8/17 Harley AMPS 228, +5.5 174, PMPS 215

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/17 Harley AMPS 228, +5.5 174

not a bad PS! hopefully some momentum will build in the next couple shots at 1.2 and you'll get some lower #s... if not, guess he really wants the FAT dose, kitties can be so picky sometimes! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/17 Harley AMPS 228, +5.5 174

yeah, this is a rough patch. yesterday i would have worried also about shooting a 1.2 into that high blue # in the amps. do i have that right? was'nt it like 180 or something.
but it's soooo hard to know. the good thing in your favor is you can leave food out that they don't hoover down so if he goes to low he will almost definetly go for a bite to eat.
they do that.
keep plugging ;-)
 
Re: 8/17 Harley AMPS 228, +5.5 174

Actually I dropped it to 1.1 on the 180 and I was worried about that. Should I have dropped it more than that?

I just don't want him to get used to the higher numbers again. I thought about fattening it up tonight but his PS's are coming down.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Actually I dropped it to 1.1 on the 180 and I was worried about that. Should I have dropped it more than that?

I'm too tired to pull up the SS and actually think @-) , but curious why you ask. His #s were still high, right? If you saw a nadir under 50 then yes, you should have reduced more. :mrgreen: You can't always (ever? LOL) know in advance though. Since you have been seeing higher #s for a while, it wouldn't make sense to me at this point to reduce the dose unless you see #s that are touching on being too low (say a 60 at +4 or something, that would suggest to me to decrease a hair).

Of course no one wants to overshoot or deal with actual hypos, but I think sometimes we get overly freaked about low #s. I know I did for ages, and if I saw say a 90 with Bix I was happy and didn't want a lower # than that really. But upping the dose something like 0.1u is really unlikely, it seems to me, to cause an actual hypo-hypo. Bix was at 26 once (before I learned to home test), and he didn't even have symptoms, he was just fine. And I accidentally had him in #s for a week where I think he dipped below 40 for a few hours several times :oops: I don't know absolutely for sure b/c I was using my pet meter & I was confused about what the #s meant, but he gained 3 lbs in 3 days and basically lived by the food dish for a few hours straight during those days, so yeah, I'm thinking I had him in hypo #s.

Not to under emphasize the risks of hypo, which of course is a real danger and can be fatal, but just to give some perspective maybe, that a dose that's 0.1 higher than a dose that looks to be too low, is not a big risk in most cases.

Mind you I'm brain dead right now, so if none of that makes sense, just ignore me. :)
 
ok, just could not resist the lure of the SS, lol!!!

so here's what I see:

8/15 AM you shot 1.1 into a 196 and barely got a drop, so to me that says the next time you were to get a PS around that (so maybe 175 - 225 or so), I would want to shoot 1.2. So the 1.2 that night got you a nice blue PS again the morning of 8/16, so to me that's a time to shoot 1.2, or if you are off to work & know that would make you a wreck all day, then you stick with 1.1, basically a dose you already know will likely be slightly low on a PS like that, right?

Now that you are on cycle 3 at 1.2 I would expect you may see improvement this cycle, especially with the better evening PS tonight. So if tomorrow's AMPS is under 150 I'd say that 1.2, once it's fully built up overlap, is a little strong. If that did happen, I'd wait & retest in 20 minutes (if he's close to 150), and then probably shoot 1.1 again to let the momentum ease up a bit. Then if the evening PS is over 150 I'd try a skinny 1.2 as a steady dose, and lower it more if you see mid-cycle #s getting too close for comfort to the 50 level, or PSs under 150.

Does that all make sense? I think you have developed a good feel for the #s & doses, but maybe don't 100% trust that you understand it? Not sure if I'm reading that right, so sorry if I am off base. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top