? 8/17 - GIDEON BLUE - PMPS = 661, at +3 = 241

Not at this point...he hit that 80 yesterday....and now for the bounce cycle. Let's see how long it takes him to clear that bounce.
 
Gideon's +3 = 336. Trying to figure out his pattern when he is in the BLACK in the PM.
He is just so unpredictable though.
 
I “think “ this is a bounce cycle. Agree he’s hard to predict though. He loves to keep us guessing.
 
Since Gideon was 336 at +3 and now 385 at +6, does this mean the lowest he was was /his nadir was 336, and then he started climbing. Of course it is possible he was lower at +2, but either way, isn't it early in the cycle to be increasing? I know nadirs can be at various times, and not always at mid-cycle. I guess too high is better than too low.
 
Since you are away this is to be expected. We dropped him to keep him safe and give you a chance to have a vacation without worrying. I would not increase. He will get back on track when you get home. See what others say.
 
Oh, yes...I certainly will not increase while I am away. Is it normal to bounce with a reduction? Is this what you mean by a "failed" reduction? He went down to "80" on Saturday, with the reduced dosage. Is that normal, if there is such a thing in FD Land?
 
A failed reduction occurs when the cat stays in higher numbers after the bounce clears. That means he’s not ready yet for the lower dose.
 
Thank you for that definition. This is day #4 on this reduced dose. So, could the results of a failed reduction might not be seen immediately? Is Gideon's bounce to BLACK, the initial sign of a failed reduction?
 
He earned a reduction down to 1.75. He was decreased after that not because he earned reductions but rather to get a safe vacation dose. Depending on what happens between now and when you return will determine but his dose will be then. He could even go back to 1.75.
 
Interesting that it's only at PMPS...I have to wonder about food? Contraband?

I can't in all good conscience recommend raising the dose while mom is on vacation. There are too many other variables going on here...different people doing different things...

There's a note about feeding higher carb food before giving Lantus AND karo...when was that exactly? AM or PM preshot?
 
Last edited:
8/16 @ +5 when he was 80. This is when he got a bit of Karo and a tbsp of higher carb food to prevent him dropping even further.
 
Gideon has dropped 400 points in 3 hours. He is currently 241 at +3. He did this two days ago and was BLUE at the AMPS. This is when I had him fed a bit and then retested. I know I should have had them wait 15 minutes. I have just asked pet sitter to test 15-20 mins before vet tech arrives in the AM. Then if he is below 200, when vet tech tests him, we will know which direction he is headed. Tonight I also told the pet sitter to give him Nulo food which is 8-9% carbs, to keep him safe overnight.

Don't you think a 400 point drop in 3 hours is huge?
 
It is huge and he might drop into green. He’s a tough one to manage from afar. I’m glad we didn’t increase.
 
Yes, that is my concern and why I am having him fed 8-9,% carb food tonight. Also, the pretest in the AM. If he is too low, he might need Karo.
 
Back
Top