8/17 Zeus PMPS 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=77333

Hi. I usually post in health, and do not follow the TR protocol, but had a question about lantus and possible carryover... Or is a late nadir?

Thanks for any advice that you may have for me,
Kathie and zeus
 
Hi Kathie,

I'm not by any means an expert on Lantus. When I looked at your spreadsheet, I thought "Bounce clearing"? But I don't see a number that caused a bounce unless he went low last night, which might have happened. I did see your comment that he went to the Animal Hospital yesterday. What was that visit for?
I also noticed many comments on his lack of appetite or vomiting. Does Zeus have a history of digestive trouble?

Carl
 
It looks to me like Carl is on to something. It's possible that Zeus went lower than what you saw at PMPS and he's bouncing by +2. I don't think he went low last night. I do suspect he may have gone low during the AM cycle today. Nadirs are not fixed points so it's also possible that what you're seeing is a late nadir.

I'm curious why you don't follow TR. You are testing enough most days and it looks like you are adjusting doses in a way that's compatible with TR. Not everyone who posts in TR follow the protocol.
 
I answered on the other thread with a question very similar to Carl's. He vomits a lot and hasn't been eating.

I also feel that the increase wasn't too much under normal circumstances but it was too much to give a non-eating cat. He hardly ate anything today. But like Carl, I am not a dose expert either.

Melanie & Racci
 
More questions...

What are you feeding Zeus? Many cats have allergies to beef and fish. Gabby can't tolerate beef and does puke it back up. You may want to try eliminating beef and fish from Zeus' diet and see if the vomiting stops. Or, you can try novel proteins and see if that helps.
 
Carl & Bob said:
Hi Kathie,

I'm not by any means an expert on Lantus. When I looked at your spreadsheet, I thought "Bounce clearing"? But I don't see a number that caused a bounce unless he went low last night, which might have happened. I did see your comment that he went to the Animal Hospital yesterday. What was that visit for?
I also noticed many comments on his lack of appetite or vomiting. Does Zeus have a history of digestive trouble?

Carl

Hi Carl, Thanks for your response. Zeus is actually doing great, other than the vomiting and the high numbers. I've been concerned about the vomiting as Zeus very rarely vomited before being diagnosed, but his current Vet said he wasn't concerned. I have been sending Zeus' SS biweekly to the Vet for advice, and he does call me, but he's not great about answering questions and usually tells me to keep doing what I'm doing. However, when the Vet said he didn't know what else to tell me, I decided it was time for a second opinion.

The Vet at the Animal Hospital was great. She did a very thorough exam, and all kinds of tests. We were there for an hour and a half. Zeus was great the whole time, and his BG wasn't any higher than it has been around home. They called today with the results and everything was great, just need to wait for the urine culture which will take a few days. She talked to me about possibly switching to Lev instead of the Lantus, but wants to see how things go with the food change - she wants me to switch to Evo (from Fancy Feast Classics).

Zeus has always been a big eater, and hasn't really had any digestive issues in the past. I've been wondering if he's just sick of the FF, but it's funny because I feed Smokey the same thing, same flavor even, and many times Zeus will leave his own bowl and go to eat hers instead like it's somehow better. But he hasn't been eating much of hers either. He was eating at least 4 cans of FF, sometimes 5 or 6 with finishing Smokey's. I wonder if he's finally at/near his optimal weight and doesn't need to eat as much? The current Vet said he should gain a pound, the new Vet said he's at the perfect weight.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I do suspect he may have gone low during the AM cycle today. Nadirs are not fixed points so it's also possible that what you're seeing is a late nadir.

I was wondering that too - if he was low during the day today, or if it was a late nadir.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm curious why you don't follow TR. You are testing enough most days and it looks like you are adjusting doses in a way that's compatible with TR. Not everyone who posts in TR follow the protocol.

I guess I don't really understand it, and will need to read more about it. I thought you had to test a lot more than what I'm able to get on most days. I'll go to the TR board more and read, maybe I'm doing a mix of that and relaxed and just didn't realize it :smile:

Thanks everyone for your responses. It is greatly appreciated.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
More questions...

What are you feeding Zeus? Many cats have allergies to beef and fish. Gabby can't tolerate beef and does puke it back up. You may want to try eliminating beef and fish from Zeus' diet and see if the vomiting stops. Or, you can try novel proteins and see if that helps.

He's been eating the FF classics - Beef Feast, Chicken Feast and Turkey & Giblets. He does get some of the fish, but only a can once in a while. I actually think it's the chicken that he's not loving so much anymore. But I've never really paid attention to which flavor he has eaten prior to the vomit. With eating at least 4 cans per day, he gets at least one of each every day, LOL. The Vet at the animal hospital wants me to switch to Evo, which I had actually started giving to Zeus yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top