8/17 Onyx - PMPS 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102427

Good afternoon, LL.

So I have a confession to make: I did NOT do the planned increase last night, after 10 cycles. All day it was my plan to increase .25, but Onyx spent almost the entire day in the blue...even pulled a green (maybe 2) on me. Sienne advised to increase unless anything dramatic happened, and to me, an entire day in the blue, was dramatic for her (and was very unexpected after so many cycles of yellow). When I did her PMPS, she was at 168. True, she's never had a PMPS in the blue, but I wasn't worried about shooting under 200. I was thinking that perhaps the dose she's on was finally working, now that the zero carb food was doing its thing. She ended up spending the better part of the next cycle in the blues as well; not quite sure how low it went though over night. It seems like she "might" be bouncing a bit now, but I'm not 100% sure yet because her AMPS isn't all that different from most mornings. I'll be anxious to see how her +2 and +4 look.

Since I'm working from home right now, I'm NOT afraid to be more aggressive. I just wasn't sure if it would set her back further, to increase when she was just starting to see some good numbers. Yesterday was her best day since diagnosis.

So my question is, did I make the right choice to hold the dose a little longer to see what her body was suddenly trying to do with it?

P.S. Sorry for being such a pain in the butt. I'm sure I annoy the heck out of you guys with my questions--and my "attempt" at light-hearted humor most days. "Trying" to make people laugh is just my way, but I will do my best to reign it in. I'm here to learn--and to get my kitty healthy--and I will do my best to focus on that. I'm really sorry if any of my jokes offended anyone; it was certainly never the intent.

Enjoy your Saturday, everyone!
 
Re: 8/17 Onyx - AMPS 318 LAST MINUTE DECISION

I don't think you're being a pain in any part of the anatomy!! You're trying to learn how Onyx responds to insulin and the YAZC food. At least on the food front, we're learning with you.

You also have to do what's comfortable for you. I would have increased because I like seeing a lower nadir but if that's not where you're at yet, that's OK. It may have been that Onyx had a bit of a bounce but it looks like she's back into the yellows by your +2.
 
Re: 8/17 Onyx - AMPS 318 LAST MINUTE DECISION

Thanks, Sienne. I really appreciate that. It was just so wierd that she suddenly had such a good day, when I was planning an increase. I was afraid it was a "sign". But with as much as I test her, I'm honestly not afraid to increase her at this point. I was just afraid I would set her back if I did, if she was actually on good cycle.

It is a bit nerve-wracking sometimes to be trying a food that is so "unknown". I really think it might truly be zero carbs, because if you look at her SS, it really doesn't affect her numbers after she eats. But she loves it...and it really does seem to be helping her numbers. I'm just so relieved this food alternative exists, since she still refuses to even try wet. Klepto prefers the wet over the YA, but Onyx loves it. Thank goodness she acually likes SOMETHING that isn't so bad for her.

So I will go ahead and increase her tonight then. Hopefully she's not bouncing too much today, but you might be right that she's not, since her +2 was already coming down. I'll know better on her +4 in an hour.

Thanks for your help.

:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top