? 8/17 AMPS 229 Bam Bam can you look at my spreadsheet his evening number is staying low

ChrismazB

Member Since 2024
For the last 2 evenings we have skipped his evening shot. His number dipped after the morning shot and didn't come back up. Is this his little body just getting used to the insulin? Interestingly our vet has told us not to be obsessed by the numbers. She doesn't ask her patients to do BG. We are looking for a new vet since she is leaving her practice. If you look at the SS, we increased the dosage a while ago but he seemed to go very low and we went back to initial dose. I'm interested in opinions or experiences. Thanks
 
It would have good to get a before bed test last night to see what happened last night. You could have stalled without food and retested to see if the bg went up on its own enabling you to give a one time reduced dose. That might have led to a blue preshot this morning. Next time this happens pist for advice. Lantus is known for nice flat cycles. You are seeing nadirs within the suggested range fur SLGS and almost earned a reduction which happens if the bg falls under 90. Have you looked at any of the stickies at the top of this forum ? A typical lantus cycle goes down by +4-7 and then heads by up. That’s because duration ends which is why with lantus you ideally shoot every 12 hours.
 
Hi. I have read every sticky 5-10 times. Takes a while for it all to sink in. On the SLGS protocol it says if you see preshot numbers lower than normal and below 150 don't shoot. So I was going by that.
His nadirs are not quite where he gets a reduction. We are very nervous about giving a shot when he iis that low.

We are still llearning.

Do we delay eating for an hour and do another check?
 
Delay eating for 20-30 minutes. Sometimes the bg will rise enough to shoot but sometimes will drop. You experiment to see what your cat will do. That’s why I said even though you slipped another test would have given you important information. Often when a cat is a lot lower they will go up if you delay or even bounce. You were right to skip the shot with a pmps under 100.
 
So he was 70 @ +7 and now he's 79 PMPS. So we are not shooting and are going to reduce tomorrow to .75

These are his lowest numbers.

I will do a BG before bed.
 
I think that’s a good plan, although I would give .75, unless his bg goes under 90. and another reduction is earned.
 
Any time the BG falls under 90 you reduce by .25. You never shoot if under 100 and when he’s it’s 150-200. You either skip or stall without food and see if the BG rises to a shootable number in 20-30 minutes. Otherwise skip and shoot the reduced BG of .75 the next cycle.
 
Back
Top