.

Have a good night everyone!
 
Re: 8/18 Eddie AMPS 365, +9.5/94, PMPS 116, +4/128

Hi Jen and Eddie!
I don't have any advice of course, but that is an interesting question and I'm curious to hear what the wise ones say. Billie also had one of those nice bounce breaking slides today. I'm a big fan of those too. Eddie looks good so far!
 
Hi Jen, sorry I didn't get to you earlier. I was falling asleep on the sofa. :oops: You want to try to maximize Eddie's time in normal numbers. Normal being below 120. Surfing at 60 is no better than surfing at 90. You have to try to figure out which strategy achieves the maximum time in normal numbers. With Neko, I've found that a dose that gets nadirs in the 70's minimizes her bouncing. I also try to reduce the amount of time above renal threshold.

I don't look at evaluating a failed reduction any differently than increasing the dose. I ask "are we getting the nadirs and numbers we want"? After a reduction you give enough time for the bounce to resolve before asking that question. When increasing you wait for any NDW to resolve and the depot to fill and then decide whether the dose is doing what you want. If not, up you go.
 
If you can figure out out to keep Eddie under 120 without bouncing I will follow your lead. Our guys don't seem to like to surf the 70's -90's but it sure would be nice, wouldn't it? Have a nice night and a great day tomorrow, Jen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top