8/17, Susie, 219 AMPS, 234 @+2

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-susie-238-2-pm-168-3-5-pm.251468/#post-2837800

Yesterday was a really frustrating day. As someone from this site once said, kindly, I need to "suck it up, buttercup".
It looks like she spent almost all night in blues, so it wasn't that bad :) If you are still not ready to push her to 2 units i would at least give the F1.75 a try, might help her spend more time in higher greens and lower blues, and maybe less into bouncing :) its just a though, before taking a decision, for sure ask the more experienced people you trust what they think

Congratulations Marina and Chico! :otj:
Thank you Summer very much :bighug:
 
I don't know how I will ever get her to remission.
Good morning. I had thought your goal was regulation. That's why I give the dosing advice I do. Did you change your mind and I missed it somewhere?

Did you stick with just lc last night? I saw you debating giving hc or mc so you could go to bed.

Let's see where she is at +2. :bighug:
 
It looks like she spent almost all night in blues, so it wasn't that bad :) If you are still not ready to push her to 2 units i would at least give the F1.75 a try, might help her spend more time in higher greens and lower blues, and maybe less into bouncing :) its just a though, before taking a decision, for sure ask the more experienced people you trust what they think


Thank you Summer very much :bighug:
Thank you, Marina. I like your idea. I don't understand what is happening. She was doing well for several days up until yesterday. I would like to try the F1.75. @Bandit's Mom what do you think?
 
Good morning. I had thought your goal was regulation. That's why I give the dosing advice I do. Did you change your mind and I missed it somewhere?

Did you stick with just lc last night? I saw you debating giving hc or mc so you could go to bed.

Let's see where she is at +2. :bighug:
My goal is still regulation. If she didn't bounce so badly and dive so low (at times) I would work toward remission. Eventually, if I can, I would work toward remission but right now I just want her regulated in to good numbers. Sorry, I know I am confusing. Her +2 was higher than her AMPS. Looks like another bad day. I guess I need an increase. I always appreciate your advice. I gave some m/c last night but I don't think I have that in her ss. Will have to check.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-susie-238-2-pm-168-3-5-pm.251468/#post-2837800

Yesterday was a really frustrating day. As someone from this site once said, kindly, I need to "suck it up, buttercup".

Congratulations Marina and Chico! :otj:
Yesterday Susie really did want to soar at a higher altitude than she usually does, didn’t she? Oh well, you don’t necessarily have to suck it up. Everyone here understands the frustrations- so it’s a safe place to vent. We GET IT!
Are you drying out yet from Tropical Storm Fred? We are pretty wet here (this has been a super rainy Spring and Summer for us anyway). I thought you would get some rain from those outer bands.
 
Thank you, Marina. I like your idea. I don't understand what is happening. She was doing well for several days up until yesterday. I would like to try the F1.75. @Bandit's Mom what do you think?
She's seeing nadirs in the 50s on this dose so I am reluctant to suggest an increase. She is a bouncy girl. I've seen this with Bandit and some other cats and I don't know why but good numbers and bad number come in batches/bunches. You could try a 1.75F but she will probably earn a reduction on the first cycle itself like she did on 8/2.

Hopefully the dose increase threat will work.
 
Yesterday Susie really did want to soar at a higher altitude than she usually does, didn’t she? Oh well, you don’t necessarily have to suck it up. Everyone here understands the frustrations- so it’s a safe place to vent. We GET IT!
Are you drying out yet from Tropical Storm Fred? We are pretty wet here (this has been a super rainy Spring and Summer for us anyway). I thought you would get some rain from those outer bands.
Thanks for your support, Suzanne. We got a few drops of rain on Saturday and nothing yesterday which was supposed to be our rainy day. Storm went too far to the west and sucked all the moisture away from us. I'm sure you must have gotten a bit of it. Didn't you say you were near Macon? Feel fortunate that you have had rain this spring and summer. Better that than to be dry as a bone and risk the fires.
 
She's seeing nadirs in the 50s on this dose so I am reluctant to suggest an increase. She is a bouncy girl. I've seen this with Bandit and some other cats and I don't know why but good numbers and bad number come in batches/bunches. You could try a 1.75F but she will probably earn a reduction on the first cycle itself like she did on 8/2.

