8/17 Calley's AMPS 182....vomited overnight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Woke up to a lot of vomit from overnight. Her bg level was 182. If I think she is going low overnight do I adjust the dose?
 
I don't have advice about adjusting the shot, but have you thought about researching possible causes for her vomiting? My frequent vomiters have always had other issues that made them barf. One had Chronic Kidney Disease and possible Irritable Bowel Disease and/or chronic pancreatitis as well. Another had IBD and pancreatitis on top of his FD. Still another has either IBD or a food sensitivity. Just mentioning it in case there's something other than the insulin dose bothering Calley. I know just how frustrating and upsetting it is to have a cat who barfs all the time, so I wanted to suggest checking into other possibilities.
 
Calley has been to the vet's several times and has bloodwork done several times, each time coming back perfectly normal....all but the blood sugars.

I don't know what else to do to figure out what is causing the vomiting.

She is back to drinking more and peeing more often. So instead of making progress I think we are going backwards. :(


+6 = 182
 
Her BG numbers don't look terrible to me, but I'm also new to this!

Pancreatitis is very hard to diagnose, as is IBD. You might want to start a food log and try to draw some conclusions based on what she eats and when she vomits. My current IBD/sensitive stomach cat was barfing almost all the time until I switched his dry (he's in isolation) from Blue Buffalo to Natural Instinct Limited Ingredient. Then the barfing slowed down. Now I'm trying him on a very small amount of dry per day to get him to eat more of his wet, and the barfing has dropped even more. When I was on vacation, the cat-sitter ignored my instructions and gave him a boatload of dry (in her muddled opinion, overweight cats should be on more dry and less wet to lose weight - oy!), then kept complaining about how much he was barfing.

I guess that's a long-winded way of saying: Keep track of her food, and it may tell you something about what's making her barf.

Lots of good thoughts to you both!
 
kristin
i'm also no expert but her numbers are looking good. if she was mine, i would probably hold the same dose but you should wait for the experts to weigh in. i hope the food log shows you some pattern to her vomiting. sending you hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Do I need to do a food log if she is eating the same thing at the same times and in same amounts each day? She eats the same Friskees pate and only gets fed at her AM post shot.....+6(which will not happen after today since I go back to work) and then again at PM shot.

She eats about a two teaspoons of food at each meal.

I am purposefully not feeding her a lot so to keep the stomach from getting too full. I think I may have been feeding her too much before.

Thanks for the support and suggestions. The bg numbers are lower.....but going too low for my comfort now. :(
 
If she's been eating the same thing and barfing consistently, I'd change her food and see what happens. Many cats have or develop a sensitivity to chicken, so if that's what she's eating, it could be causing the problem. Do you know if she'll eat other foods?
 
Has she been tested for IBD or Pancreatitis? I think these are not detected by just bloodwork, but other test may be necessary. An unregulated diabetic cat can need more food than a non diabetic cat, and I think she needs to be eating more than a couple of teaspoons of food 3 times a day. My cat eats 3 cans of fancy feast a day, spread out between amps +2, +3 and +5. I know there is a formula for how much food per weight a diabetic cat should eat. I think it is one ounce of food per one pound of the cats ideal weight. So if her ideal weight is 11 pounds, then she should be eating 9-11 ounces. Every cat is different however, but Im pretty sure this is the formula. The reason a diabetic cat always acts like they are starving, is because they are. Their bodies arent able to use the food that they eat properly, which is in turn why they lose weight. If she were mine I would be taking her to another vet who is willing to do the testing that she needs to figure out why she is vomiting so often. As I have said before, Im not an expert..I do have 3 cats and my sugar cat Chi Chi has been on insulin for almost 7 months now. I hope you get to the bottom of her vomiting issue soon, poor kitty must be miserable.
 
I've taken Calley to two vets now. One says her vomiting is due to the diabetes being out of control and the other says she hasn't a clue.

I can t afford more testing. I need to know how to treat for IBS and pancreatitis without further testing.

Calley vomites if I feed her too much. So she gets small meal before I go to work. Can't have her vomit while I am gone. Then I feed her when I get home.

Calley has been on insulin now for almost nine months. Her water intake is down a lot and she pees much less but she is always begging for food. :(

Seems that she can't be helped. How do you feed a cat what they need when they vomit it all back up?
 
Calley eats whatever she can find. She has been eating all varieties of friskies pate except seafood.....I eliminated that a few weeks back thinking that was the cause of her vomiting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top