8/17 Ahmin AMPS 275 (My 1st thread in Lantus Group)

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Hi guys,

I'm new here, correct me if i'm doing wrong.
Need advice for dosage, i'm giving my sweetie Ahmin 1 unit twice a day now.
see ahmin's SS in my signature
what should i do next?

Thanks
Christine

p.s. i'm feeding Ahmin "Kakato Tuna & Chicken", same manufacturer of "Applaws", it is 86% moisture, 11% crude protein, 0.5% crude fat, 2% ash & 0.3% crude fiber, and the ingredients is 37% tuna white meat, 16% chicken, 1% polysaccharide gum & 46% water.
 
Hi Christine!

You're doing great right now. You'll want to hold that dose of 1u for a few days to see what happens. You got a normal number yesterday, which is great! In the beginning, a normal number will be followed by some high numbers, because the cat is still getting used to having its blood sugar be in a normal range. We call this "bouncing" here. Eventually, the numbers will even out and we can see how the dose is working.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Ahmin and Christine. You've come to a good place and will meet lots of really neat folks here. No dosing advice from me, I still ask for it myself! Just a big smile and a 'Hello' :-D
 
Hi Julia,

thanks for your quick response!
should i still going to test his bg amps, +4, +8 & pmps?

and how many should Ahmin eat everyday? he's now eating about 250-350g (approx. 8.8-12.35oz) canned food everyday, this number is just recorded after DX, i'm not quite sure how much he ate b4 DX since he's been free feeding dry food for the pass 14 years.
 
Yes, but I would get a +6 instead of a +8 (or both, if you can). The nadir (lowest number in the cycle) is usually around +6. The next few days, I would move that test around a little bit (tomorrow get a +5, the next day get a +7) so you can determine where that number usually is for Ahmin. This is the number that you will use to determine the dose.

Also, if you can get a test or two in the PM cycle as well, this would help a lot. Some cats will go lower in the evening cycle, so those numbers are important, too.

As for food, feed him as much as he wants until his blood sugar gets under control. You can even free feed the wet food by adding water to it or freezing it (just make sure he doesn't eat a few hours before his insulin shots, so that you have an accurate number). Once he's regulated then you can worry about scaling back the food, if need be. Many cats often will often naturally eat the amount of wet food they need to eat, but some will need to have controlled portions. How much food you feed usually depends on your cat's ideal weight. How many kg is Ahmin supposed to weigh? Is he overweight or underweight?
 
Hi Julia,

Ahmin is 4.1kg now, my vet didnt say he's overweight or underweight, so i'm not sure about it.
he lose some weight b4 i took him to see the vet.
do u know how to calculate the ideal weight for a cat?

I give Ahmin insulin shot on 12noon & 12 midnight. the am cycle in my SS is starting from 12nn, so tmr i should get a test for pm cycle which means is from midnight, right? and if test twice for the pm cycle, is it also +4 & +6?
 
Wow,you work fast. Nice to see the SS up and running and Welcome to Lantus Land! You've got a lot of reading ahead of you I'd start w/ New to the Group and work my way down the Stickies.

Another great site to visit is Dr. Lisa Pierson Very good information on cat foods and other aspects of feline health. The best guage of ideal weight for a cat is visual, this site has a good chart A good rule of thumb is about 18 to 20 kcal per pound of weight per day. Janet & Binkey's chart shows calories per can on the far right. This page Max's House also has a lot of great info on feline nutrition.

I don't know about your food. The list does have a Non-US food list linked at the very bottom of the page , but i didn't see your food listed there either. It all looks good, but i don't know about the "1% polysaccharide gum."

That time schedule is hard.. Just try to get a test if you ever get up during the night for now. You may want to eventually move it a little. Once you start to get close to tight regulation you will need to watch for drops at night as well as during the day.

For others who haven't read the Health post Christine & Ahmin are in Hong Kong.
 
Welcome, Christine!!

One quick suggestion...on your spreadsheet (SS), could you fill in the column that's labeled "U" - it's the one next to the PMPS column - with the dose of Lantus you're giving at night? If you leave the column blank, it appears that you're only giving one shot per day.

I'd also encourage you to test at different times on different days. That way, you can fill out the times on your SS. Right now, it's helpful to see when Lantus starts to work (the onset) and the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir). It's also helpful to get at least one test every night. We often suggest that you routinely get a test before you go to bed.

I'd also suggest not using urine glucose testing. I know this is a method that is frequently recommended by vets in Asia. Frankly, it's not terribly accurate. Urine glucose isn't able to test if numbers are below about 200. So if you need to know if Ahmin's numbers are low, urine testing won't tell you that. It sounds like you've had this experience once already. In addition, urine glucose tests don't tell you what the glucose level is at the moment. It takes hours for urine to collect and fill the bladder. As a result, you're not seeing the up to the minute numbers -- the level is hours old. Blood glucose (BG) testing is both able to tell you if Ahmin's numbers are low and the test tells you what Ahmin's BG level is right this second.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top