Hopefully the dose increase threat will work.
From your lips to Susie's ears - I hope the threat works. I was semi pleased with how she had been doing on this dose. Still higher in the blues than what I would want but she seemed to be settling down. I'm just really confused right now. Thanks for getting back with me. Will hold the dose for a little longer.
 
Max was a bouncy boy the first year and didn’t seem to hold reductions so I did start taking 1/8 increases and decreases. It’s worth a try. It worked for him and he flattened at about 10-12 months in. I’ve tried that with others where it didn’t work though. it looks like this bounce will be clearing probably tonight so I would not try it until it clears.
 
She's seeing nadirs in the 50s on this dose so I am reluctant to suggest an increase. She is a bouncy girl. I've seen this with Bandit and some other cats and I don't know why but good numbers and bad number come in batches/bunches. You could try a 1.75F but she will probably earn a reduction on the first cycle itself like she did on 8/2.

Hopefully the dose increase threat will work.

I am of the same mind. We look at nadirs before we recommend an increase. Just have to be patient through the bounces.

wasn't her last nadir in the 50's 8 cycles away though? In my opinion that 50 on the 14th AM cycle is just for the 0.50oz lc. Am i right @Summer and Susie ?

Just wondering, would you still consider the nadir 8 cycles back when deciding dosing? :bookworm::bookworm:

i know that Susie tends to nadir lower even after a longer while on the dose, so i agree with @tiffmaxee that maybe wait for this bounce to clear before taking a decision
 
Max was a bouncy boy the first year and didn’t seem to hold reductions so I did start taking 1/8 increases and decreases. It’s worth a try. It worked for him and he flattened at about 10-12 months in. I’ve tried that with others where it didn’t work though. it looks like this bounce will be clearing probably tonight so I would not try it until it clears.
Thanks. So I guess with a 1/8 increase that would be the same as a fat 1.75? I will start tomorrow morning.
 
wasn't her last nadir in the 50's 8 cycles away though? In my opinion that 50 on the 14th AM cycle is just for the 0.50oz lc. Am i right @Summer and Susie ?

Just wondering, would you still consider the nadir 8 cycles back when deciding dosing? :bookworm::bookworm:

i know that Susie tends to nadir lower even after a longer while on the dose, so i agree with @tiffmaxee that maybe wait for this bounce to clear before taking a decision
The .50 on the 14th was just the amount of l/c I fed. 9 cycles back (including this mornings cycle) she got the 51 at 3.7 on 8/13. So yes, the last time she nadired in the 50's was 9 cycles back.
 
Good luck getting a bit of a smoother time. You're handling all this bouncing really well all things considered. I hope the suggested increases help lighten your load and that Susie is doing well.
 
If she didn't bounce so badly and dive so low (at times) I would work toward remission.
Isn't the bouncing normal (albeit frustrating)?
It sounds like you're stressed out. Go look at her numbers from when you started, I know that cheers me up!
Also, don't even start about bouncing, you see what Mr. Temp pulled yesterday? ;)
You got this, it will pass.
 
Good luck getting a bit of a smoother time. You're handling all this bouncing really well all things considered. I hope the suggested increases help lighten your load and that Susie is doing well.
Thank you, Acadaca. Don't worry about the blue you saw this morning with FCC. He will come back down. I appreciate your support. The last couple of days have been frustrating and I'm trying to step back and just breathe a little. The only nice thing about these bounces are I get to give Susie a break from the testing, I don't have to worry so much and I save a little money on test strips and lancets. I do worry about her going over the renal threshold though.
 
Isn't the bouncing normal (albeit frustrating)?
It sounds like you're stressed out. Go look at her numbers from when you started, I know that cheers me up!
Also, don't even start about bouncing, you see what Mr. Temp pulled yesterday? ;)
You got this, it will pass.
I feel for you, Joey. Templeton is a hard one to figure out. A black and green in the same cycle. Try not to let him go under 50 so you don't have to reduce. His little body needs the insulin to heal. Hope we can get him straightened out. Thanks for stopping in to see Susie and I. And, yes, the bouncing is normal. Some cats just do better than others. By the way, if you want help, put a "?" in front of your thread title so more people can visit and advise.
 
Back
Top