8/17 Abby AMPS 325, +6 254, +8 255, PMPS 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

megmonger

Member Since 2017
Probably about time for us to make a small increase in dosage. Awaiting the call back from the vet. I'm also trying to decide whether to start feeding Abby more or if that would interfere too much with trying to get her regulated when we just started Lantus. She is down to 8 lbs from 10 lbs in the last two months. Currently gets a 5.5 oz can of Friskies classic pate for breakfast and another for dinner. It just seems like her body doesn't get any of the nutrition. :(
 
Probably about time for us to make a small increase in dosage. Awaiting the call back from the vet. I'm also trying to decide whether to start feeding Abby more or if that would interfere too much with trying to get her regulated when we just started Lantus. She is down to 8 lbs from 10 lbs in the last two months. Currently gets a 5.5 oz can of Friskies classic pate for breakfast and another for dinner. It just seems like her body doesn't get any of the nutrition. :(
She should gain weight when she's better regulated for a long enough period of time. You might be able to get more food into her if you split her meals into several a day and even overnight, maybe with an autofeeder.

I agree that she needs a dose increase. Are you taking direction from the vet on that or do you feel confident enough to try it on your own?
 
She should gain weight when she's better regulated for a long enough period of time. You might be able to get more food into her if you split her meals into several a day and even overnight, maybe with an autofeeder.

I agree that she needs a dose increase. Are you taking direction from the vet on that or do you feel confident enough to try it on your own?
I'll try that with her food, thanks.

I feel confident enough to try it on my own but my vet has made me believe she will no longer provide the needed prescription for Abby's insulin if I change doses without consulting her. So, for the moment while I have no choice until I can find a new vet, I'm walking a fine line. :(
 
I feel confident enough to try it on my own but my vet has made me believe she will no longer provide the needed prescription for Abby's insulin if I change doses without consulting her.
Thats so not right (I have other words in mind but they are all of the 4 letter variety) You need to find a new vet ASAP - one that is not a tyrant. In the mean time play along. Smile, nod - make a fake ss if need be - then do what's right for your kitty.
Just my $0.02.
 
Thats so not right (I have other words in mind but they are all of the 4 letter variety) You need to find a new vet ASAP - one that is not a tyrant. In the mean time play along. Smile, nod - make a fake ss if need be - then do what's right for your kitty.
Just my $0.02.
It has made this entire situation with Abby quite a bit more stressful, that's for sure. I hate the idea of being disingenuous with my vet but I feel trapped like I will end up having no choice. I just got off the phone interviewing a potential new vet. They are 40 minutes away and don't feel like they have any detailed knowledge of managing feline diabetes but were comfortable with home testing and would let me handle it. I'm going to try to find some other vets to call that are closer to where I live (Abby gets super car sick) but hopefully at least this now means I don't have to worry about how I'll get insulin for her if I disagree with my vet's protocol. Based on that, I'm moving forward with adjusting her dose on my own.
 
It has made this entire situation with Abby quite a bit more stressful, that's for sure. I hate the idea of being disingenuous with my vet but I feel trapped like I will end up having no choice. I just got off the phone interviewing a potential new vet. They are 40 minutes away and don't feel like they have any detailed knowledge of managing feline diabetes but were comfortable with home testing and would let me handle it. I'm going to try to find some other vets to call that are closer to where I live (Abby gets super car sick) but hopefully at least this now means I don't have to worry about how I'll get insulin for her if I disagree with my vet's protocol. Based on that, I'm moving forward with adjusting her dose on my own.
Once you've done it for a while, feel confident in your decisions and collect SS data that shows progress, there's not really much your vet can argue with.
 
If you have decided to use TR, how about sending your current vet the protocol details, as published in the journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery and having a conversation with her about it?
Thanks for the article reference. I had seen link to it previously but wasn't able to access. Based on your post I did some more searching and eventually found the full pdf. I'll keep a copy with me for my next vet visit but I hope to be at a new vet anyway. The article was very informative, thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top