8/17 Julia AMPS 128 +3/58

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last Post

Happy Caturday!

Julia is enjoying her Saturday and had a huge breakfast spread over the first few hours. Now she's settled in for her noon time nap alongside Dad. It's hard work being a cat! :lol:

We're at cycle 16 on this dose and I'm fine with it. Patience pants are on! She's getting good nadir's in the morning with 55 yesterday and 58 today using 4% food only. Her night time bouncing is still there but *knock on wood* maybe her body seems to be getting slightly used to this sugar dance and they're clearing fairly quickly. She has even had 2 days with no pink! Baby steps...

Deb (and Wink) - I'm sorry I didn't answer your question in my last condo in regard to whether we skipped or shot the dose. I usually post before work. Once I'm there I can read answers but usually don't have time to post. Then life got in the way and I forgot. Mom records everything on a yellow legal pad and I update the spreadsheet at night so that's why the spreadsheet was not updated right away. We absolutely didn't skip a shot. I feel fairly confident in controlling the #'s with food and we've shot as low as 57. There were some days awhile back where I let Julia go into the 50's but not below and kept her surfing above it. I was just wondering how long I want to let her do that before I let her earn the reduction.

Since she's doing her own thing on this dose (0.50) with good nadirs, I'm going with LC - 4% food only and it seems to keep her from going too low. I'll let her earn her reduction when she's ready and then I'll throw in a higher carb food if need be. My newbie self still thinks without her typical bouncing at night we'd be much more in the blues and greens all day. So, we wait.

Also, I'm running her up to the vet on Monday for some blood work. Margaret (my diabetic who has passed) had kidney failure. I remember a lot of drooling when she was sick and I've noticed Julia doing it a tiny bit. It could be nothing but I would rather make sure. *I am that crazy cat lady!* :lol: I was also hoping her coat would start to improve but it hasn't as much as I'd like. When Julia was diagnosed in June they said some values (don't know which) were off but they could be explained by diabetes. Of course I want to make sure she's okay so I'm going to have them rerun the blood work to see where things are. NO fructosamine will be done :lol:. I made sure we'll see one of the vet's we like. Also, I'll ask them to wait until she's in the room with us and not in the back after her bath she always needs at the vet before they check her BG. Last time they bathed her and then examined and tested her in back. No wonder she was high with the car, puking, and bath followed by exam and test. This way I can compare their # with my meter in the same situation when she's more relaxed with us. I should have had them run blood work 2 weeks ago when we were there but we were focused on the urine and so, we'll go back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top