I have to agree with Vicky that Buddha's numbers won't change on lev versus lantus unless the dose also changes. Lev would be a good insulin if, also as Vicky mentioned, you want to save money or shoot not strictly 12/12. Although, I bet you can actually do that with lantus, it just has never been "allowed" in the lantus protocol.
I also think that he is getting too much insulin. I think people take the mantra "shoot low to stay low" too literally. When we all switched from the faster insulins, like vetsulin, seeing PS's in the 100s, or even low 200s, was hard to get used to. I do not like to see full doses shot on 60s and then seeing that the cat has to be fed HC and/or the next cycle is high and flat, to me, just reinforces that it isn't productive.
Donna, if you don't want to start over at .5u, how about slowly stepping down to it? Go to 1u, then .9u, then .8u and so on, letting each reduction settle for up to 7 days. Swings from 40 to 400s is a clear indicator of rebound. What were the circumstances when he had DKA? Was that when he was first dx? If his health is good overall (no infections brewing), teeth are good, he is eating well, then ketones are less of a risk. Plus you can test his urine for ketones every day if you are concerned. Right now he is hitting 300s regularly and 400s on occasion. I think you will see better numbers on a lower dose - fewer 300s, no 400s and slightly higher nadirs (80-90 instead of 40-60). That alone will make him feel better.
Because insulin is a powerful hormone and the responses to it are complex, especially when it is overdosed (even slightly), more is not always the answer. And I don't think it is the answer here.