8/18 Butters AMPS 85/+1 79/+2 85/+3 95/+4 52/+4.5 104/+5 130/+6 124/+7 148/+9 198/PMPS 214/+2 277/

Butters & Lyla

Very Active Member
Yesterday
I'm supposed to increase Butters dose this morning to 1.25u. With the 85, does that mean I no longer increase?

ETA: I got a +7 last night and she was at 212. She'd been stuck in higher numbers for over a week. I didn't think she'd keep sliding down suddenly. I'm re-reading the TR protocol right now.
 
In my inerpretation, we would still increase, is that right? THis could just be the "dip" in BG at the end of a cycle that is mentioned. Or even if it is an under 200 nadir, it is the only one in my last six cycles, so should still increase, right?
I'm just a bit alarmed with this green number staring me in the face right now.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) or @Sue and Luci are either of you around yet? Thanks.

ETA: but according to what the TR protocol says, the 85 is a pre-shot number not a nadir.
 
Last edited:
I'm not 100% sure about increasing per TR, but it does say when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing. Sometimes nadir can be at PS time. You may want to wait and see what Butters does today before increasing.
 
I'm not 100% sure about increasing per TR, but it does say when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing. Sometimes nadir can be at PS time. You may want to wait and see what Butters does today before increasing.

This little situation fits with so perfectly with Butters' personality. 20 cycles in a row without anything under 100. Then finally, the gift of an 85 but it is on increase day at 5am and nobody is around. Talk about a gift with strings being attached.

I was drawing up her dose when I saw your message. Thanks so much Carla for reading the TR protocol, too. I know you and Furball do SLGS.

I held her dose at 1u as the safer course of action for this cycle.

Though I'd still really like to know if going up to 1.25u would've been permissible and/or recommended.
 
Carla is correct. When you first start seeing BGs under 100, you hold the doses for at least 10 cycles.
The depot has filled with the increase to 1 unit (6 cycles) and you are now seeing the result of the full depot of 1 unit.
So continue with 1 unit
Thanks for responding.

Then what I have learned is that Butters' depot takes longer to fill. She needs the full six cycles.
I will get a +1 and +2. I have to keep telling myself we shot late, so another 25 minutes to go til +1.

I stalled 45 minutes this morning. It would be okay for me to shoot 15 minutes earlier tonight, correct?
 
79 @ +1. She received 40gr/1.33oz of LC for her breakfast with her shot. So I don't think I need to feed more right now....?
 
Would she eat another bite of LC? I'd sure get another test in an hour...and if she's still dropping, maybe add a bite of MC to her dish...

It would be good to keep her surfing...I don't know how well she responds to food, but when Luci does this sort of thing, I set a timer, test, test and test some more...if she appears to be dropping too rapidly I get out some MC and place a teaspoon on top of a dab of LC...otherwise Luci has a tendency to go shark chasing (under 50)...
 
Would she eat another bite of LC? I'd sure get another test in an hour...and if she's still dropping, maybe add a bite of MC to her dish...

It would be good to keep her surfing...I don't know how well she responds to food, but when Luci does this sort of thing, I set a timer, test, test and test some more...if she appears to be dropping too rapidly I get out some MC and place a teaspoon on top of a dab of LC...otherwise Luci has a tendency to go shark chasing (under 50)...
I don't think we've had enough green daytime numbers yet to know how Butters responds to food.
She's pretty good about eating. I can give her a tsp of LC now and wait for +2.

ETA: At +2 she always gets a 2 tsp LC snack in her autofeeder. I can adjust that depending on BG #.
 
You've had some nice runs in the lagoon in July - how did you handle those? Does she respond easily to carbs?

There was a good run July 30th just after we started posting daily here. Prior to that, I had been too shy to post and was just trying to figure it out on my own. I didn't know what I was doing.

On July 30 She dropped lower than today@ +1 than today so I gave 1 tsp MC.

That day I fed: 1 tsp MC @+1; 1 tsp LC @+2; 1.5 tbsp LC @+5 (I had to go out). Her bg #s were 63 @+1, 70 @+2, 94 @+3, 99 @+4.
 
