8/17 Moe: amps=99; dec to 7.0;+2=79;+4=69;+5=74;+7=81;PMPS=90;+4=106

Erin and Moe (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-47-3-75-51-4-5-64-6-81.233677/#post-2612910

Good morning! Moe gave us another active cycle last night, and we had another lime green early in the cycle. A test at 2:00 am (+8) and a very noisy thunderstorm has me groggy this morning.

AMPS is 99; dose reduction this morning to 7.0 units. DH is home all day and will be able to test frequently.

I hope everyone has a great day and kitties surf safely.
 
Hi Erin, Do you take reductions at 3 x under 50 or one time?

Beautiful green start this morning!! Keep up the great work :)
 
Hi Erin, Do you take reductions at 3 x under 50 or one time?
Well, usually I am increasing, not decreasing, so I’m not really sure what I’m doing. The TR protocol doesn’t mention # of times below 50 for reductions (unless I missed it?). I was debating whether to reduce by .25 or .5 on my previous reduction a couple of days ago, so I think Moe has made the decision for me.
 
Well, usually I am increasing, not decreasing, so I’m not really sure what I’m doing. The TR protocol doesn’t mention # of times below 50 for reductions (unless I missed it?). I was debating whether to reduce by .25 or .5 on my previous reduction a couple of days ago, so I think Moe has made the decision for me.

On TR, and with some cats that have shown they don't hold reductions well, longer term diabetics can choose to use the ' three times under 50' OR once under 50 (but above 40) to earn a reduction of .25. It's best unless you're in a high dose situation to move only in .25 increments in any direction.

There was a 49 a few nights ago and you did not reduce, so I assumed you were going with the 3 x under 50 rule. Otherwise he hasn't really earned a reduction. He's getting some fine green numbers with the 7.25 dose and it appears that he responded well to the carb food you must have given him after the low number -47 - last night.

Also, please don't wait two hours after getting a low number to check again. Always check again in an hour to make sure he's responding to food.
 
There was a 49 a few nights ago and you did not reduce, so I assumed you were going with the 3 x under 50 rule. Otherwise he hasn't really earned a reduction. He's getting some fine green numbers with the 7.25 dose and it appears that he responded well to the carb food you must have given him after the low number -47

Moe had a low number on 8/3 and again on 8/13 on 7.5 units. I reduced on advice from @Wendy&Neko on 8/15. I was debating whether to reduce by .25 or .5 at that point and decided on .25. Then he had a third low yesterday so I reduced by .25 again this morning. See yesterday’s convo with Wendy. If he can’t hold the reduction I’ll increase in a few days.
 
Remember he is on cabergoline. Sometimes the rule book has to be closed and you need to follow Moe's lead. At times you might need to take bigger reduction or drain the depot.
 
That AM cycle today is definitely worth celebrating. :D:D

Paws crossed for lucky number 7.

As far as TR goes, acrocats don't always play by the rules. You have to learn what works for your cat - even more so. And remember that he could still have a working pancreas and throw you the odd curve. Caution is not a bad thing. For example, I always reduced below 50, even when Neko was a long term diabetic. If she went under 50, she held the reductions. Plus with larger doses, you don't want to dance with a larger overfull depot.
 
Back
Top