8/17 Butters AMPS 290/+2 338/+3 308/+7 329/PMPS 274/+3 275/+7 212/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
I went to sleep kinda excited, hoping her higher PMPS +1 & +2 were food bump related, and that she might visit the beach overnight. Well, that was not the case. But at least I checked.

And so we begin day 3/cycle 5 this morning with her current dose of 1u.

Have a lovely day/evening, all.
 
Great job on the testing last night...she's just taking her sweet time up there in the lemon tree nest. It's early for you guys...keep testing...keep increasing as needed...you'll find that sweet spot...and then those numbers will start to come down.

Have a great day Lyla!
 
I'd def give her a dose increase tomorrow. See if that can get her down some. Butters you have to make some moves for Mom. She's VERY worried about you!!:oops: I know you're a girl but, yellow and pink DOES not look good on you. Cool blues and greens my girl:cool::D
Lyla, I'm so sorry Butters is taking her time. Give her the increase in the morning. I'm curious what the difference is between the original dose and the caliper dose. Wondering if the new dose depleted the depot that much or were dealing with some glucose toxicity. Those 2 ugly words but, don't worry it breaks. Maybe Marje will stop by and take a peek. See what she thinks.
Hang in there Lyla....I know it sounds like a broken record:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Marje and Gracie I know you're a busy person and greatly appreciate your time. When you have time please take a look at Butter's SS. Do you think Butter's is dealing with the some glucose toxicity or the repercussions from the new caliper dosing. TIA
For my own knowledge: when switching to caliper dosing, would it be best to have the CG measure the dose they've been giving with the calipers and then do the math to find 1 unit? They can further break the measurement do into .1u for "fine" dosing. Butter's has backslidden so much since switching to calipers.

Not trying to hijack your condo Lyla...:bighug:
 
I'd def give her a dose increase tomorrow. See if that can get her down some. Butters you have to make some moves for Mom. She's VERY worried about you!!:oops: I know you're a girl but, yellow and pink DOES not look good on you. Cool blues and greens my girl:cool::D
Lyla, I'm so sorry Butters is taking her time. Give her the increase in the morning. I'm curious what the difference is between the original dose and the caliper dose. Wondering if the new dose depleted the depot that much or were dealing with some glucose toxicity. Those 2 ugly words but, don't worry it breaks. Maybe Marje will stop by and take a peek. See what she thinks.
Hang in there Lyla....I know it sounds like a broken record:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much for trying so hard to help us :bighug: It feels like we've taken a few steps back, and all I hear is the voice of my former vet telling me how she'd never get regulated, and to not bother trying to get her into remission. All I care about is for Butters to be healthy and happy. We are both lucky to have you and everyone else here in her corner. :)

I've been too worried to say the "glucose toxicity" words myself, but have been wondering. I will def give her that increase in the morning.

I measured about 20 syringes when I got the calipers, because I wanted to see what the difference would be. I found mainly .2u to .4u less when measuring 1u for my syringe type vs just measuring to the 1u line. I don't know if I explained that well enough.
 
@Marje and Gracie I know you're a busy person and greatly appreciate your time. When you have time please take a look at Butter's SS. Do you think Butter's is dealing with the some glucose toxicity or the repercussions from the new caliper dosing. TIA
For my own knowledge: when switching to caliper dosing, would it be best to have the CG measure the dose they've been giving with the calipers and then do the math to find 1 unit? They can further break the measurement do into .1u for "fine" dosing. Butter's has backslidden so much since switching to calipers.

Not trying to hijack your condo Lyla...:bighug:
It's a really good point you're bringing up. SO glad to have the condo hijacked for this :bighug: If you can even call it that.
 
So Butters is getting anywhere from .2u - .4u less now, than pre caliper?

I wanted to go back and check the condo where I talked about measuring all of the syringes.

At that time her dose had just been reduced to .5u from .75u and so I was calculating the difference when measuring out only .5u with the calipers (.75mm for my syringes), vs measuring to the .5u line, and yes, I discovered that the lines were off by a lot, often by that much.

In the condo we landed on that she could've been getting .25u less on average of insulin per dose, I think, and Marje had said we could consider a fast track increase as a one time thing. But then Butters visited the beach for a couple of cycles so we called that off.
 
Yeah I remember the fast track discussion. The beach visit made you think twice. I understand that decision. thx for getting me all caught up:)
Well, Butter's is flat now, paws crossed you see some downward motion. Regardless you're gonna force her hand tomorrow:smuggrin:
Butters you hear that. You had your shot. Mom's gonna give you a nudge.

Btw: Marge's said she doesn't get tags sometimes. So, if she doesn't reply...no biggie. You know what's going on. I was just curious about glucose toxicity. And using the existing dose when switching to calipers thing. It's prolly already discussed in the caliper sticky:rolleyes::p

ETA: Should say Marje
 
And thank you for your help figuring this all out for us :bighug:

the rule with Marje for this specific scenario with butters and switching to calipers was, if she even stuck a toe into the sand, not to fast track the increase. But then she had a solid run of blues one night so we didn’t fasttrack. and then Marje and Bron said hold the .75 a bit longer because she’d had a few cycles with a nadir under 200, and you’re to hold the dose for 6 to 10 cycles. So she went 8 cycles on that dose before increasing to 1u.

I have adjusted the calipers to measure a 1.25u dose tomorrow morning. And I will wake up in a short 2.5 hours and do a +7, so that there will be no question as to whether or not she has really earned this increase. :smuggrin:
 
Back
Top