Onyx & Klepto
Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=102427
Good afternoon, LL.
So I have a confession to make: I did NOT do the planned increase last night, after 10 cycles. All day it was my plan to increase .25, but Onyx spent almost the entire day in the blue...even pulled a green (maybe 2) on me. Sienne advised to increase unless anything dramatic happened, and to me, an entire day in the blue, was dramatic for her (and was very unexpected after so many cycles of yellow). When I did her PMPS, she was at 168. True, she's never had a PMPS in the blue, but I wasn't worried about shooting under 200. I was thinking that perhaps the dose she's on was finally working, now that the zero carb food was doing its thing. She ended up spending the better part of the next cycle in the blues as well; not quite sure how low it went though over night. It seems like she "might" be bouncing a bit now, but I'm not 100% sure yet because her AMPS isn't all that different from most mornings. I'll be anxious to see how her +2 and +4 look.
Since I'm working from home right now, I'm NOT afraid to be more aggressive. I just wasn't sure if it would set her back further, to increase when she was just starting to see some good numbers. Yesterday was her best day since diagnosis.
So my question is, did I make the right choice to hold the dose a little longer to see what her body was suddenly trying to do with it?
P.S. Sorry for being such a pain in the butt. I'm sure I annoy the heck out of you guys with my questions--and my "attempt" at light-hearted humor most days. "Trying" to make people laugh is just my way, but I will do my best to reign it in. I'm here to learn--and to get my kitty healthy--and I will do my best to focus on that. I'm really sorry if any of my jokes offended anyone; it was certainly never the intent.
Enjoy your Saturday, everyone!
Good afternoon, LL.
So I have a confession to make: I did NOT do the planned increase last night, after 10 cycles. All day it was my plan to increase .25, but Onyx spent almost the entire day in the blue...even pulled a green (maybe 2) on me. Sienne advised to increase unless anything dramatic happened, and to me, an entire day in the blue, was dramatic for her (and was very unexpected after so many cycles of yellow). When I did her PMPS, she was at 168. True, she's never had a PMPS in the blue, but I wasn't worried about shooting under 200. I was thinking that perhaps the dose she's on was finally working, now that the zero carb food was doing its thing. She ended up spending the better part of the next cycle in the blues as well; not quite sure how low it went though over night. It seems like she "might" be bouncing a bit now, but I'm not 100% sure yet because her AMPS isn't all that different from most mornings. I'll be anxious to see how her +2 and +4 look.
Since I'm working from home right now, I'm NOT afraid to be more aggressive. I just wasn't sure if it would set her back further, to increase when she was just starting to see some good numbers. Yesterday was her best day since diagnosis.
So my question is, did I make the right choice to hold the dose a little longer to see what her body was suddenly trying to do with it?
P.S. Sorry for being such a pain in the butt. I'm sure I annoy the heck out of you guys with my questions--and my "attempt" at light-hearted humor most days. "Trying" to make people laugh is just my way, but I will do my best to reign it in. I'm here to learn--and to get my kitty healthy--and I will do my best to focus on that. I'm really sorry if any of my jokes offended anyone; it was certainly never the intent.
Enjoy your Saturday, everyone!