8/18 Buster PMPS 102, +3 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 156
+2.5 84
+5 94
AMPS 65
+3.5 97

I didn't increase this morning. Hard to do so with a 65 for AMPS. I think I'll just stick with this dose until after the dental. Numbers aren't terrible - I think I just got addicted to green, is all :lol: Starting to get nervous for the dental. This is his first one. In fact, I don't think I've ever had him under anesthesia since he got snipped. I worry a bit because he has a gallop in his heartbeat, but he's strong. It's gonna be ok... nailbite_smile

Previous Condo
 
Re: 8/18 Buster AMPS 65, +3.5 97

Hi Tara,
Yeah, it would be hard for me to increase on a 65 amps too. I'm sure the dental will go fine. I know what you mean about being nervous. I've had to take both Ebby and her brother in for dentals this year, and was a wreck both times. Ebby did great though, and so did her brother, so I'm sure Buster will be fine. Try not to worry too much! I know that's easier said than done.
Have a good day!
 
Re: 8/18 Buster AMPS 65, +3.5 97

I don't blame you for not increasing either. I think I'd wait until after the dental. I've heard anesthesia can lower BGs. Sending prayers for a good dental.
 
Re: 8/18 Buster AMPS 65, +3.5 97

Beautiful day Buster
Yahoo Tara!!
Try not to worry too much about Buster's dental... Why do we say that??? It's never gonna happen! But try! :YMHUG:

We were told not to give insulin the morning of Oliver's dental and we reduced his insulin for his evening shot. But... he was at a much higher dose with much higher numbers than Buster. I'm sure you'll get some good advice before his dental.
hugs and no worry vines to you.
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102 - reduce dose before dental?

Could someone look over our ss and advise if we need to reduce our dose the night before his dental? Dental is Tuesday. Shot times are 6:30am/pm. I was planning on giving his pm shot Monday night, last feeding at 10pm, then skipping Tuesday morning. He has been going lower later in the cycle at night lately. Is there a BG that is too low to do the dental?
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102 - reduce dose before dental?

When I asked about China, Sienne told me that most people shoot the night before, and either skip or give a token dose the morning of (since no food)

I also found this in another condo with regards to "after dental advice" on another kitty (also from Sienne)

There are a couple of things to consider.
If there are extractions, get pain meds. Bupe (buprenorphine) is what most of us push for. It can be given either as a subcutaneous injection (like insulin) or orally in the cheek pocket. If you give it orally, make sure the vet gives you syringes that are without a needle.
Get an "in the door" test when your bring Durie home. You'll want this for comparison with her PMPS. Anesthesia can lower BG for several hours post surgery so it's possible that you may need to reduce or skip the PM shot. I'd also make sure that Durie will eat before you shoot. Shooting and having your cat not want to eat because of dental work and then having to finger or syringe feed a kitty with stitches in her mouth isn't fun. I've done it and don't recommend it.
Anesthesia can also slow the GI track. So, your kitty may be starving from not having eaten all day. Don't give lots of food all at once or you're get scarf-and-barf. Feed a teaspoon or two of food at a time until you know the anesthesia has worn off.
Some cats have a paradoxical reaction to pain meds. They get agitated vs. sedated. A dimly lit, quiet room will help.
I'd have baby food on hand. If Durie's mouth is sore, baby food goes down easily and doesn't require chewing.
If there are extractions or the vet finds an infection, Durie may be given an antibiotic. You may want to have a probiotic on hand in case Durie ends up with diarrhea as a result of the antibiotic.

Hopefully someone with more dental experience will be along to advise you on it too!
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102 - reduce dose before dental?

Great information, Chris - thank you! I was just starting to poke around searching condos myself. I appreciate this very much!
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102, +3 106 - reduce dose before dental

I'd ask your vet what he/she wants you do to about insulin. When Neko had her dental (and for the 4 days at CSU when she went under anesthesia) she had the full dose the night before, food until midnight, then half dose in the morning. For the dental, my vet also recommended half dose the night when Neko got home. I've seen various cut off times for food the night before, but you should also ask the vet what happens if you have to feed at night - due to low BG.
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102, +3 106 - reduce dose before dental

Sending good dental vines to Buster!
Don't worry Tara, just let the vet know your concern on Buster's heart & I am sure it will all work out fine.
 
Re: 8/18 Buster PMPS 102, +3 106 - reduce dose before dental

Unless your vet tells you otherwise, it's fine to shoot the night before. With where Buster's numbers have been, if it were me, I wouldn't shoot the morning of the dental.

I'd also check with your vet about food. Some vets will tell you no food after midnight the night before. Others will ask that you hold food after 6:00 AM the day of the procedure. Obviously, the lack of food is another reason to skip the AM shot.

This might be easier to read:
  • If there are extractions, get pain meds. Bupe (buprenorphine) is what most of us push for. It can be given either as a subcutaneous injection (like insulin) or orally in the cheek pocket. If you give it orally, make sure the vet gives you syringes that are without a needle.
  • Get an "in the door" test when your bring uster home. You'll want this for comparison with her PMPS. Anesthesia can lower BG for several hours post surgery so it's possible that you may need to reduce or skip the PM shot.
  • I'd also make sure that Buster will eat before you shoot. Shooting and having your cat not want to eat because of dental work and then having to finger or syringe feed a kitty with stitches in her mouth isn't fun. I've done it and don't recommend it.
  • Anesthesia can also slow the GI track. So, your kitty may be starving from not having eaten all day. Don't give lots of food all at once or you're get scarf-and-barf. Feed a teaspoon or two of food at a time until you know the anesthesia has worn off.
  • Some cats have a paradoxical reaction to pain meds. They get agitated vs. sedated. A dimly lit, quiet room will help.
  • I'd have baby food on hand. If Durie's mouth is sore, baby food goes down easily and doesn't require chewing.
  • If there are extractions or the vet finds an infection, Durie may be given an antibiotic. You may want to have a probiotic on hand in case Durie ends up with diarrhea as a result of the antibiotic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top