8/17 Oberon AMPS 367, +3 278, +5.25 206, +7 206, +10 364, PMPS 390, +3.5 383

206 at +5.25... I was stuck in a Zoom meeting but just gave him about a teaspoon of 6% (ProPlan DM). Might be too late to moderate a bounce, though.
 
Good luck with the new dose.
Looks like Oberon spent more time in the lemon tree today. That's a start. When you get beyond +6 just go for the normal LC.....unless you see him getting a lil low. It's hard to tell if he zoomed up from the combo of 6% and the insulin waning or a bounce. You know Oberon and his carb sensitivity better than me though. Use your judgement with the 6%.
I've read in another condo that keeping kitties in "higher" #s first, to combat bouncing and ease them into normal #s, might not be wise. Could contribute to glucose toxicity. Just wanted to throw that out there. Don't want to give bad advice to y'all.:bighug:
Be good Oberon!
Have a good night Lisa.
 
Copied/pasted from How to keep BG stable Tweeks condo

What the OP said:
what I am trying to accomplish is a slow reduction, such as from 400 range, to 300's, 200's and so on, so that all one color is across the spreadsheet for awhile until it's near normal.

Wendy said:
It doesn't work that way. Kitties don't get used to 300's, then 200's, etc. Instead, they just develop glucose toxicity meaning they get used to higher numbers, which means even more insulin to get over it. Best just to go for it and get them used to healing numbers as soon as you can. As others have said, ideal is that 90-149 range if following SLGS.

Just wanted to make you aware of this. Don't want to cause more harm than good by easing him into good #s. I don't like giving bad advice so just showing you things I've seen lately;)
 
Just wanted to make you aware of this. Don't want to cause more harm than good by easing him into good #s. I don't like giving bad advice so just showing you things I've seen lately;)

Thanks! I had skimmed that thread briefly. I'll definitely keep it in mind and reserve the higher carb stuff for when he really needs it.
 
Back
Top