8/17 George AMPS 111, +4 43, PMPS 61, +3 53, +5 63, +6 64

Hshray

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Exactly one month on 1.75 units and George earned his first reduction on Lantus last night. I was happy for another blue AMPS today, especially considering that large, fast drop last night.
 
George is at 43 at +4. Just fed some HC and MC. Question though - he just earned a reduction last night and started it this morning. So is it correct that the depot is still working so continue to hold this dose even though he’s under 50 again?
 
George is at 43 at +4. Just fed some HC and MC. Question though - he just earned a reduction last night and started it this morning. So is it correct that the depot is still working so continue to hold this dose even though he’s under 50 again?
Yes, that is correct. The depot wearing off can affect for up to 6ish cycles. So you may need to be vigilant for the next few cycles as well to keep him above 50. For now you want to keep monitoring his BG and feeding the HC as needed, just like when he earned his reduction last night. Good catch!
 
Yes, that is correct. The depot wearing off can affect for up to 6ish cycles. So you may need to be vigilant for the next few cycles as well to make sure he doesn't dip below 50. For now you want to keep monitoring his BG and feeding the HC as needed, just like when he earned his reduction last night. Good catch!
Sounds good! Thank you!
 
We’re at +9.5 right now and George’s BG is 56. He hasn’t had any MC since +5.5 and no HC since +4. I’m wondering if I should feed him a little more MC right now or just continue to monitor since it’s so late in the cycle? He’s basically been between 56 and 60 for the last four hours with no MC.
 
I didn’t hear anything on this so didn’t end up feeding him MC; however, he’s at 52 now at +10.5 which really makes me wonder what kind of PMPS number I’m going to get. Still wondering if I should feed MC at this point (and how that would impact pm shot)..
 
Last edited:
Well, seems like he’s going back up on his own now…he’s at 60 at +11 so going to remove my question and will be back in an hour for PMPS.
 
Sorry I didn’t see the tag. I was eating dinner in between checking on Lucky. If you had fed mc at 11.5 it would have thrown your schedule off so I am glad you didn’t. If he had dropped more a teaspoon of lc at that point would have been the thing to feed.
 
I just looked at his ss. He’s looking so good. The depot caused another low nadir today I see. He’s keeping you very busy.
 
Sorry I didn’t see the tag. I was eating dinner in between checking on Lucky. If you had fed mc at 11.5 it would have thrown your schedule off so I am glad you didn’t. If he had dropped more a teaspoon of lc at that point would have been the thing to feed.
Thanks - good to know for the future. And LC wouldn’t throw off shot time?
 
Just a teaspoon would be okay I would have fed a little at +10. Maybe even 10% since the depot is in play. Then nothing until pmps. You might have had to stall to see if he went up more. It’s best not to feed but definitely no mc or hc
 
Last edited:
He's keeping you busy after a month of nothing. Don't hesitate to carb him up early in the cycle. That depot looks a little fullish.

Btw, what are the readings you have in the comments for today?
 
He's keeping you busy after a month of nothing. Don't hesitate to carb him up early in the cycle. That depot looks a little fullish.

Btw, what are the readings you have in the comments for today?
I was just capturing my every half hour readings there until I went to hourly, and then I just continued to put them there through +11 too so I had them all chronologically.
 
Wow, George is really liking the Lantus. Amazing progress so fast. He's a gorgeous kitty!
Thank you :) this is the third insulin we’ve tried and the most progress we’ve seen, so I’m really happy with it but also telling myself to try not to be too disappointed if he starts to bounce again! Just really glad for some blues and greens after so long in pinks and reds.

It’s nice to see a fellow Californian on here! It usually goes pretty quiet at these hours haha.
 
I fed more MC at +3 and +3.5 (he was at 53 at both readings) and now he’s at 62 at +4. Here’s to hoping he’s still above 50 at +5.
 
Thank you :) this is the third insulin we’ve tried and the most progress we’ve seen, so I’m really happy with it but also telling myself to try not to be too disappointed if he starts to bounce again! Just really glad for some blues and greens after so long in pinks and reds.

It’s nice to see a fellow Californian on here! It usually goes pretty quiet at these hours haha.
I think you should be stoked! I see you kept it lively here last night. There I was thinking just about everyone was on the east coast as it's crickets by like 7pm. What part of CA? We are in the central coast, Monterey.
 
Back
Top