8/17 Booger AMPS 341 +3 370

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's yellow numbers were a sight for sore eyes. Molly made me realize that the bounce effect could be happening. I'm questioning if this will go away on current dosing. Is this something I will have to decrease my dosing on or again just wait and see? I'm still using the patience pants...

Yesterday's News
 
I think you're misunderstanding the bounce

Bouncing happens when they get a lower number (even a normal number) that their body is no longer used to. It takes time to develop diabetes and gradually, the body gets used to living in higher and higher numbers. When we give insulin, we're trying to bring them back down to "normal", but that usually causes their liver to release stored sugar and hormones to bring it back up to where it's become used to living at. As Booger gets more and more "normal" numbers, his liver will re-learn what it's like to live there and hopefully stop reacting so badly.

I don't see any numbers for Booger that make me think she's bouncing. She's stayed pretty much in the high 200-300's without any big drops or low numbers

Some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ...some gradually bounce less and less as their body gets used to living at the normal numbers again.

I think in Boogers case, it looks like she's just going to need more juice, so unless she drops into blues today or tonight, I'd plan on increasing to 1.25 tomorrow
 
Ok, maybe I was misunderstanding. I was under the impression that it could happen even at the drops of 100 points at the higher numbers even though they weren't in the normal range and I was trying to justify this as a "bounce". So thank you for clearing that up. That helps me tremendously. It's hard to decide what could be going on in her body based on just looking at her numbers alone. That's why I am thankful for all of you.
Jen
 
They can happen from "quick" drops ....Like going from 400 to 250 from Pre-shot to +2 or +3

Booger hasn't had any of those big, quick drops yet

Closest she came was 8/13 when she dropped from 366 to 297, but she flattened out the rest of that cycle and if she was going to bounce, we would have seen it sooner...like on the PM cycle that night

Make more sense?
 
Have you seen this post on New Dose Wonkiness and Bouncing? The second post down has a description of when happens when kitty bounces. So both fast drops and low numbers can cause bounces. And you don't always see a bounce start right away. Some kitties, like my Neko, like to wait a couple cycles before the showing the worst of the bounce. Don't worry, it can take a while to recognize a bounce, it's one of the more confusing things about feline diabetes.

I agree with Chris on the dose increase. From the protocol:
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I've highlighted the parts that are relevant to Booger.
 
Thanks Wendy. We will be going up tomorrow.

Does anyone have any knowledge on how flea medications react with insulin? Any negativities? It's time for her dose and I use Advantage II topspot.
 
Thanks for this discussion, Jen, Chris and Wendy. I'm learning about bounces now with our Clare. I'll reread the post about wonkiness and bounces. Good luck on the higher dose tomorrow, Jen.
 
Yes, I think the drop that first day caused me to think that's what was going on and not really understanding the concept in the first place. I've re-read it and between that and the conversations I think I'm getting THAT part of all this..

Thank you Georgette, good luck to you and Clare as well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top