8/17 Charlie PMPS 382 +5 353 +10 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi Friends,

Trying to contact our vet to see if she has any input on the first part of Charlie's "urine culture & sensitivity test" that was done on Monday. I guess in a week or so we will know more about if Charlie needs another antibiotic to cure whatever infection she has that is causing her leukocytes to be high on the urine test. Seems like an awful long time, but then again, sometimes things are a bit slower around here so there is not much we can do to speed this up.

In the meantime, however, I'm wondering your thoughts on whether or not we should increase Charlie's dose to 1 unit? My rationale is that the .75 has already stabilized Charlie's figures more than the previous amount. Maybe 1 unit is the right amount to get her in the blues and stabilize her even more?

Sienne: Our vet told us to wait 1 week after the antibiotic stopped to do the test (not 2 weeks). This is what we followed. Hope it will be OK and not produce a false-negative like you mentioned.

I'm guessing it will take 1 more week for our vet to decide what antibiotic to give Charlie. Then 1 week on the new antibiotic.
Knowing that an antibiotic can rid Charlie's body of infection, and thus bring her numbers down further, I'm wondering if we should increase her dose now? Or wait 2 weeks until we give the antibiotic and see what effect that has on her numbers?

Thoughts?
Thanks in advance for your input, and hope everyone has a GREAT, sunny weekend! :smile: dancing_cat
Jill
 
Re: 8/17 Charlie AMPS 329 +2 342 +4 351 +8 329

Good morning Jill!

Looking at your SS, I think you may be right - Charlie has pretty much settled into the pinks, mainly, on the 0.75u, and we don't want her to get too comfy in those ranges. IMHO, an increase to 1u is a viable option. Let's see what the others think!

Happy cycling!
Jane
 
Re: 8/17 Charlie AMPS 329 +2 342 +4 351 +8 329

I thought you had stopped the antibiotic immediately before the urinalysis. A week may be fine.

I'd raise Charlie's dose. In fact, I'd have raised it 3 days ago. If you let a cat sit in higher numbers for overly long, you risk glucose toxicity developing. This is when a cat's body becomes accustomed to sitting in high numbers and those levels become the new "normal." The Tight Regulation Protocol is focused on bringing numbers down quickly and safely.
 
Re: 8/17 Charlie AMPS 329 +2 342 +4 351 +8 329

Come on down Charlie! Hope the extra juice gets her down into the yellows for you. Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/17 Charlie AMPS 329 +2 342 +4 351 +8 329

Hi Jill, I can't give dosing advice, just stopped by to see how you and Charlie are doing and wish you both a great day! Hope you get her test results soon and it gives clear direction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top