Big drop from +3 to +4. You know what to do. Try to hold onto this dose. She's just breaking through glucose toxicity(I think). If she's intent to earn a reduction, she'll do it with food on board. Just my thoughts
Thanks for checking my spreadsheet :bighug:. I'm tryin' to get through this meeting and test Butters and feed her. I will test again at 1030. I fed 2 tsp LC and 1/8 tsp syrup at the +4.
 
It's just marvelous to see Butters wearing such nice BG numbers:D:cool:

This is a good example of how it can take up to 6 cycles for a kitty to do something!

With no apparent food bumps . . . the insulin is covering those LC snacks very well. I know it's uncomfortable when first seeing all these greens; you might think, give me a break - go blue! But staying green is ideal. Keep in mind a cat taking no insulin typically runs from the mid forties (yes, or even low 40s) to the seventies. (But we don't want a cat on insulin under 50.)

Happy happy to see these numbers!! And I saw you can relax a bit with Butters back over 100.

ETA: I saw a difference in Tina's BG when I fed her 2% vs 4% LC food.
 
No...not your bad.:) It's called life dear. It really gets in the way sometimes;)
It really does get in the way, doesn't it.

The 2 tsp LC & 1/8 tsp syrup @ +4 sent her zooming up pretty good, to 104 @+4.5. I didn't feed again: 130 @+5, and 124 @+6. So I was barely just able to hold onto the current dose. I think luck played a role here in avoiding the reduction.

If I had it to do over, I think I still would've overdone it with the food and syrup because I am still feeling that night where I had fed her 3 tbsps of HC gravy and some syrup, and she would not come up. So maybe the difference is: that night she really wanted the reduction in spite of all the carbs, vs today she wanted to surf? I'm still learning how she reacts to carbs but it seems she reacts differently on different days.

Still going to keep my eye on her and will do a +7. I apologize in advance to her poor ears and will treat them to some polysporin ointment later. :)
 
It's just marvelous to see Butters wearing such nice BG numbers:D:cool:

This is a good example of how it can take up to 6 cycles for a kitty to do something!

With no apparent food bumps . . . the insulin is covering those LC snacks very well. I know it's uncomfortable when first seeing all these greens; you might think, give me a break - go blue! But staying green is ideal. Keep in mind a cat taking no insulin typically runs from the mid forties (yes, or even low 40s) to the seventies. (But we don't want a cat on insulin under 50.)

Happy happy to see these numbers!! And I saw you can relax a bit with Butters back over 100.

ETA: I saw a difference in Tina's BG when I fed her 2% vs 4% LC food.

Thanks Jan! I'm trying to relax. I don't relax easily. :D The greens are very uncomfortable for me still! But I want what's best for her, so wanna keep her in the greens and not interfere too much. I'm struggling to find the balance between interfering too much with food (sending her into blues, like today) vs not interfering enough.

So interesting how carb sensitive Tina's BG is. I will hopefully learn that about butters in time. Right now she only gets one of two flavours of LC. I don't have different percentages of LC food.
 
I’m very sorry I missed the tagged yesterday. I had to get not one but two crowns before my husband retires and I lose the better dental insurance so ....yeah, I wasn’t on the board :rolleyes:

I’m glad Butters answered the question for you! Again, some cats are just slow responders although you are only on cycle 7 since increasing so that’s not that slow. Let’s see how she does, though, because sometimes you get a run of lovely greens and then pfizzzzllleee. Not trying to be pessimistic and I hope this will have her alot more on track.

Thanks @Briere Fur Mom for the tag yesterday and for helping out! Greatly appreciated. :bighug:
 
So maybe the difference is: that night she really wanted the reduction in spite of all the carbs, vs today she wanted to surf?
I think what happened the night she was being difficult to bring up is, she was breaking a short lived bounce. So, you shot a dropping # on a bounce breaking cycle. Have to be overly proactive on those type cycles. A +1 could have identified the drop. She may have dropped all at once at +2. At any rate feeding her MC outta the gate at AMPS may have helped to slow her down. :)
 
Back
Top