? 8/17 Emma - AMPS 59 - no shot

Manuel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-emma-amps-160-3-40-3-3-58-3-70-58-4-59.267168/

Hi! Emma is at 59 this morning, so obviously I will not shoot her. But I really don't know what's going on.

PMPS last night was 265. I shot at +4 before going to bed and she was at 200. Did she go into hypo overnight while I was sleeping? Or has she just been slowly been using up her so-called insulin depot? She's had two reductions in quick succession.

Note: I didn't give prednisolone last night. I always expect lower AMPS the morning after no-pred, and higher AMPS the night after pred. But I've never seen an AMPS this low.
 
A preshot below 90 is a skip with SLGS. Does she have any history of ketones or DKA?
Have you fed? If not, test again and see where she is?

ETA: She has earned another reduction today :-)
 
Thank you. Sorry, I fed and didn't think until afterwards that it might be worth testing again to see if she's dropping or climbing. But I will test just before I leave for work in half an hour.

When she had blood test and urine test at end of June, she had no ketones. No history of DKA or ketones that I know of, but I haven't used the test strips in the interim.

Another reduction here means her dosage will have dropped 4 times in 8 days.

Aug 10: dropped to 1.50u
Aug 14: dropped to 1.25u
Aug 15: dropped to 1.00u
Aug 17: drop to 0.75?

I don't mind doing it - certainly it suggests that her wet food is helping her out! It's just on days after prednisolone her blood sugar is still high. I'm thinking of cutting her pill into 4 and feeding 1/4 every night rather than 1/2 pill every second day...

And another question: since her onset (and nadir) seems to come earlier rather than later, could it make sense to do a snack at +1.5 and +4, rather than +2 and +5 as I have now? It feels like the snack at +5 might be bumping her pre-shot numbers.
 
259 @1.5. I did feed at regular time, but going up 200 in 1.5 hours feels like a bounce, or else a faulty AMPS reading.
 
If you are okay with the delay in the shot, you can still shoot.

Could be a bad strip also. Next time you get a low preshot, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins.
 
If you are okay with the delay in the shot, you can still shoot.

Could be a bad strip also. Next time you get a low preshot, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins.
Will do next time! Thanks. I have to head to work so unfortunately I can't monitor, so I'll just not shoot. Plenty of time for her to adjust to 1.00, I guess. If she is low again tomorrow I'll reduce.
 
Back
Top