8/17 Casey AMPS 355, +4.6 247, PMPS 283, +3.8 177 +6.5 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Posts

Good morning everyone,

Some of you may already know Casey hit lowest BG last night...46 at +3 :mrgreen: and so I gave her a few spoon fulls of some 13% carb for a HC food. I already plan to at least reduce her dose by .25u to 1.25u according to protocal, but I think she is rebounding whith her +11.2 being 347.
:?: Should I bereducing her dose any further do to rebounding??

Roberta

8/17
+11.2: 347
AMPS: 355
Put down: a little more than 1/3 3oz can of FF for preshot
1st cycle: 1.25u
Put down: the rest of the 3oz can of FF before heading to work
+4.6: 247
PMPS: 283
Put down: 1/2 - 2/3 3oz can of FF
2nd cycle: 1.25u
+3: 191
Put down: the rest of the 3oz can of FF
+3.8: 177 - I-) time for bed!!
Put down: 1/4 3oz can of FF
+6.5: 140 - Casey woke me up wanting to be feed, so I decided that since I am up, test her first
Put down: 1/4 3oz can of FF
 
Re: 8/17 Casey Dosing Question +11.2 347 after a low of 46

A rebound doesn't "require" that you do anything. You have a choice, though. You can shoot through the rebound -- this means shooting your old dose, 1.5u, one more time -- or you can take the dose reduction at AMPS. Since we don't really know how long it will take for Casey to clear the bounce, it's entirely up to you.
 
Re: 8/17 Casey Dosing Question +11.2 347 after a low of 46

Sienne and Gabby said:
A rebound doesn't "require" that you do anything. You have a choice, though. You can shoot through the rebound -- this means shooting your old dose, 1.5u, one more time -- or you can take the dose reduction at AMPS. Since we don't really know how long it will take for Casey to clear the bounce, it's entirely up to you.
Would giving her the 1.5 dose help her clear the bounce sooner than the 1.25u? Or could it lead to more of a yo-yo effect? (Just trying to wrap my brain around it so I can make the best decision for Casey.) still a bit groggy yet this morning...caffine has not yet set in. lol
 
Re: 8/17 Casey +11.2 347, AMPS 355 (after having a 46 last n

Good luck with the decrease! I am usually so anxious to give the decrease that I reduce right away. However, Tarragon usually only bounces for one day. Since this is Casey's first decrease and bounce, you don't have any data to make the decision so go with your gut.

You did great last night!! Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/17 Casey +11.2 347, AMPS 355 (after having a 46 last n

Congrats on the reduction! Like Melissa, I've always gone with the reduction right away...but, to be perfectly honest, back when Trixie was bouncier, I didn't realize I could shoot through the bounce and then take the reduction! If you're going to be around to keep an eye on things, if I were you, I'd probably shoot through the bounce. But you've got to do whatever you're comfortable with.

I hope the caffeine has set in - have a great day!
 
Re: 8/17 Casey +11.2 347, AMPS 355 (after having a 46 last n

I'm new with feline diabetes, but am a nurse by trade and work with the disease every day. With that having been said and throwing in the disclaimer that animals and humans are different...... if this was a human, we would shoot through to give the body a chance to learn how to absorb this new dose.

One major problem encountered when treating diabetic patients with insulin is the very large inter- and intra-individual variability in subq insulin absorption, a major contributing factor in the "wonkiness" we see in the blood glucose level. Thus, to optimize insulin treatment, the factors influencing the absorption have to be known and then hopefully used!

The different types of insulin ("short-acting", "intermediate-acting" and "long-acting") have different times of action. The absorption of "intermediate-acting" and "long-acting" insulin is dose-dependent, with a decreasing absorption rate with increasing dose of insulin.

What this means: The dose of insulin injected affects the rate at which the body absorbs it. For example, larger doses of insulin may be absorbed more slowly than a small dose. With larger doses of insulin, the insulin may peak later or last longer than with small doses. This could mean that the blood sugar level is higher than expected within a few hours after eating, but then becomes low. The body has to “learn” to absorb the new dose and until that happens, wonki, wonki.

Looking at your numbers, it seems like Casey takes a bit longer to realize the new dose (for every dose increase except the last, your low numbers for the day are 18 hours out), which means it may take a few days longer to adjust. As you increase, the low is a bit longer but still further out (due to both decreased absorption, which also has to mean increase deposits). I said earlier, with a human, we would shoot through, but we would also be there monitoring a lot to make sure we were knew what was happening as the body was adjusting to the new dose. We would expect highs and lows during the adjustment and once we were "steady", we would increase or decrease based on the data. Disclaimer again....these are humans in hospitals being monitored closely - same finger sticks, just lots of them!
 
Re: 8/17 Casey ? re: shooting thru bounce...AMPS 355, +4.6 2

Thank you for the help and advice this morning!!

From what you have said and seeing her #'s this afternoon, perhaps I should have shot thru the bounce. I was not sure when or if I could make it home for lunch, that was the deciding factor to reduce this morning. That said & done, :?: Should I go back top the 1.5u tonight to shoot thru the bounce? Or should I just maintain the path I started this morning to remain consistant? I would like to do what would give Casey the best chance of being stable, verses the yo-yo effect.

Oh, yeah...Casey does not seem to be as hungry today as the past few days....incase that means anything. She was not really faized by Gabby's kibble dish and has not yet polished of her canned food dish from this morning.
 
Re: 8/17 Casey ? re: shooting thru bounce...AMPS 355, +4.6 2

my Casey bear said:
Should I go back top the 1.5u tonight to shoot thru the bounce? Or should I just maintain the path I started this morning to remain consistant?
Stay the course wiith the reduced dose. Casey will come back down.
 
Re: 8/17 Casey ? re: shooting thru bounce...AMPS 355, +4.6 2

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
my Casey bear said:
Should I go back top the 1.5u tonight to shoot thru the bounce? Or should I just maintain the path I started this morning to remain consistant?
Stay the course wiith the reduced dose. Casey will come back down.
Ok, thank you Sandy
 
Re: 8/17 Casey ? re: shooting thru bounce...AMPS 355, +4.6 2

Sorry for the abrupt answer earlier (I'm at tbp).

Being that you already shot the reduced dose, you want to remain consistent. Shooting through a bounce, if you feel the need to do so, is done at the 1st cycle following the earned reduction. In the future you will likely be presented with this situation again and may choose to shoot through the bounce. It does require close monitoring if you do so.

I'm glad you will get the opportunity today to see how quickly Casey recoveres on her own, without "shooting through the bounce".

Looks like she may be on her way down already! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top