8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102, PMPS 289, +3.5 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Champ's condo from 8/16

I missed getting a condo up for Champ yesterday because I was so busy with work so I was determined to get it up early today while I had a minute. Today is going to be crazy, too!!! I have to make sure to keep on schedule so I have the weekend off for my bday!!

Champ is definitely a different cat while on insulin than when he is off. For the three days he was off the juice, he was right back to being his old self...cat napping during the day, but wandering around the house, socializing, just being very alert and watching the goings-on of the household and window-watching. While on insulin, even when he is consistently green, he sleeps a lot more and is more subdued. He tends to find a quiet spot in a closet or under something to sleep and does this for the majority of his day. Another reason I need to get my duders off the juice...I want him to get his mojo back!!

Champ has been very good about belonging to the CPC for just about every meal. Yesterday, during his AM cycle, he was more interested in sleeping than eating and slept through all his meal times except one!! He made sure not to miss any meals during his PM cycle, though.

I was getting ready to finally order some Cosequin for Champ. I know some of you (Bev for sure) who have their kitties on Dasuquin instead. So....what are the pro's and con's of each? Have any of you found that one works better for their kitty than the other? Also, how long does it take for either one of them to start showing a noticeable improvement? Give me your feedback!!!

Have a great day, everyone!! Because of my schedule, I'll be in and out, ninja style, today and hope to hit up some condos a bit at a time!!!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167

Glad Champ is eating so well!!

That is kind of sad about his behavior on juice vs off juice. Hopefully he will get there soon.

2 days til your birthday!!! Woo Hoo!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167

Julie - yeah, Champ has arthritis so I'm trying to find something that will be effective because he's having a harder and harder time getting up from a lying down position, and he sits funny. He needs to get more exercise, but he's not going to if it hurts!!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167

Hi guys .. Nice blue for champ this morning .. I hope you stay on schedule so you get your weekend off and since I am sure I won't be around a happy birthday from us to you! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

I'm thinking if Champ doesn't get back to his pre-sickness consistent greens by Sunday morning, I'll go ahead and increase his dose. I'd do it sooner, but I want to give his shed a chance to refill and also, I don't want to have to worry about having to HC his numbers up over the weekend when I'm trying to celebrate a birthday!!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Well he looks like he's almost there. Very nice +5.

drinking24 Here's to getting all that work done and havnig a smashing Birthday!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Thanks Ann!! BTW...I was just looking through Michelle and Mannie's condo and saw your post. You crack me up!!! Mainly because that has happened to me sooo many times. I get distracted and then realize i never hit the post button. Then I realize that 20 million posts have now gone before mine and everything I said sounds like I was copying everyone else!!! Sometimes I think I just need some ADHD drugs!!!
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Very nice numbers for Mr. Champers today! I bet he comes down on his own without a dosecrease. He's had a nice blue surf going on there. Good luck with the arthitis meds.
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Hi Patty....not a bad cycle for Champ...interesting about the difference in personality on the juice vs off the juice. I see differences in personality with Zoe, depending on her numbers.....high numbers = quiet kitty.

I have used Dasuquin with Zoe for 2 years....she did very well on it and I saw tremendous improvement in her jumping ability and movement in general. I have had to take her off of it because of a probable fish allergy and the Dasuquin has natural tuna flavorings. I have half of a bottle (possibly 3/4) that I can no longer give her....pm me if you would like to try it with Champs.
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Hi Patty. Gus was originally on Dasuquin prior to his FD dx in March. I stopped giving it at that point and just restarted on August 12. The difference is very noticeable. Dasuquin is a natural supplement given to enhance joint and cartilage health. It's base is avocado/soybean and it has chicken and tuna flavorings. It comes in a capsule and you just sprinkle it on the wet food. The majority of cats enjoy the taste and it's no problem. The dosing is by weight and is printed on the bottle. Gus weighs 15lbs. and gets 1 capsule at AM feeding and 1 at PM. It took me about 4 or 5 days to see a change with improvement daily usually peaking at about 4-5 weeks. His numbers went up a blip or two, but I adjust his Lantus dose by adding .5U and he's fine (so far). The increase in numbers, I've been told, is normal. Sienne says that the Lantus is adjusted around the Dasuquin. I see the happy kitty I once had and his movements are much more fluid and strong. I'm a fan.
 
Re: 8/18 Champ AMPS 167, +2 153, +5 102

Thanks for the info Bev. I'm definitely going to give it a try. I hate watching Champ try to lie down....he kinda just plops over on his side!! And then when he gets up, it's just sad!! He walks so slow and he hangs his head down. I'm also going to get him an elevated feeding station this weekend too. Yay for getting paid!!!
 
Champ.....yellow is not your color!!!! Come back down!

I hope you can get the supplement soon, Patty, and try him on it.
 
Patty! Happy Birthday!!!

4e0c2593.jpg


I'm going out of town and wanted to wish you a wonderful weekend before I go!

Champ, give the bean some beautiful green numbers for her present!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top